We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Overnght” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hanford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hanford House Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Great Overnght”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to get away from the Sacramento area for the day and with a good friend, we stayed over at Hanford House and had dinner in Plymouth. The host was excellent and gave us a tour of the room when we checked in. Our room was surprisingly large and modern as the place was recently remodeled. It was very comfortable and had an excellent firm bed. We were next to the main road and made the mistake of leaving our windows open so the traffic was quite noisy. We will know better next time.

I can't imagine a better place to stay up here in the foothills. The town has a lot of charm and this B and B is quite special.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank flextravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
419 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We just got back from a four day stay at Hanford House B&B. The improvements are really, really nice ... but we also really enjoyed the feel of the old Hanford House. I guess we cannot stand in the way of progress.

The place has a much more modern feel, and has a restaurant attached. The old family-televison room is no longer there.

The staff is fantastic, both in the hotel portion and the restaurant. I would highly recommend Hanford House to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. They have cottages available as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DennisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our third stay at Hanford House was fantastic. Recently remodeled rooms and a brand new restaurant. Take advantage of all the new tasting rooms and restaurants in Sutter Creek. Only a short walk from all the comforts of home. As long as the Hanford House has a room available room it's the only place we will stay for an Amador County wine get away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JedNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a first class B & B located on the end of the main drag in Sutter Creek. It is an easy walk to restaurants, shops, etc. The rooms are spacious & quiet with comfortable bed. The B & B was renovated within the last year or so, and everything is sparkling clean. It has a modern feel but just enough antique accents to add a layer of old world charm. Our room had a balcony with a view. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyranno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Wow - the owners have done an amazing job with the renovations! The room was the perfect mix of smoothing colors, plush cal king bed and a beautiful fireplace. Perfect for the rainy afternoon when we were there. It is great to see a young family doing such a great job and we loved meeting Ravi! We have an 8 month old and they had lots of fun playing together. We'll absolutely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennykedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

A group of eleven friends stayed at the Hanford House for Valentine's Day this year. This marks the twelfth year we've annually stayed at the HH.

HH had been closed for a number of months due to a renovation. We were greeted by Robert and Athena, our affable hosts and shown a whole new inn. From the repurposed wood to the reconstituted rooms, the inn has a 21st Century look and feel. Gone are the faux-Victorian fru-fru elements found in most B&B's to be replaced by modern interpretations of inn living.

The total experience was wonderful. By mid-2014, the HH will also feature a full-service restaurant. If you're looking for comfort and rest, I would highly recommend the Hanford House.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

VERY nice stay at this completely remodeled inn. Definitely not a "musty B&B" experience here. The room was great (we stayed in a cabin room). Breakfast was excellent. We will definitely be back.

This was a 24-hour wine tasting getaway, and it would have been great to make it longer. By the way, there's a contemporary gift shop in Sutter Creek, about two blocks down the main drag from this inn, that is one of my favorite shops anywhere. Also, Amador wineries that we keep returning to are Jeff Runquist, Cooper, and Helwig (all of which are about 15 minutes from the inn). And Taste restaurant in Plymouth (10 minutes away) is as good as everyone says it is.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STS030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutter Creek
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Gables Inn
Grey Gables Inn
#2 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Foxes Inn
The Foxes Inn
#1 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hanford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanford House Inn

Property: The Hanford House Inn
Address: 61 Hanford St, Sutter Creek, CA 95685-9503
Region: United States > California > Amador County > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hanford House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn features ten tastefully decorated air conditioned guest rooms, all with full private baths, robes, telephone, cable television, fireplaces, homemade breakfast and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Hanford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hanford House Hotel Sutter Creek
The Hanford House Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing