We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice experience”
Review of Apple Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Susanville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Apple Inn Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Reviewed 23 May 2014

In today"s world it is so refreshing to have someone take such pride in their business. From check in treats to the coziness of the rooms, this is just a really nice experience. The furniture in our room was nicely carved oak and the decor was home style and very nice after standard hotel fare. The room had a mini fridge and microwave with table and chairs. It was so clean and had great towels in a large bathroom. The rates were very reasonable and we felt our stay was really pleasant. The tokens for the Pioneer were much appreciated. Good experience....thank you.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Altagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were on a 19 day road trip and by the end of each night, we just wanted peaceful, restful sleep in a clean room. We liked this place because it had 2 bedrooms and the price was wonderful for that. It's an older motel and very well taken care of.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pelhamqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The folks who gave this motel rave reviews must live directly on the interstate and never experienced a quiet night in their life!... immune to noise because this motel is noisy. Between the traffic on 395 and the between-room, and outside thumps and bumps, it is a difficult night's sleep. This is unfortunately a perfect example of Trip Advisor being a cautionary tale. The rooms are clean, everything seems maintained and in good order. Our heater worked fine, micro operative, refrigerator loud as almost all of them are. (we unplugged it to take out one more annoyance). The operators are indeed personable and friendly, a real plus to the place. There isn't much they can do about their position on the street and the nature of the sound transfer. Most motels on 395 are on the road and prone to nighttime traffic. Just be aware that rave reviews are oft-times misleading and bring your earplugs. The price is right.

Room Tip: Get a room at the farthest end off the street.. Preferably the very end.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel in mid December of 2013, on our way to Las Vegas. Nice people, clean locally owned motel. The heaters were wall mounted propane heaters. During the night, the heater in the unit that our daughter's were staying in malfunctioned and pumped carbon monoxide into the room. They were very sick and nearly were overcomed. They had to spend the night in the hospital.

All of this would have been avoided if they would have had CO2 sensors installed in the rooms. They did not. The fire marshall red tagged 5 units all together for faulty heaters.

The owners didn't even bother to refund our money, We won't be staying there again anytime soon.

Room Tip: BEWARE !!!! Make sure that there are working properly installed CO2 sensors in your room if you cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank groan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Great stay for the price. The owners were super nice. There was nothing fancy about the room but it was really clean and the bed was comfy. I would definitely stay here again if I were traveling through.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jackdaniels73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

When I arrived at the Apple Inn after a long day on my motorcycle I was enthusiastically welcomed by the owner. The room was very clean and well appointed with a mini fridge, microwave and flat screen TV. This was so much more than I expected for the price and will certainly stay there again when I am passing through Susanville.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Echolake38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a really nice place. The owners meticulously maintain this small inn, which has only 10 units. It is very clean, the bed(s) very comfortable, and each room has a small refrigerator and microwave. Behind the inn, is a park-like area, where you can picnic, grill, or just sit outside and enjoy the weather, which is part of the inn property. Walmart and other shopping is nearby. When we checked in, we were each given a choice of two treats out of a small basket at the desk. In addition, we were given discounts to both the casino and the Pioneer Pub/Restaurant in town. This is a good place to eat, but be aware, the state of California prohibits minors in this establishment. The owner at the Pub expressed his thanks for Jay giving us the tokens for a free pint of their brew. The price was exceptional in this day and age; even though the inn is older, it was nice to have a quiet, small inn, instead of one of the franchised mega motels. We look forward to staying at the Apple Inn again.

Room Tip: We were in #9 near the back of the property by the picnic area. It was quiet, but I would think any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Judy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Susanville hotels
0.6 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Trailside Inn
Best Western Trailside Inn
#4 of 8 in Susanville
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#7 of 8 in Susanville
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Inn Motel

Address: 2720 Main St, Susanville, CA 96130-4742
Region: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing