We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is not as it appears on-line”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Is not as it appears on-line”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is not as it appears on-line.
(1) The lighting is poor and one light does not work.
(2) The sink is stopped up.
(3) The doors to the hallways going from outside to the rooms are left open all the time with no locks.
(4) There was no bedside table on the other side of the bed.
(5) It looks like they slapped some new material over old without properly renovating.
(6) The walls are dirty in the halls and in the rooms. Very disappointing.
(7) Breakfast is marginal at best.
(8) They were aggressive in demanding used towels at the door when they brought a few new ones even though we explained we were getting ready to go out.
(9) The hotel halls and room had an odor. Not what you would expect from a "renovated" hotel which it is only cosmetic.
(10) I agree with a previous reviewer who stated it is discrediting the "Brand" of Comfort Inns the chain has tried to promote.
(11) The sheets are rough.
(12) The hotel clerk had green mucous coming out of the nose that he kept sniffing up while checking us in. It was large, green, and unsettling as he was touching everything and we don't want to get sick from someone who was obviously sick and passing it on. When one has huge, thumb sized green mucous where it is visible, it is time to go home out of respect for one's self and others.
(13) The room above woke me too early as I could hear their every movement this morning.

This is suppose to be a half week stay.

Won't stay again.

Room Tip: You can find a better hotel for the same price. If you have to go up $10, it is worth staying elsew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    14
    12
    14
See reviews for
15
5
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here for more than a week and being a choice hotel member which I was introduced to by the hotel staff. This is my obvious choice of hotel to stay closer to my place of work with abundant choice of restaurants and have a tie up with the Fitness center right across the street.

Room Tip: Stay in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sridhark72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I'm a Rewards member of Choice Hotels and I stay frequently at the Comfort Inn in Tucson. As their client, I have come to expect a certain "brand" of value, amenities and cleanliness. Stayed 3 nights here recently for a quick vacation. This Comfort Inn in Sunnyvale discredits the "brand" that the chain has tried to build. If it were my first visit to a Comfort Inn anywhere, I would never stay with the chain again.

First the pros: management staff was very helpful in resolving an error I made in a "non-refundable" booking; internet access was fine, room was updated and appointed with a flat screen TV, microwave and small refrigerator.
Now the cons: Hotel property is outdated and unclean (see my posted photo of a sample door on the second floor hallway); Room 208 has a distinct "mothball" or moldy smell as you enter through the door; I checked in at 5:30 on a Thursday night and regular desk staff were not on site so my check-in process couldn't be completed until Friday morning; Breakfast on Friday morning was minimal (there were 3 pieces of omelette, no meat, two english muffins, quarter slices of muffins available and no one to refill the breakfast buffet; I tried to have breakfast again on Saturday and Sunday at 7:30 and there was no breakfast available, despite the fact that it was supposed to open at 7am, causing me to pay for my breakfast at a local restaurant; the desk was still closed at 7:30 am in the morning and nobody responded to the night bell (see photo); the elevator is from the 1950's and is scary;

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank BoydChicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunnyvale hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here for 7 days while trying to find a place to live for my new job.

This room was right next to the breakfast room, which surprisingly you couldn't hear anything from... they did a really good job on that wall, the other wall however was not so well insulated. We ended up turning the TV on low for some white noise so we couldn't hear next door laughing and talking about the show they were watching. You couldn't hear what was being said, but if someone laughed really loud you could hear that.

I really liked the breakfast, however I can see how depending what time you hit it others may have had different experiences. Near the end of breakfast they tended to run out of the popular things like bananas and coffe, although there were more cups etc in the cupboards underneath...

They had a good range of stuff though, fruit, danishes, yoghurt, make your own waffles, and usually something warm like eggs and bacon or sausages, there was also bread and english muffins available with jam/peanut butter cups to make toast, and there was coffee and orange juice, as well as cereal and milk.

Oh also good, our room on the ground floor had burglar proofing so you don't have to worry so much - not that I saw anything at any point that gave me cause for concern.

I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scubajunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had never seen an elevator like this, felt like a closet. Breakfast room was small and food didn't look good enough to stop and eat. They did have US newspaper. Desk clerk had her daughter at work, I guess that's acceptable. Room was advertised to have a recliner. It was a desk chair. The Internet was acceptable thank goodness! And the bed was comfortable. OK for sleeping, but wouldn't want to be stuck for more than a night.

Room Tip: Room was on the back side, was quieter than some reviews. Might be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnswife3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Outside of the hotel looks a bit "sketchy" but wonderful surprise when we walked into our room. Room was totally renovated and fresh. Plenty of space and nice, comfy bedding. Bathrooms remodeled too and very clean. Hallway carpeting new. It has a small pool and whirlpool that are nice. Breakfast was okay - not someone in the breakfast room all the time so when ran out of things had to go to front desk for someone to come and refill items. Breakfast room renovated, modern, and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I had a two-night stay on business and was trying to save money. I have NO complaints! There was a hot breakfast, not just cold continental, and the rooms were clean and neat, if small. Great high-speed wireless, which is important to me. TV's are name brand and all very new. My room was clean, warm, quiet, and had a nice window that I could actually open to enjoy some of that wonderful California air. Despite its obvious age, and a need for some paint touchups, I felt cared for and comfortable, and I would recommend it not only based on price but that amazing breakfast. Thanks for a good stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smk5610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunnyvale hotels
0.1 mi away
The Domain Hotel
The Domain Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sunnyvale
936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wild Palms Hotel - a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
Vagabond Inn Sunnyvale
#21 of 33 in Sunnyvale
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 33 in Sunnyvale
901 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maple Tree Inn
Maple Tree Inn
#5 of 33 in Sunnyvale
364 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Sunnyvale/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale

Property: Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale
Address: 1071 East El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3755 (Formerly Comfort Inn Sunnyvale)
Region: United States > California > Sunnyvale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Sunnyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cherry Orchard Inn of Sunnyvale, California delivers exceptional hotel services, pet friendly guestrooms and suites, an ideal airport location, high-speed internet and fun Northern California vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cherry Orchard Inn Sunnyvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Sunnyvale Hotel Sunnyvale
Sunnyvale Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing