We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have a large group staying, here's an idea that we did”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

There were six couples all arriving about the same time. Because High County Inn was completely booked and we thought the breakfast room would be loud and full of people, upon arriving we inquired with the friendly front desk if we could use there large conference room for breakfast. They kindly agreed. We all wanted to sit together and visit before heading our separate ways. It worked out great and there was even a microwave in the conference room for our use. We had our own private party and left the rest of the breakfast area to other people. The breakfast was adequate with waffles, yogurt, sausage gravy and biscuits and something I hadn't seen before, Jimmy Dean sausage egg and cheese bagel that was great. Of course they had all the rest of the breakfast items and breakfast is served between 6 and 9 AM. The rooms were spacious and very well kept...CLEAN! I noticed the windows were washed and the drapes and shears were also clean. The mattress was very comfortable and when I inquired about the mattress in the rooms occupied by our family, they too said the beds were extremely comfortable. I didn't like the pillows, too soft and squashy but one of the other ladies remarked on "how wonderful the pillows were". Guess it's an individual preference. Very quiet at night, no problems with the temperature control and each room had a microwave and frig. There is also a McDonalds and Taco Bell right across the street and Walmart is one block away should you need additional supplies. Great property and we will be staying with them again.

Room Tip: No elevator so if one set of stairs are a problem, book on the bottom floor. We didn't hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your great review! We love hearing our guests have enjoyed their stay and always want to hear they're coming back. As a staff, we strive to give our guests the most comfortable and enjoyable experience possible and are always willing to take those few extra steps to make sure their happiness is treated as a first priority. Glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast and that you and yours found the accommodations pleasing. We can't wait to see you again! Have a great day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was a wonderful hotel for a night. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast in the morning offered a lot of choices. The room was quite comfortable and the entire hotel seemed super clean. the only "negative" was that we had to switch rooms since the first one we were given had a toilet that didn't flush but even that was handled quickly and with good humor. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altadenabirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay even with that minor little hiccup. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and comfort of our property and as a staff we strive to make each of our guests stay as carefree and relaxing as possible. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We checked in late in the day. The hotel rooms are in a secure building, free parking for your vehicle. Clean room, clean hall carpet, warm pool, hot spa and a most comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly, gave great advise on questions about the surrounding area. It is near the main highway, but quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your review, Ginny! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully soon! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a good hotel, with plenty of eating establishments nearby. It is easy to get to by car, and on the edge of the city, which has all the necessary services, although a car is needed to get to most of them. The hotel rooms are well equipped, including a fridge and microwave, there is a guest laundry, and small outdoor swimming pool. Susanville is near to a lot of outdoor recreational facilities for all ages.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Not a lot of good choices in Susanville but this was a very good choice. We stayed one night on the way to Albuquerque. Nice access off the highway and clean and comfortable hotel. Nice breakfast in the morning before we hit the road. Great alternative to stay here as opposed to Reno as our next stay was in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAHumboldter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope that you'll choose us again on your next stopover in Susanville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just completed a 3-night stay. Second time for us at this property. Has good location, relatively new and modern compared to other choices in town, and rooms are clean and spacious. Staff has always been friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was above average.

Room Tip: This property is at the east in of town and sits back from the highway a bit. Rooms on the north (b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your review! We hope you'll stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel was very very nice with clean rooms and a great exercise room. The king size bed was the best we had on this trip. Very knowledgeable staff and reasonable rates. The breakfast, coffee and dining area was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if possible. Inside building hallway room entries is much easier on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich Edna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and hope you'll stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Susanville hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Trailside Inn
Best Western Trailside Inn
#4 of 8 in Susanville
462 reviews
2.1 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
1.0 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
463 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 8 in Susanville
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville

Address: 3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA 96130-4569 (Formerly High Country Inn)
Region: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range: £67 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Susanville
Country Inn Susanville
Susanville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing