We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay, Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain Home
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay, Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

After a long drive it was a pleasant place to rest. Good wireless and great bed to sleep on. Clean and the bath was clean as a pen. Front desk lady was very helpful and got us a great rate that made it even better..Wonderful breakfast in the morning and we were on our way......Thanks to the Staff and Motel!

Room Tip: Just let them know what you like and they will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William E, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We're always so glad to hear our guests are pleased with the property. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    79
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
55
75
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We picked the High Country Inn because it looked cleaner and nicer then the other hotels in town. and it was a good choice. nice clean large rooms. pool area was nice and seemed well maintained. If we get a late start to Reno again this is where we will stop.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reflexx68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William E, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review!!! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stop here and can't wait to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosier, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

needed to stop driving...this place has a lovely pool and hot tub the rooms are clean and there is an in house laundry. The breakfast is pretty blah but they do provide fresh fruit. At any rate, there are all the places available across the highway to pick up food and stuff you forgot...We used the free delivery from the pizza place in the parking lot to spoil the children. No get back in the car and cruise about for a restaurant. It's a welcome spot after a long stretch of hiway.

Room Tip: they all seem fine, after all any port in a storm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William E, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you stopped here, we think it's the perfect stop, too!! With free delivery from the Pizza Factory and a dip in the pool, all of our guests can get back on the road well rested, relaxed, and with full bellies too!! Hope to see you on your next trip through town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

For as little time as my friends and I spent in the room I probably could have picked a cheaper hotel/motel in Susanville since we were getting into town late and leaving early the next day but this place had good reviews so I splurged a little.
I had called ahead because we knew we needed a late check-in and there was actually a package being shipped to the hotel that we wanted to make sure got there. Earlier in the day we arrived I actually received a phone call from the hotel to let me know the package had arrived, which I thought was very nice.
When we arrived I asked for a room on the lower level which they accommodated. The only reason I am not giving more stars is that the mini-fridge in the room cycled off and on during the night and being a really light sleeper would wake me up. I almost got up to unplug it at one point because it was pretty loud.
Other than that - if going through Susanville again I'd stay here next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William E, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you chose to stay with us and that you and your friends enjoyed the accommodations here. Our staff are always happy to go the extra mile and love to check in with our guests to make sure their stay is going smoothly. It's part of our small town charm!! Our mini-fridges run on a 24 hour cycle, and unfortunately if they get tampered with the timer goes out of kilter, resulting in noisy fridges at unsightly hours. If you experience this issue during your next stay, notify the front desk attendant. We are staffed 24/7 and they would be happy to help you. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

One night @ the Inn was very pleasant, Room very clean (dated) well appointed, Will add this property to our list of "will come back".
We travel with a service animal, accepted with out problem, signs all over "no pets", Max is a working part of our family & was welcomed. Thank You.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, had a tumbling act practicing on the second, (it got controlled by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartonRix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William E, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review!! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We are always happy to meet any needs of our guests if we are able, be it, accepting service animals, or handling noise complaints. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel was super clean, nice rooms with friendly staff. The only complaint I would have was that the continental breakfast was a let down. Breakfast is from 6:00-10:00AM, we went down at 6:30 and most of the food was already gone and the waffle batter was too watery to make a waffle with. When the front desk was asked to bring out more food they said all they had was out. Besides that small problem I was totally happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie_1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William E, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms and our lovely staff here at High Country, but are sad to hear of your poor experience in the breakfast room. We recently have experienced a bit of turnover with our breakfast room staff, which on occasion has left us under-stocked in breakfast supplies as well as making it necessary for the front desk attendant to man two posts at once. On a busy weekend, like the one you stayed, things can get a little hectic, and unfortunately it showed. Stay with us again, and we promise our breakfast room will be in tiptop shape - fresh coffee and waffles for all!! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

If your not like half the population of Susanville and staying at the local prisons, this is a great option. It's your older drive up two story motel, well maintained, on the edge of town right next to the local Walmart. Up the street a mile is the Pioneer Lounge... By far the best food option.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank jblankfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCI95, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We're glad to hear you were pleased with how this "half" of the town lives. Also very pleased to hear you enjoyed the fare at Lassen Ale Works in the Pioneer Saloon uptown- YUM, right?! We love to direct our guests to other small businesses and small town affairs. Way to go local! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Susanville hotels
2.1 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
#4 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.0 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#2 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#8 of 8 in Susanville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Address: 3015 Riverside Dr, Susanville, CA 96130 (Formerly High Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Susanville
Country Inn Susanville
Susanville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing