We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below Average for a Motel 6” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Sunnyvale South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Sunnyvale South
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Below Average for a Motel 6”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Motel 6 South.
I stayed here last week for a business conference in nearby San Jose and was really disappointed. Check in was handled by a gentleman who didn't speak to me.
Marks on the walls and door. Old CRT TV in unit.
Directly across the street is Motel 6 North and is much different in attitude and appearance.
Very well maintained.

Room Tip: Choose Motel 6 North across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RxDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
6
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stay at Motel 6 everywhere I go and I am extreemely impressed with the customer service of all the employees. I would recoment this M6 to my friends and family. It is close to several resturants and stores and employees went out of their way to give directions. Janice and John were extreemly helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

front desk clerk JIM old white guy with lo of attitude and smart comments to share towards customers when checking in. im currently on a business trip and they messed up my reservations when asked to extend room for the night JIM had a smart comment " you should pay your bills" at that point i asked to speak to the manager who wont be available till sunday GREAT! other guest started arriving and told me about the motel 6 across the street. as i was leaving to go to my room JIM opened the sliding windor and shouted 'i can evict you right now" and slammed the window. WOW. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE will let other contract companies know of this place. this place just lost alot of customers MANAGER VANESSA SHOULD THANK JIM FOR HIS GREAT WORK ETHICS - employee of the year award.

Room Tip: deal with manager directly she is much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soulrebelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunnyvale hotels

California City, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The main reason I rate this Motel 6 above average is because of the staff. They were warm and friendly and made me feel welcome. The room I got was very clean. There are two diners within view. Easy on and off Highway 101. Nice pool! There is plenty of parking and I got a room I could park in front of the door. Word of warning, though. The road construction crew that apparently has a contract in the area and are staying there are exceptionally loud, rude and inconsiderate. To a point I was almost going to track down their boss and let him know about it, and what they said about him personally. But they're everywhere so what can you do. Good motel. Worth the money and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjpi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This one is IMO one of the better motel 6 locations. Staff is always friendly and rooms are clean. It is a motel 6 so not much more to talk about. That is what they are designed for. clean affordable place to stay. Beds are your average motel 6 bed. nothing spectacular but doesn't keep you up at night. Good value. I have stayed at the north location as well and prefer this one.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

this place is pretty good. it is quiet and it is near freeway 101

Room Tip: ask at front desk which floor you want your room on
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

The least expensive in the San Jose area , that I have found. Staff was friendly and communicated well. It is a motel 6 but its clean and not too much ruckus. (The opposite of Motel 6 Sunnyvale North - I feared for my safety there)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
0.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
#21 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#23 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Silicon Valley Inn
3.3 mi away
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
#24 of 33 in Sunnyvale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Clara Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sunnyvale South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sunnyvale South

Property: Motel 6 Sunnyvale South
Address: 806 W Ahwanee Ave, US 101/Bayshore Freeway at North Mathilda Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94085-1409
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sunnyvale South 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Sunnyvale South CA is located off of US 101. Dine at the motel or nearby. Visit Levi's Stadium, California's Great America Amusement Park or shop within 4 miles. Enjoy our smoke-free modern rooms and outdoor pool. Wi-Fi available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Sunnyvale South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing