We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Take it or Leave it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Western Take it or Leave it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western in Susanville several times while visiting family - what really makes me mad is they charge your card before you even check in - they had it ready for my signature before I got there - people were nice though that was a good thing. I would suggest if you want to stay someplace nice with good food to stay at the Casino - since the Black Bear burnt down you can't get food close by without driving

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    147
    85
    31
    12
See reviews for
107
133
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel is privately owned and keeps to the high standards of Best Westerns. While not a new property, the rooms are immaculate, beds are comfortable, bathrooms are roomy (enough), and management is lovely. Breakfast is included and is typical of the chain...very generous for this kind of hotel. Stay here if you are in or near Susanville.

Room Tip: All seemed fine. We had a regular room, not an upgrade, and it served us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We didn't have anywhere booked this night and was starting to get a bit concerned as to where we would be sleeping that night. We drove into Susanville and didn't really see anywhere that took our fancy but it was too far to drive to find somewhere else. We drove around a bit and came across a Best Western.

This hotel looks a bit dodgy from the outside but the room we were in looked like it had been renovated recently. The room had wooden floorboards as well as wooden/pine draws. The beds were comfy and had plenty of pillows. The sink area was outside of the bathroom but there were 2 sinks which meant there was plenty of space. Overall the room was clean and the furnishings made the room look bright.

There was a small outdoor swimming pool which was very cold and a bit dirty.

The free breakfast was ok. It only offered cold food but it's better than nothing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stopped at the BW Plus Trailside Inn after traveling from Bend, Oregon. After staying at several BW hotels on our 2 week trip we found this hotel to be on a par with the other BW hotels we stayed at. The room was very good, service good & it was nice to see a BW hotel in a town of this size. We enjoyed the breakfast, met some interesting people there & liked the Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwich that we did not see in other BW.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is not a particularly new facility, but it has obviously been very well maintained. Our room was nicely furnished with rustic style pine furniture, which was a pleasant change from the typical hotel room style. Furniture included a desk and chair plus a comfortable chair beside the bed. The dresser was large, with more than the usual number of drawers and correspondingly larger amount of space on top. The dressing area counter included a double sink. All the ground floor rooms, which are the majority, have parking right in front which makes unloading and loading luggage easy. The second floor seemed to be somewhat thin, as we could hear folks walking about in the room above us. Fortunately, the noise level was not exceptionally loud, and did not disrupt our sleep. The sole disappointment was the fact that we discovered in the morning that the shower did not work. When I reported it as we were checking out, one of the desk clerks immediately went to the room to investigate and presumably order repairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFH_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Our first day of a twelve day tour through the desert began with the Trailside Inn. The staff were pleasant and made us welcome. We chose the second floor and the back of this hotel to avoid (both) the heavy trod of feet overhead and highway noises. That worked out well as our stay was quiet - until the 5.7 earthquake took us for a gentle ride! Another in the middle of the night and the last as we were pulling out of the parking lot completed our "Welcome to Susanville"! The room was pleasant, however we paid for our second floor gambit because we couldn't find the elevator. So, we had a bunch of climbing with our several bags. There was no jacuzzi available to sooth our travel aches and pains but this was to be a luxury found at few other Best Western hotels. May 23 was apparently too early for the pool to be open. The breakfast area a bit crowded however the continental breakfast was varied and sufficient enough to let us hit the road for Tonapah and our next Best Western Hotel without stopping again for breakfast. Susanville is a pretty town and the surrounding area offers some outstanding countryside. I hope visitors can take the time to visit the Eagle Lake area taking highway A1. This is a truly beautiful forested side trip and destination resort area at a large and wonderful lake. We will stay here again as the pluses certainly outweighed the few minuses.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillandKate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Susanville hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
1.8 mi away
Diamond Mountain Casino and Hotel
0.7 mi away
River Inn
River Inn
#6 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Susanville
Super 8 Susanville
#1 of 8 in Susanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.5 mi away
Roseberry House Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Diamond View Motel
Diamond View Motel
#7 of 8 in Susanville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn
Address: 2785 Main Street, PO Box 759, Susanville, CA 96130-0759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Susanville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Susanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyday is an adventure when you choose the BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn, with many wonderful places to explore located nearby. Named one of the top towns in which to live in Outdoor Life Magazine, Susanville is an outdoor lovers dream - and this Susanville hotel is the perfect place to call home while exploring the area. From hiking at Lassen Volcanic National Park to fishing at Honey Lake, Eagle Lake or Lake Almanor, there is something for everyone in this picturesque town. The Bizz Johnson Trail, stretching 30 miles, offers world-class mountain biking, hiking, annual marathons and other events. Bird watchers and nature photographers can observe osprey and more in the grounds surrounding the property. You can also enjoy visiting Lassen County Parks and Susanville Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Trailside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Susanville
Susanville Best Western
Best Western Trailside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing