We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but has some flaws”
Review of The Domain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Domain Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice but has some flaws”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Nice decoration but you can tell they just put a bandaid on the outdatedness on the hotel. It isnt in the best location but is a good find overall. The breakfast lady wasnt nice at all and gave.us someone elses half drunken coffee and.oj which was gross and inacceptable. She was a lousy hostess and yelled at me for getting my own beverages. Yikes. Otherwiae its a nice.modern hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kswag999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear KSWAG999,

Thank you for your feedback. Were happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I apologize about the breakfast experience, and rest assured your comments have been shared with them. We take guest surveys very serious and use them to improve ourselves.

Thank you,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    302
    100
    30
    22
See reviews for
127
119
91
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I travel to Sunnyvale very frequently and I've found this hotel to offer many amenities with much personal attentiveness. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. What I appreciate most is the shuttle service and the happy hours. Danny and Alex are great and considerate shuttle drivers. Staff rotate hosting the evening happy hours. I've had many pleasant conversations while sipping wine after a hard days work. Tina Walters, Dir of Group Sales is a great representative of the joyful, professionalism the staff exhibit.

It's a reliable place to stay. Two things would make it perfect for me: more comfortable beds (have sleep number beds) and pet friendly rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Hello Paula,

Thank you so much for your comments about Tina, Alex, and Danny! Please contact me directly prior to your next stay and I can have you blocked in a bed type of your choice.

We do only allow service animals, however please contact me with more information and we will look at the possibility.

Thank you for your continued business.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is now my third stay at this hotel. I travel a lot on business and often to Silicon Valley. This hotel is great value in an expensive area for hotels and while not in the greatest area is really convenient for business in the valley. The hotel has pretty much what you need but it is the staff that make it. They are super friendly and helpful and in particular Jeff in he bar is really customer focussed. It is only the area it is in that dropped the final star otherwise a really good find.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the hotel to avoid the noise from El Camino Real.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Hello LBJF,

I will share your feedback with Jeff, he will be delighted to hear his service was superb!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thank you so much!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

In the middle of a barren Sunnyvale is the Domain Hotel a breath of fresh air somehwat reminiscent of a Times Square Westin with pool and Jacuzzi and breakfast. There are no slippers or robes however and the air conditioning was difficult to use which is why I docked it one star. Otherwise close enough to the San Jose airport and decent enough hotel breakfast nothing to rave about but plenty of interesting conversation to pick up on given most people are there for interviews at the local tech companies.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGoneLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Hello Youcantkeepup,

Were excited you enjoyed your stay, and you have a great eye. Bathrobes are an amenity we are adding to the rooms by the end of this month! We're always looking to improve on our guest experience. If there is something you would like to see on the breakfast buffet, please let us know.

Thank you so much!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We were coming in to await the arrival of our first grandchild.The hotel we generally use when visiting was booked, and The Domain had an available room. From the reviews I read we decided to book the room. We were greeted at the front desk by Britton. The check in process was quick and professional. When we went to our assigned room and realized we needed a room with a different location and went back to the front desk, Britton, with graciousness, immediately switched our room. This was the beginning of an excellent experience. The customer service at this hotel was superb. The staff bent over backwards to take care of our needs. The room was spacious, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. For dinner we decided to try the hotel's cafe and met Jeff . He made our dining experience fun. The food was very good. After that for the rest of our stay we ate dinner there. When I mentioned to Jeff we would be back for coffee he wanted to know around what time. When we came back to the hotel Jeff had coffee and desert ready for us. That is another example of the customer service we received there. We felt like we were treated like a guest at each staff member's personal home. We are planning to stay at this hotel for future visits.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms facing the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Alyce,

It was a pleasure meeting with you and your husband. Thank you so much for the comments you have shared with me about our team in our restaurant! In our industry nothing is better than receiving positive feedback about our guest service. Please come back and see us anytime and don't hesitate to reach out to me directly if there is anything I can assist you with.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We wanted a brief anniversary away from home. We drove down the Peninsula after leaving the SF Giants game and checked in. When the night manager found out it was our 38th wedding anniversary, he brought champagne to our room! All the hotel staff were quite cordial. I'd recommend The Domain Hotel to anyone seeking a four-star hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Hello Joel,

Making special nights more special for our guest is a great feeling. We cannot be more satisfied knowing you enjoyed your special day with us! Thank you for your feed back.

Please don't hesitate to contact me if you need help with future reservations.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great Staff is there to greet you. If you are a frequent guest, the staff already knows you. Jeff is espeically customer focused as he practically has my dinner order waiting for me. Jeff will treat you right!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassidyT3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Hello Cassidy,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our number one focus is always the guest! We will share your comments with Jeff.

Please don't hesitate to contact me if you need help with future reservations.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
904 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
0.8 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
170 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Domain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domain Hotel

Property: The Domain Hotel
Address: 1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Domain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Silicon Valley boutique hotel, ideally located where Sunnyvale meets Santa Clara, The Domain Hotel offers travelers a contemporary feeling hotel that infuses the technology vibe of the valley through its services and amenities yet embraces the natural outdoor beauty of Northern California through its inspired decor offering guests a unique choice in room type - tranquility or awakening rooms. All guestrooms feature flat-screen LCD TVs, sleep number beds and ample work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Domain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing