We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the price”
Review of The Domain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Domain Hotel
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I was at the Domain for a weekend convention. The spacious lobby, and upstairs conversation areas were wonderful for our group. A nice buffet breakfast was including in the very reasonable room-rate. I was impressed by the cleanliness throughout -- rooms, spa, fitness center, etc. The front desk staff are pleasant, unobtrusive, and rather laid-back. The rooms are attractive, with excellent desk space, refrigerators, and plenty of counter space in the bathroom. The sleep-number beds are just sumptuous. My one criticism would be the hot water -- I had to run the shower for four minutes every morning before there was even a hint of heat to it. Very odd.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysterioustraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainHotel, Front Office Supervisor at The Domain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words about the Domain. We strive for excellence and take all feedback as a learning tool and we feel there is always room to improve. I have taken your comments about our hot water to our Cheif Engineer and I am hoping the wait for hot water will not be an issue for your next stay.

I cannot thank you enough for your feedback and comments. The Domain team and I look forward to seeing you again at the Domain Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2011

The Domain is unimpressive from the outside but has an air of spaciousness and good taste within. The staff are very friendly and know their stuff. Rooms are spacious, well equipped and the beds extremely comfortable, having comfort adjustments for each side.

Recommend it over and brand name you might use.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SorenTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomainHotel, Front Office Supervisor at The Domain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I take these posts very seriously and I read every one of them. I believe all guest comments/posts allow us the opportunity to focus on the areas where we can improve.

I was very pleased to see our decor grabbed your eye and we recieved an Best Design Award by HD magazine in 2007 and we love this played a part in your overall experience at the Domain. It truly makes my day to see that we hit the mark with our guests. What can we do to continue exceeding your expectations, during future visits? I would be grateful to hear some additional feedback if you have the time.

I cannot thank you enough for your feedback and comments. The Team and I look forward to seeing you again at the Domain Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

After a horrible night shopping around for hotels this property was like an oasis in the middle of the dessert. Literally. Prior to arrival,me and my partner had a horrid experience. Upon check-in this frustration with the town was immediately taken off our shoulders. The front desk agent, Marcus showed sympathy and was
Timely in getting us into our room. Upon hearing our previous experience he then gave us a really good rate,threw in breakfast, a late check out time as we did arrive almost at midnight and threw in a bottle of red wine to take care of us. I will for sure come back next time I'm in town. This property and it's staff have been phenomenal. Not to mention the elevator in parking garage in the lower level takes you directly to the floor in which you are rooming in. Talk about convenience!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscarsegura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Terrible staff who are incompetent and unhelpful. Hotel looks like a poor attempt at renovating a 1970s style Hotel 8. In other words, ugly. Room service doesnt even half of what is on the menu. I will never stay here again if I can avoid it, and would recommemend the same to others.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DagNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Discovered recently during an event, I decided to stay a few days to really evaluate the hotel and the various services. I was very well surprised by all elements: room space and cleanliness, food, global atmosphere and modern decoration. It's a very interesting combination where you feel good, perfect for work, very central also and ideal for family with a swimming pool. I will recommend this hotel without any doubt and even already booked my next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We used to live in the Bay Area and loved every minute of it. Now we live in another part of CA, but every time we head back to our favorite place, we stay at the Domain. It's like our home away from home. The staff is always great and friendly. The room is spotless and comfy. Love the Sleep # beds and all the little modern touches. The hotel smells great too! Don't think we haven't noticed your ability with Feng Shui! Thanks Domain for an always enjoyable stay...we'll be back! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetie-Cat-Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We wanted to just get out and go have a fun evening where we could make a mess, lay in bed watch a movie and cupcake. What a fantastic hotel . 1st-BARGAIN under $70 , 2nd Staff was personable and friendly . Corey was sweet, quick to offer advice about the hotel and definately a plus to have on staff.
3rd Hotel has just been totally redone so it is funky and modern. Was not expecting to see this little jewel tucked into such a random area on El Camino ( but I will take it) Love the open space and the kitschy little lobby furniture. The color scheme is relaxing.
4th The rooms are not the W, but they definately thought of all the little things. From the sleep number beds, to extra pillows in the closet, Ample lighting , modern furniture (comfy). Wish they movies to order but it was ok.
5th- maybe it's because it was after christmas but we never heard anyone and we were situated in a room right about the dining area ( an inside room )

We didn't have a chance to try food or beverage service whether downstairs or room service but we'll be back so next time!
When my ffriends or family come to town, this is a great little hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssevizle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 35 in Sunnyvale
1,087 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#4 of 35 in Sunnyvale
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Sunnyvale, CA
1.2 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#6 of 35 in Sunnyvale
392 reviews
3.2 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
#8 of 35 in Sunnyvale
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Domain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Domain Hotel

Address: 1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range: £78 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Domain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Silicon Valley boutique hotel, ideally located where Sunnyvale meets Santa Clara, The Domain Hotel offers travelers a contemporary feeling hotel that infuses the technology vibe of the valley through its services and amenities yet embraces the natural outdoor beauty of Northern California through its inspired decor offering guests a unique choice in room type - tranquility or awakening rooms. All guestrooms feature flat-screen LCD TVs, sleep number beds and ample work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Domain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing