We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Pictures look a lot better than the hotel itself. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Super fast WIFI connection (By far faster than most hotels I stay at).
2. People here are super nice.

Cons:
1. Exercise room is basically no exercise room at all. Has 2 treadmills, an all-in-one weight machine (that is pretty much worthless), very light dumb bells (I believe they went up to 40lbs).
2. Room had a smell of cigarette smoke from 10 years ago.
3. Windows have no screens so you cannot open them for fresh air at night.
4. The hotel is desperately in need of major upgrades/renovations.

Room Tip: Highway on one side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear David S,

Thank you for staying at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Sunnyvale for your visit in the area. We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a feedback. It is important for us to receive guest feedback to better assist us in monitoring what areas are doing well and what areas we may need to work on. After carefully reviewing your comments, it appears that you were very happy about our High Speed Internet and the customer services that your hotel staff provided. However, I could not help but notice the areas which were rated below satisfactory. I am very sorry for any inconvenience that might occur during your stay. Guest's comfort is very important to us and I ensure you we will look into these matters.

Regardless, I wanted to assure you that your comments were heard and appreciated. On behalf of our entire team we thank you for your business and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

An Mai
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

I recommend the hotel for business travelers in the area (and leisure travelers). The room was large and comfortable, along with a free business center (which is starting to be a rarity). I also appreciated the in-room microwave and refrigerator. I'll return if in the area again. The standard rate seems a little pricey, but I had a corporate rate that made it an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear skwood,

Thank you for staying at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Sunnyvale for your visit in the area. We are very happy to see such postivive feedback from you about our guestroom along with amenities inside and complimentary 24/7 Business Center. Thank you for acknowledge our effort to provide the best possible hotel services and facilites to accommodate all guests' needs. Knowing that your overall experience with us as very pleasant has made all our hard works paid off.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

An Mai
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Country inn has good size rooms and comfortable beds.
The complimentary breakfast is average but quite ok.
Easy parking and what looks like a nice pool. I enjoyed my stay, everything was easy with this hotel.

A good quiet location, but not within easy walking to anywhere.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank mal_chaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear mal_chaney,

Thank you for staying at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Sunnyvale for your visit in the area. We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a feedback and for giving us such positive comment about your overall experience us. We are very happy to know that our hard work has paid off and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

An Mai
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is located at 237 Bayshore Fwy and Lawrence Expressway...less than 15 minutes from the San Jose Airport in a business park. I chose the location because it was about midpoint between companies I visited between Menlo Park/Palo Alto and Milpitas/San Jose. This is a bigger hotel than most Country Inn & Suites with more services and amenties. I knew Country Inn & Suites offer a hot complimentary breakfast and this hotel was the best I've seen at a Country Inn property. The staff members I encountered were all very pleasant and helpful. The hotel and my room was attractive, clean, quiet, and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay and will stay here again.

Room Tip: My room faced the 237 Bayshore Fwy with a nice unobstructed view of the mountains. The hotel window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Tom N,

Thank you for staying at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Sunnyvale for your visit in the area. We could not be more than happy to know that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and giving us the biggest compliment about us standing out in all services and facilies that we offer to accommodate all guests' needs. Thank you for your kind feedback and we are definitely looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

An Mai
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for 1 week on business trip. Landed at SFO and its just 45 mins away. Located near the highway and easy access to many companies surroundings.
Ample of parking lots available around the hotel ground with multiple entry door to hotel. Access via hotel card.
There is a park nearby, good place to go for a jog in the evening.
No restaurant nearby (unless I did not notice) however we could find some restaurants just 5-10 mins drive away.
Breakfast was excellent, good variety and serve hot. Was there for 6 mornings and did not get tired of it. :)
Gym facility available - limited equipments but meet its purpose. Was well maintained.
Pool looks a bit small, personally did not use it. located beside the gym.
Staffs were friendly and very helpful.
Overall I liked the place due to - its clean, quite, friendly staffs & good location.

Room Tip: I stayed on ground floor. Any room is fine as surrounding is quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vignesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Vignesh G,

Thank you for staying at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Sunnyvale for your business visit in the area. We are very thrilled to see such positive details that you described about our overall hotel as well as the complimentary parking, complimentary buffet breakfast, Fitness Center, the Pool and all other wonderful services and facilities that we has offered to accommodate all guests' needs. We sincerely hope that we will see you again soon!

Thank you.

An Mai
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this facility at the end of 2013 during the holiday season. This facility, being a business hotel, gave us a deep discount.
This hotel is centrally located in Silicon Valley but away from busy traffic. The hotel is not luxurious nor upscale, but meets the needs on a business trip nicely. The lobby has a nice sitting area that can be used for casual meetings. The room was clean but basic. It's been several month. What sticks to my memory was the sumptuous hot breakfast which is above the ordinary complimentary breakfast level.
If I have to be picky about the facility. It is the sound-proof that can be improved. I stayed at a room right out of an elevator and could hear the ding from the elevator all the time.
I would stay at this hotel again, but would ask for a room away from the elevator.

Room Tip: away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 824victorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear 842victorw,

Thank you for staying at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Sunnyvale for your visit in the area at the end of 2013. We know that it was a while ago but we really appreciate you taking your time to give us a positive feedback about our overall hotel as well as the complimentary buffet breakfast. We are very happy to know that your experience with us as so pleasant that we will definitely see you again soon!

Sincerely,

An Mai
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice hotel, great service, esp from Tuyet Nguyen. She went out of her way to make us feel welcome and give us extra help in finding places we wanted to see in the area. She is an excellent representative for this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear K Y,

Thank you for staying at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Sunnyvale for your visit in the area. We want to thank you for your kind feedback about our overall hotel as well as all services and facilities that we offer. As always, your compliment about our team and especially Tuyen Nguyen is very much appreciated.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

An Mai
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
3.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
1,040 reviews
4 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
Corporate Inn Sunnyvale
#6 of 33 in Sunnyvale
201 reviews
3.6 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
386 reviews
1.7 mi away
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
Larkspur Landing Sunnyvale
#10 of 33 in Sunnyvale
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale

Address: 1300 Chesapeake Ter, Sunnyvale, CA 94089-1100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sunnyvale
#1 Family Hotel in Sunnyvale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunnyvale
Price Range: £73 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale
Country Inns And Suites Sunnyvale
Country Inn Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing