We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay :)”
Review of The Domain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Domain Hotel
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay :)”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

It was a pity that we could only manage a night's stay at Domain Hotel. The service was great - we were upgraded to an even better room than the one which we had originally booked, complete with complimentary premium high-speed internet, all free of charge. Instead of a room with a queen-sized bed, we were ushered into one complete with TWO queen-sized beds. All our requests were tended to - the addition of a microwave, the procurement of silverware and dishes for our meal - very promptly by affable staff members. The hotel itself is rather stunning, and you'll be treated to a wonderful view when returning to or leaving your room. The beds in the room could also be adjusted in terms of hardness; with several clicks of a button, the entire bed could be transformed to suit your preference - soft, or hard. There was also a heated swimming pool and jacuzzi at our disposal. Overall, it was a really great stay and I would love to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolejf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Nicolejf,

We would like to thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. Nothing is more gratifying then receiving positive comments from our guest. We are excited to serve you in the future.

Please come back and see us soon!

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Director of Rooms
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    299
    98
    29
    22
See reviews for
124
117
91
509
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel is nice enough, undergound garage, good bed, lots of pillows and spacious room.
The highlight is on the Bytes Cafe & Bar, with happy hour and ... Jeff the bartender !

If you stay in this hotel, make sure you may him a visit, and go for a glass of wine as there is an awesome selection.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulocas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for you comments about the hotel and Jeff. Stay tuned for updates coming in 2014, including new bedding packages, new carpet, and more amenities!

Have a happy and safe holiday season, and please come see us again soon!


Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Great service on the desk.
Very clean rooms and spacious.
Heated pool and jacuzzi in December... so good.
Breakfast has a great variety in full buffet.
Underground garage, very convenient for raining days.
Very good location away from traffic routes. Fishmarket right next to the hotel, makes a great meal two steps away.
Extremely kind bartender Jeff, recognized me from my last year stay at the hotel, very friendly. Awesome complementary wine selection.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Miguel,

Thank you for you comments about the hotel and Jeff. We can't wait to make your next stay memorable. Please come back and see us soon.


Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

WOW! This hotel I have been working next to for years and did not realize the luxury of this oasis on a busy city street! When you drive by it can be hard to notice however once stepping inside it is a time you cannot forget. First of all, the halls smell WONDERFUL as you walk down to your room and before that we were greeted by a very beautiful receptionist named RUBY :). Looking a home away from home, we were looking for an escapade and could not be any more pleased. Ruby greeted us very kindly at around 10:00 P.M. and even though she was working late she still treated the customer ahead of us with kindness and grace and us still the same. It is not even her that represented excellent care in her work ethics, it's the whole staff!! Everyone is happy and always smiling back; making sure to greet everybody with a hello that is actually genuine. Another shout out to Ruby and JEFF the bartender, you guys made great conversation and I couldn't stop thinking about the generosity of the hotel staff so I had to make this account on Trip Advisor just so they are recognized by the hotel. The ROOMS were perfect, the neighborhood was quiet and I look forward to going back again soon.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel staff! Kindness will get you very far and it proved by interacting with Ruby! She was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Harimmy,

Thank you for your positive comments about Jeff and Ruby! I cannot thank you enough for your feedback and comments. We always strive to make positive guest experiences. The Team and I look forward to seeing you again at the Domain Hotel.


Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I had a great over night stay before an early flight. I requested a quiet room, since I had such an early flight the next morning. I was granted my request for a quiet room. The room was quite roomy, compared to recent hotels I've stayed. The bed was comfy, desk work area had more than enough room for my paperwork & tablet, the bathroom seemed to be modern & upgraded. I'm not really into modern deco, but I enjoyed this hotel's modern look. I would recommend, and go back to this hotel in a heartbeat.
The staff, was very helpful & informative. Ruby did a great job getting my taxi ride for the next morning, offered a wake up call, and she was very informative.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room-off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abetterplastering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Abetterplastering,

Nothing is more gratifying then receiving positive comments from our guest. We have shared your comments with Ruby and she was excited she made your stay memorable. We are delighted to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at The Domain. My usual Silicon Valley choices were all booked up, so I tried this one. I'm glad I did. Here are some of the highlights:
1. Friendly staff. The staff was all so friendly and accommodating, it really made this trip away from my family easier.
2. Great happy hour. Jeff really makes you feel at home and goes out of his way to make it a nice event. He and Marcus (front desk) even made me a custom fruit plate one evening - something not on the menu.
3. Excellent fitness center. Free access to 19 Fitness across the street, which has all the facilities you'd want. And there's also a fitness room on site with fewer facilities.
4. Full breakfast buffet. Decent selection of items overall. Waitresses are very responsive and happy to give you a to-go box or a to-go coffee refill.
5. Brightly lit rooms. I find most hotel rooms remain dark and cave-like even when all of the lights are on. Not this one. It had several bright halogen lights that did a great job lighting up the room.
6. Clean, fragrance free rooms.
7. Plenty of power plugs. It's odd to me how some hotels have a shortage of these, forcing you to unplug the clock or lamp to charge your electronics. My room at The Domain had plenty.

No hotel is perfect, so here are a few small nits:
1. The selection of cold cereal wasn't great. No high fiber ones. But the hot oatmeal made a good substitute.
2. The walls aren't as thick as at some places I've stayed, but I had no problem sleeping.
3. Not really a counterpoint, but be aware that there IS a mini-frig in the room. It's disguised to look like drawers, to match the rest of the decor.

Overall, The Domain is one of the best places I've stayed in Silicon Valley.

Room Tip: Room 228 was a great room. A top floor room would mean less foot noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Ralph,

Thank you for choosing The Domain Hotel for your stay in the Bay Area. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our number one focus is always the guest, and Marcus and Jeff will be delighted to hear your kind words. I will discuss with our F&B manager to get another healthier cereal on our buffet. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me before your next stay if I can assist in anyway.


Happy Holidays!

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great place to stay, always super helpful front desk staff. Clean, comfortable, quiet. The hotel is always busy and often events are held here but this breathes life into the place. The hotel has all modern conveniences needed when staying away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd M, Manager at The Domain Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Travelgrid,

I cannot thank you enough for your feedback and comments. The Team and I look forward to seeing you again at the Domain Hotel. It has been a great year, and we can't wait to see the improvements we have in store for 2014! Room upgrades such as carpet and bedding will soon be here!

Happy Holidays!

Todd Metzger
Front Office Director
Domain Hotel * A Joie De Vivre Hotel
1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale CA
Tel: 408-247-0800
Fax: 408-984-7120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunnyvale
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
2.1 mi away
Cupertino Inn
Cupertino Inn
#1 of 5 in Cupertino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Domain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domain Hotel

Property: The Domain Hotel
Address: 1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Domain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Silicon Valley boutique hotel, ideally located where Sunnyvale meets Santa Clara, The Domain Hotel offers travelers a contemporary feeling hotel that infuses the technology vibe of the valley through its services and amenities yet embraces the natural outdoor beauty of Northern California through its inspired decor offering guests a unique choice in room type - tranquility or awakening rooms. All guestrooms feature flat-screen LCD TVs, sleep number beds and ample work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Domain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing