We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Excellence”
Review of Grey Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grey Gables Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The specialty of this place is hospitality with the tea time mid afternoon, wine and cheese, spent with guests together sharing conversation about the region.
The breakfasts were excellent and everything is exceptionally clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank memaw1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our 3 night stay at Grey Gables was a complete joy. The location to Sutter Creek and surrounding areas perfect and the experience of staying in Grey Gables outstanding. Every detail is thought of. We're not flowery décor people, so the Keats room was a good compromise, soothing color, and some fairly understated decoration. Great large shower and nice absorbent towels. Could hear footsteps from above room, but ground floor, easy access from parking area. Breakfasts were delicious and evening wine was a nice time to meet other guests and share days experience of Sierra foothill explorations, of which there are many. Definitely a place we would return to and recommend highly to others

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zenm402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were fortunate to spend two nights at this wonderful B&B in Sutter Creek. We were warmly greeted by Roger & Sue and shown to our chosen room, Tennyson. The room, and entire house, were immaculate spacious and quite. The house itself was larger than we had imagined and was surrounded by many well maintained garden 'rooms'. Grey Gables has been very sympatheticaly enlarged and tastefully decorated by the owners Roger & Sue. The hors d'oeuvres hour was a most welcome chance to meet other guests and enjoy a glass (or two!) of local wine. The breakfasts were to die for, varied, plentiful and delicious. Our only regret is that Grey Gables is not within a few hours drive away otherwise we would be regular visitors. Very well done Sue & Roger, you deserve an award!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank way2go07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I hate to tell people what a great place this is as now I know it will be harder to get a room. My wife and I stayed here on Sept. 6th & 7th 2013. We stayed in the Keats room which was one of the few rooms left. It was on the ground floor near the back door. This room is nice with a large shower stall, gas fireplace and close to parking to bring in your bags. Breakfast each morning was served in the dining room (communal) and it was great. Fruit with homemade bread, and an egg dish. Served coffee, tea and juice. In the afternoon at 3:00 Sue had iced tea, ice cream with berries and a cookie, which was very refreshing. At 6:00 it's wine and cheese in the living room and it's an opportunity to socialize with the rest of the guests. I have no negative comments about this place which is unusual for me. Everything was great and Sue and Roger are great hosts. We spend one day wine tasting and the other day at the car show and chili cook off contest on Main St. in Sutter Creek.

Room Tip: Looked at a couple other rooms but found the Keats the best due to the large shower stall which we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmax25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a fabulous B&B in a convenient location - an easy walk to explore all that Sutter Creek has to offer. The building is wonderful - the paint and décor is beautifully maintained. I can't think of anything negative, but for me the highlights were the location, the wine in the evening (and chatting with the other guests) and the breakfast. The breakfast we a "real" full (and delicious) breakfast. Highly recommend this Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjj89511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We just arrived home after a wonderful stay at the Grey Gables Inn at Sutter Creek. From the gracious welcome to the warm hugs upon good bye, the entire experience was beyond my expectations. The Rosetti room was beautifully appointed with a comfy bed and pillows. The bathroom was large enough for a claw foot tub and shelving for all of our toiletries. The towels were large and fluffy soft. We looked forward to a delicious breakfast every morning served on china. And the tea and dessert followed by wine and cheese in the afternoon was refreshing after a day of sight-seeing. Our experience at the Grey Gables was English hospitality at its finest, thanks to our hosts, Susan and Roger.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuckerandtuscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

There are several reasons this B&B is rated number 1 in Sutter Creek. Beautiful facilities, wonderful breakfast and extra touches such afternoon tea with chocolate cake or a lemon pie as well as evening wine and hors d'oeuvres. Roger and Sue are very gracious hosts who are always trying to please their guests. We have stayed in several other B&Bs in the area over the last 20 years and always keep coming back here. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cflauricella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutter Creek
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
605 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
0.2 mi away
The Foxes Inn
The Foxes Inn
#1 of 6 in Sutter Creek
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hanford House Inn
The Hanford House Inn
#3 of 6 in Sutter Creek
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Gables Inn

Address: 161 Hanford St, Sutter Creek, CA 95685-9502
Region: United States > California > Amador County > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range: £131 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Gables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend for two, or a quiet place to be by yourself…the English charm of The Grey Gables will fit your mood to a TEA. With eight elegantly decorated guestrooms furnished with authentic antiques, each room has air conditioning, a fireplace, and full private baths, some with classic clawfoot tubs. In true English tradition, there’s afternoon tea with cake, evening wine and hor d’oeuvres, and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grey Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing