We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely helpful staff and decent rooms, but reeks of smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful staff and decent rooms, but reeks of smoke”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

The hotel was very accommodating with our changing work schedule. The rooms were nicely appointed with refrig, mircowave, flat screen, and Keurig. The bed was too soft and lumpy as were the pillows; however, others in my group found the beds to be comfortable.
The gym was VERY small and stuffy.

I did not eat at the hotel due to the stench of cigarette smoke on the first floor. The paperwork at check-in had a statement that was highlighted which said illegal drugs were not allowed on the premises and the discovery of stuff would result in immediate removal from the property and MAY result in prosecution.....interesting!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank businesstraveler155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your comments. We do enforce a zero tolerance policy and inform our guests of the same. One must remember that we are NOT technically in California, Federal laws apply here and many guests from California don't realize that fact. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    63
    27
    13
    1
See reviews for
37
44
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I've stopped at this hotel many times on business trips. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and comfortable beds are just a few assets. Great getaway for a few days of leisure and if gambling is your kind of fun, they have it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Les, Thank you very much for your kind review. I'll post this for our staff. We also are very close to Lassen Volcanic Park and the Biz Johnson Trail. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

I have stayed here a few times and every time has been wonderful. The beds are so comfortable, I haven't found any other hotel that compares to the beds here. The rooms are always very clean and you have everything you need in your room. My kids love the pool they have a blast when they are here. For the price its the best place to stay I would recommend it to all my friends and family. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Alison, Thank you so much. I will post your review for the entire staff. Its always nice to hear that the efforts of the staff are paying off. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

I was heading to Reno by way of Susanville Ca. Big storm and icy roads, myself and three other friends decided to play it safe and spend the night. One of my friends suggested the above because she had gone to there dance club.
The room was nice and clean comfortable. A suggestion I would have is that they put real coffee makers in with real creamer. The two cup coffee makers are slow and require thinking in the morning when a person needs coffee to read the instructions. I noticed other people thought they were broken. There not, I initially thought the same. There to complicated for a person whose is half asleep! LOL!
The food was good at the restaurant and affordable. What I thought was interesting is people could smoke in the restaurant. For me that seriously distracts from the good food that's being served. If I had not been snowed in I would have ate somewhere else.
90% of the staff is very helpful and friendly. The other ten percent is the opposite.
I'm bring these things up so that management might address them. I think they are easy fixes. This is why I rated it average.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear Carol, Thank you for staying with us. We always appreciate learning where we can improve. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Yes it is true that this is probably the best hotel in Susanville but that is not saying much. First off it is difficult to find. The hotel was probably once quite nice but starting to get cluttered, tired and junky. The lobby has huge signs advertising the $10 shop that sells jewelry, watches, etc., Nail Saloon, etc. Furniture in room is starting to get tired. The Keurig coffee machine was broken in my room. I went downstairs to get an Americano from the lobby coffee shop. Lots of staff enjoying the coffee bar and chatting. Tough to get their attention. Standing at the counter, your direct vision is of the sink and lots of containers of disgusting chemicals which make me nervous of how the equipment was cleaned. But then I looked at the floor and doubted that much cleaning was getting done. View from our room was of the back parking lot and clutter of leftover beer kegs, building materials and junk. Yes, we would stay again if we had too but will definitely plan our trips south so that we do not stop in Susanville. This hotel totally caters to Casino users.

Room Tip: Hotel is on the reservation, out of town and there are very few signs. Difficult to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Margi, Thank you very much for your information. We always appreciate knowing where we can improve. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is a nice small hotel. It's a bit out of the way, in the mountains just a few miles out of Susanville. Nice view, quiet. The bed was incredibly comfortable... I didn't want to get up for a change! Only problem I had was the Keurig coffee maker doesn't work... but I'm sure they'll take care of that when I tell them. Very polite staff. The restaurant in the casino is excellent , and the prices incredibly reasonable. The gas station is next door and is much cheaper than in town. It is a bit tricky finding the place, make sure you have directions as we missed the small sign in town totally in the congestion. And there is NO sign at all at the entry that we could see, until we passed it and there's a sign that says "make a u turn if you are going to Casino". That was just weird. Once we found it, it's a nice place.

Room Tip: Be careful using their web site for direct booking - make sure you get a confirmation number. I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crangrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear crangrammy, Thank you very much. I apologize for the signage, we have very strict city regulations. I will personally look into the website problem. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

A wonderful hotel attached to a bizarre casino. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and upgraded. Smoke isn't a problem. As a former, reforming smoker (15 days), the smoke in the casino didn't bother me. The casino is penny slots and has machines which spin a win....but we can't figure them out. Stay here. Clean, fun and different.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
This_Hotel_Guy, Manager at Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Maggie, Thank you very much. Please keep up the good work quitting smoking. I am but 2 1/2 years clean myself. Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Susanville hotels
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
#4 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.2 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 8 in Susanville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel

Property: Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
Address: 900 Skyline Drive, Susanville, CA 96130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Diamond hotel includes 70 Lodge-style non-smoking Rooms, Coffee Bar, Non-smoking Gaming Area, Conference Room, Business Center, Small Amenities Shop, Indoor Pool and Spa and free breakfast in our restaurant for all paid guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Mountain Hotel Susanville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing