We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service lacking, rooms great” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Sunnyvale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Sunnyvale
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Central Coast, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Service lacking, rooms great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2007

My husband chose this hotel as the location for his high school reunion because of the beautiful gardens in which people could visit outside the ballroom where a DJ was booked, and because of the upscale rooms. The Sheraton promised they would not book another event so the gardens would be available along with the ballroom--then turned around and booked a wedding there without informing the Reunion Committee. They found out on the day of the Reunion that the gardens were off limits! The Sheraton would not make any refund.

There were 2 bartenders on duty for the event, but one didn't know how to make most mixed drinks. Instead of organizing a beer/wine line for this guy to serve, and a mixed drink line for the experienced bartender, they had people wait in one line as the inexperienced guy asked the other guy--or the customers--how to make the drinks! A lot of people spent 20-30 minutes in line.

The rooms themselves are large, comfortable and clean, and have refrigerators and flat screen TVs. Some have nice views, but ours looked out on a staircase (despite my husband being Reunion Committee Chair), so ask about this when you book if you want a more private experience.

The outdoor pool is large and inviting, with plenty of seating and sunning areas. The gardens are lovely (we saw them the next morning!) I don't recommend the restaurant if you are hungry and/or in a hurry. We waited nearly an hour to be served at 11 am on Sunday, though there were very few people in the restaurant.

In conclusion, this would be a great place to have a private getaway (ask for that private room!), but book your event elsewhere--unless you get everything in writing including conditions under which you want a refund if contract terms are not met.

  • Liked — great bed
  • Disliked — the garden was off-limits
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    115
    76
    26
    17
See reviews for
44
35
42
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2007

This is a very nice motel, beautiful grounds, gardens, pool, fountains, etc. considering that it is a motel, not a resort.
I received a free upgrade to a garden view room, which was a nice touch.
The room was spacious, clean, and tastefully decorated. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Liked — very nice room
  • Disliked — paying $9.95 for 24-hours of internet access
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Spence_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2007

I was travelling on business for a one-day training in San Jose. I wanted to stay at a Starwood property because I am a preferred guest member. Unfortunately the options in San Jose aren't too great for Starwood members. I booked the Sunnyvale Sheraton as it seemed to get good reviews on TripAdvisor, and wasn't too far from Downtown San Jose (I would have preferred the W Silicon Valley, but it was twice the distance and I'm not familar with commutes in the Bay Area). That said:

Location: The location is very accessible to the 101 and 237 freeways. For communting to Downtown San Jose, the hotel is very convenient. Travel on the 101 is against the flow, and it only took me 10 minutes on a Friday morning. There is not much in the area around the hotel (primarily a business/industrial area), but a short drive (5-10 minutes or so) down Mathilda Ave into Sunnyvale provided lots of options for eating, etc. The hotel itself is easily accessible with a nice "campus" feel to it, and lots of available parking.

Room: My room was a "Starwood Preferred Guest Room" and had recently been remodeled. It looked sharp on first glance, but there were a few a minor annoyances. I had a great plasma-screen TV, but the remote worked intermittently. The room had high speed internet ($9.99 fee), but it was "wired" and extremely slow. I don't know if it was worth my company's $$ or not. The room still smelled like paint from the remodeling - I'm not sure how long ago it had been remodeled, but the paint smell was strong. There was no refridgerator. The bathroom was large, and there was a decent-sized desk area. The bed was extremely comfortable - one of the highlights. Unfortunately, the shower did not have hot water at 6:45 in the morning. The water coming from the faucet was scalding hot, so I knew it was an issue isolated to the shower. The water finally got lukewarm, but I didn't have time to complain because I was in a hurry to get to me meeting.

Service: I'm mixed on this, mainly because I specifically booked a King bed, but received two queens. Certainly not a huge issue, but when you specifically book one type of room, why isn't it available? Front desk was pleasant enough, but not apologetic about the number of bed-issue. That said, I made several calls to guest services (to ask directions, wake-up call, etc.) and they were very friendly and helpful over the phone. One other thing I should mention is the fitness center - it closes at 10pm. I don't understand why it can't be open until 11 or 12 - I was looking forward to using it but my flight was a little late and once I ate, there was barely any time to. This hotel caters to business travellers in Silicon Valley - I am sure that this market isn't always ready to call it a day by 10pm.

In summary, the hotel was just ok. I knew going in that it wouldn't be anything special, and it wasn't. There were goods and bads. All in all, I'd probably consider it again if I were going to San Jose, but I'd also consider just trying the commute from the W if I wanted Starwood Points, or I'd consider just forgetting the points and staying at a nicer property downtown.

  • Liked — Great bed, nice "campus" feel, accessible location close to freeways
  • Disliked — Poor internet access (for $10!) and cold shower.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cougrz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2007

Overall pretty poor for a Sheraton. Property is run down. I had a second-floor room and there were no elevators -- just outdoor stairs. The gym is "under renovation" (I think they just don't really have one) so they send you to squash court down the street that happens to have some cardio equipment in the hallway. Definitely false advertising on that front.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank carcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunnyvale hotels

McLean Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2006

Not at the bottom of the price range but pretty much at the bottom of quality. Nothing wrong with the people.

Lousy breakfast buffet on the Club level, yet. extra charge to stay there. Wireless web charges at 2.95 for 15 minutes and 25 cents a minute after. A charge for USA Today that you have to opt out of.

Rooms are clean. Location is right on a busy corner. Shangrala has major traffic noise.

Really seems inadequate for the price.

I am tired of being nickel and dimed to death by higher end chains that don't provide the services that the lower end chains like Hampton Inn do provide.

  • Liked — Room is clean.
  • Disliked — Cheesy charges for everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Find another place
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robertckelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kc, Mo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2006

This is a nice hotel and the staff is wonderful. the bed is comfortable and I feel safe. My big issue with this is the fact they charge $9.95 for 24 hours of internet. Most of the hotels up and down the mathilda avenue aren't 3/4 star hotels, but provide this amenity. It's time that sheraton welcomes the year 2006. Granted this is a comfortable environment, but if you here for a week, that's 50-60 bucks for internet access..

  • Liked — Very comfortable and pleasent hotel
  • Disliked — Crappy Internet Service
  • Tips/Secrets — If your needing net access, find another hotel
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dapcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2006

Stayed here mid-May 2006 with husband for 2 nights. Used priceline and paid 57. per night. Extra large room, very clean, all necessary amenities. Disappointed internet wasn't free but they are catering to business travelers who will be reimbursed by their companies. Didn't use the pool but the area looked nice, tropical feel. Staff was very helpful.

Priceline users warning - Staff told us they are sold out Mon-Thurs nights almost all of the time. They are centrally located to all the Silicon Valley businesses so therefore very popular. If you are priceline, they are probably going to give you the worst room since you are paying so little compared to everyone else. As soon as I booked the room on priceline I called the hotel and made the request for a non-smoking king bed room. They said they would take my request but would not be likely to fulfill it due to being so booked, so fair warning which I appreciated. When we got there the front desk clerk told us priceline does not guarantee what type of room we get and all they had available was a smoking room. It was a Thursday and the clerk told us likely a non smoking would open the next day. So we stayed in the smoking king room in hopes of changing. The room smelled like smoke, as expected, and so did any clothes we had out in the open that day. The next morning I went to the front desk, asked to change to a non smoking room and was immediately accommodated. It was a non smoking with 2 queens, which was fine, stayed in this room on Friday night.

I would stay at this hotel again, but only on a weekend booked through priceline.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ercm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
3.8 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
#9 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale
Staybridge Suites Sunnyvale
#10 of 33 in Sunnyvale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sunnyvale

Property: Sheraton Sunnyvale
Address: 1100 North Mathilda Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sunnyvale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Sunnyvale Hotel is truly an escape with its serene setting, beautifully landscaped grounds, and picture perfect weather, we are a great choice for any traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing