We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Domain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Domain Hotel
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The best part about this hotel is its location. The property is nicely done. The shuttle pickup and drop service is good. Staff is nice and courteous. Only sad point can be some of the rooms. I got a good one but my friend didn't. Lot of noise from the road and rooms above. And AC was not heating up enough. Heard the same from another friend too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear B1sh,

I would like to personally apologize for the air conditioning and noise you experienced during your last stay, this is not the level of service we look to provide at anytime. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve our service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at any time and I will personally oversee your stay to ensure 100% satisfaction.

We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    290
    96
    29
    22
See reviews for
117
114
89
498
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Van Nuys
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The staff, particularly Ruby, is very friendly, informative and helpful. The hotel is very clean and quiet. The very few hiccups we experienced were resolved almost immediately. Any faster and you would think they're mind readers. The deluxe suites are just beyond comfort: Sleep number bed, spacious room and a large bathroom. I will definitely stay here again when in the area. The best hotel experience I've had ever.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ecruzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Ecruzmir,

Wow! We are delighted we were able to provide you with your "Best hotel stay." Ruby was delighted to hear your comments. Our guest are our number one focus at all times. Please come back and see us whenever you are in the area!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here one night.
They are super clean and quiet. Their rate was amazingly cheap for the area, especially since they are close to the airport.

I would recommend this hotel anyone flying in to San Jose!

Service is awesome, the sleep quality was really good.
Very clean and tidy. Rooms are big and clean.
We didnt take the breakfast, it didnt look too appealing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fahym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Fahym,

Thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel while traveling through San Jose. Your survey and comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve! Stay tuned for more updates on our Facebook page.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildeer, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Enjoyed checking in on Sunday 10/27. Great front desk staff. Ruby was especially nice! Both me and my wife enjoyed interacting with her and liked her cheerful attitude! The place has been renovated with modern decor ans looks very nice as compared to when I stayed two years ago!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Rashid O,

Thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our number one focus is always the guest! Ruby will be delighted to hear she made your stay!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

A solid evening at The Domain Hotel. The entrance was difficult to locate at night so take notice of the sign on the right on East El Camino Real. The area shuts down by 10.00p and as there is not a restaurant on-site or late night amentiesbut overall, a nice hotel with friendly staff. Nothing fancy but provides what is needed for a quick, short stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Ashia,

Thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. Your survey and comments are greatly appreciated and will only help us continue to improve. There are some late night options in the area for dining, We've had a list created at our front desk for future occurrences.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church VA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel itself is attractive and so are the rooms. Due to a mixup in my reservation, I had to stay elsewhere the first night but afterwards I was given an upgrade to a lovely suite. For me the best part of my stay was dealing with the front desk staff. They answered all questions and settled all problems with such pleasant manner. I don't want to name names because I'm afraid I'll leave someone out who was equally helpful. I want to especially mention your great bartender, Jeff. I came for one drink and ended up spending three hours having supper and visiting with all the people there - Jeff was like the party host.
My only negative comment was that the Sleep Number bed didn't seem to work right (didn't matter as it was comfortable enough but I did want to try it) and the jets in the suite's jacuzzi wouldn't work at all, despite following all the instructions.
I certainly plan to stay there the next time I come to visit my family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear AFHJ,

Thank you for your positive comments about our guest service. I have had the sleep number bed and Jacuzzi fixed in your room inspected by maintenance. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at any time and I will personally oversee your stay to ensure your satisfaction. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Domain Hotel several times, all on business in Silicon Valley. Free internet, complimentary (and decent breakfast). The place even has a (small) bar, with a happy hour and a (modest) room service menu. It has a small exercise room, but guests may also use a large, commercial gym across the street. No it is not a five star hotel but a much better value and a California friendly staff. Yes El Camino Real, the thoroughfare the hotel is situated on, is strip mall central but this also means there are multiple dining options a few minutes away. Because of it's relatively small size it is easy in and easy out. What's not to like? Not much in fact.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Steve,

We love that we could be your home away from home while on the road. Our "California friendly" staff would be happy to have you back anytime.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#3 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
2.1 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 5 in Cupertino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Domain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domain Hotel

Property: The Domain Hotel
Address: 1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Domain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Silicon Valley boutique hotel, ideally located where Sunnyvale meets Santa Clara, The Domain Hotel offers travelers a contemporary feeling hotel that infuses the technology vibe of the valley through its services and amenities yet embraces the natural outdoor beauty of Northern California through its inspired decor offering guests a unique choice in room type - tranquility or awakening rooms. All guestrooms feature flat-screen LCD TVs, sleep number beds and ample work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Domain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing