We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukie, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, great service”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here five days while in Susanville on business. The hotel was clean, well- appointed and featured free wifi and breakfast. As a woman traveling alone, I appreciated the safety that a card key was necessary to get into any place in the inn except the main lobby, as all the other downtown Susanville hotels had direct access to room doors from the outside. There were a couple of days where TV cable went out for a short while, but the staff was immediately on task to fix it and I understand that this was a new issue due to a new cable provider. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wavemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear you found your room to be clean, comfortable, and safe. Our staff takes great care to make sure the rooms and grounds are to the liking of our guests and we always take safety into consideration as a first priority. Thank you for your grace in regards to the T.V. adjustments you experienced during your stay. Everything should be up and running smoothly for your next visit. Can't wait! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    79
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
55
76
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was a nice place for a two night stay: clean rooms, good standard breakfast (kids like the fresh waffles, I liked the biscuits and gravy). We made ample use of the pool -- not too cold in mid-October. The jets in the hot tub were not working. We notified the office. It took a few tries, but eventually they got it up and running again (on our second night). There is a pizza place is just across the parking lot for dinner. We were there for a run (Bizz Johnson). The hotel offered free showers Sunday afternoon for guests who checked out Sunday morning. We didn't end up using it (I finished too late and we had to head home), but I thought it was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your review, Matt. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us over the Bizz Johnson Marathon weekend. We're pretty fond of the fresh waffles AND the biscuits and gravy ourselves. We're always glad to hear our guests are taking advantage of our amenities be it the pool and spa area or the extra shower rooms for our runners. We're always happy to hear about our guests experiences here with us as it allows us to find ways we can improve and to know where we are doing well. Hope this message finds you and yours happy and healthy and we hope to see you staying here with us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
409 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

There were six couples all arriving about the same time. Because High County Inn was completely booked and we thought the breakfast room would be loud and full of people, upon arriving we inquired with the friendly front desk if we could use there large conference room for breakfast. They kindly agreed. We all wanted to sit together and visit before heading our separate ways. It worked out great and there was even a microwave in the conference room for our use. We had our own private party and left the rest of the breakfast area to other people. The breakfast was adequate with waffles, yogurt, sausage gravy and biscuits and something I hadn't seen before, Jimmy Dean sausage egg and cheese bagel that was great. Of course they had all the rest of the breakfast items and breakfast is served between 6 and 9 AM. The rooms were spacious and very well kept...CLEAN! I noticed the windows were washed and the drapes and shears were also clean. The mattress was very comfortable and when I inquired about the mattress in the rooms occupied by our family, they too said the beds were extremely comfortable. I didn't like the pillows, too soft and squashy but one of the other ladies remarked on "how wonderful the pillows were". Guess it's an individual preference. Very quiet at night, no problems with the temperature control and each room had a microwave and frig. There is also a McDonalds and Taco Bell right across the street and Walmart is one block away should you need additional supplies. Great property and we will be staying with them again.

Room Tip: No elevator so if one set of stairs are a problem, book on the bottom floor. We didn't hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your great review! We love hearing our guests have enjoyed their stay and always want to hear they're coming back. As a staff, we strive to give our guests the most comfortable and enjoyable experience possible and are always willing to take those few extra steps to make sure their happiness is treated as a first priority. Glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast and that you and yours found the accommodations pleasing. We can't wait to see you again! Have a great day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was a wonderful hotel for a night. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast in the morning offered a lot of choices. The room was quite comfortable and the entire hotel seemed super clean. the only "negative" was that we had to switch rooms since the first one we were given had a toilet that didn't flush but even that was handled quickly and with good humor. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altadenabirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay even with that minor little hiccup. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness and comfort of our property and as a staff we strive to make each of our guests stay as carefree and relaxing as possible. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
183 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We checked in late in the day. The hotel rooms are in a secure building, free parking for your vehicle. Clean room, clean hall carpet, warm pool, hot spa and a most comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly, gave great advise on questions about the surrounding area. It is near the main highway, but quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your review, Ginny! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully soon! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a good hotel, with plenty of eating establishments nearby. It is easy to get to by car, and on the edge of the city, which has all the necessary services, although a car is needed to get to most of them. The hotel rooms are well equipped, including a fridge and microwave, there is a guest laundry, and small outdoor swimming pool. Susanville is near to a lot of outdoor recreational facilities for all ages.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Not a lot of good choices in Susanville but this was a very good choice. We stayed one night on the way to Albuquerque. Nice access off the highway and clean and comfortable hotel. Nice breakfast in the morning before we hit the road. Great alternative to stay here as opposed to Reno as our next stay was in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAHumboldter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope that you'll choose us again on your next stopover in Susanville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Susanville hotels
2.1 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Trailside Inn
Best Western Trailside Inn
#4 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.0 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 8 in Susanville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Address: 3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA 96130-4569 (Formerly High Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Susanville
Country Inn Susanville
Susanville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing