We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful cottage/horrible hostess” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hanford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hanford House Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage/horrible hostess”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Friends raved about this B&B so we were excited to experience the Hanford House. I made our reservations 2 months in advance and put half down on a $600 stay of only 2 nights. No follow up emails in those two months to ask when we might be checking in or to let us know that check in time wasn't until 3pm. We showed up at 1:30pm and the doors were locked. The hostess, who finally opened the door, was so fake and flat out rude! We're very understanding and would have been happy to check our luggage at the desk, since our ride dropped us off, and disappear until 3pm check in. She wasn't even concerned we had nowhere to put our bags and told us to go shopping and walk the streets!! With our bags!! It's really difficult taking anyone seriously that has a huge, fake smile plastered on her face and every word out of her mouth equated to, sorry, you're out of luck! Especially since we reserved a cottage, one of the most expensive rooms on the property! Absolutely no effort to please her customer or to apologize for no follow up email.

The cottage was beautiful. Until the towel rod fell off the wall because it was glued on, not screwed on, and almost broke my foot. And the jacuzzi tub wall kept falling down, exposing the plumbing.

Every B&B in the past has asked us what we would like for breakfast the day prior. They were prepared for us to arrive and had breakfast started. The mood was always relaxing. Not at the Hanford House. Here you get a certificate for breakfast at their restaurant, which is open to the public. And where you have to wait in line to get a seat with the public. And guess who seated us?? Yes, Fake Girl. Not a genuine bone in her body.

The food was good. The Motherlode omelet was great. The 45 min wait to get our food in an extremely noisy restaurant? Sucked.

Overall, not caring of the customer's experience. And not relaxing at all. I've heard the owner is nice. Maybe too nice to fire Fake Girl. Not recommending to friends and not going back. The Foxes Inn is way primo for nice staff and quiet luxury.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1LuckyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanfordHouseInn, Owner at The Hanford House Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are sorry this customer was so angry with one of our team members at the Front Desk. My wife and I were both present at the Inn when this guest arrived as the small window of time between check-out and check-in is critical to get all of the rooms guest ready and public areas cleaned. Like all other Inns and BnBs in Sutter Creek, check-in time is 3pm unless guests have made prior arrangements. This is relayed to the guests on the phone when they make a reservation and sent to them in a confirmation email. In this particular situation these guests showed up at 1pm after wine tasting and said they were going to wait on our steps until check-in. We offered to hold their luggage at the front desk while the housekeeper still had another hour to complete their room.
Two months ago, our restaurant Element opened to the public. Prior to the restaurant, guests had a prix fixe breakfast while also still being able to accommodate any dietary restrictions. However, now guests get to sit down, order from a full menu and get full service at the restaurant. The overwhelming feedback from return guests is that the breakfast experience has been taken to a new level. All items are made to order from fresh ingredients. Guests staying overnight at the Inn make a breakfast reservation for the following morning at check-in so a table is ready when they arrive. Of course a host naturally welcomes both Inn guests and people from the public when they arrive at the restaurant. This is so we can make sure we are not seating someone in a reserved seat.
We take full responsibility for the towel bar falling off. While the housekeeper was refreshing their room she discovered the towel bar was loose, the set screw on the bracket had broken. When they were out for part of the day on Saturday I tried to get the broken screw to hold with Gorilla Glue in the meantime as we didn’t want to disturb them nor replace the wall brackets should they return and want to relax in their room. A new towel bar was replaced on the Monday morning after they checked out.
Again, we are constantly striving to improve our guest’s experience. However this particular cruel personal attack toward one of our team members was unwarranted. We are often complemented by her professional service and friendliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Recently spent 1 night at Hanford House and wish we could have stayed much longer. The whole place has been remodeled to the highest standards, and the rooms are absolutely gorgeous. We were welcomed with a glass of wine, and given a couple of recommendations for dinner (we ate at the Sutter Hotel which we really enjoyed). Breakfast at Hanford House was really great - the best we had over 2 weeks touring. Look forward to staying again one day - can't wait.

Room Tip: Room 8 was the winner for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the Hanford House six years ago and really enjoyed it and the owners were great. We went back last week and stayed three nights and were blown away at what all they have done. This is not just a bed and breakfast but more like a upscale hotel combined with a very friendly B&B. All of the rooms have been updated and they also added a restaurant. The rooms, food and hospitality were exceptional. We decided this will be an annual trip because of the Hanford House and it's owners. Simply lovely all the way around. Oh and did I say everything is walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to get away from the Sacramento area for the day and with a good friend, we stayed over at Hanford House and had dinner in Plymouth. The host was excellent and gave us a tour of the room when we checked in. Our room was surprisingly large and modern as the place was recently remodeled. It was very comfortable and had an excellent firm bed. We were next to the main road and made the mistake of leaving our windows open so the traffic was quite noisy. We will know better next time.

I can't imagine a better place to stay up here in the foothills. The town has a lot of charm and this B and B is quite special.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank flextravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
421 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We just got back from a four day stay at Hanford House B&B. The improvements are really, really nice ... but we also really enjoyed the feel of the old Hanford House. I guess we cannot stand in the way of progress.

The place has a much more modern feel, and has a restaurant attached. The old family-televison room is no longer there.

The staff is fantastic, both in the hotel portion and the restaurant. I would highly recommend Hanford House to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. They have cottages available as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DennisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our third stay at Hanford House was fantastic. Recently remodeled rooms and a brand new restaurant. Take advantage of all the new tasting rooms and restaurants in Sutter Creek. Only a short walk from all the comforts of home. As long as the Hanford House has a room available room it's the only place we will stay for an Amador County wine get away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JedNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a first class B & B located on the end of the main drag in Sutter Creek. It is an easy walk to restaurants, shops, etc. The rooms are spacious & quiet with comfortable bed. The B & B was renovated within the last year or so, and everything is sparkling clean. It has a modern feel but just enough antique accents to add a layer of old world charm. Our room had a balcony with a view. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyranno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutter Creek
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amador Inn
0.1 mi away
Grey Gables Inn
Grey Gables Inn
#2 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Foxes Inn
The Foxes Inn
#1 of 6 in Sutter Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hanford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanford House Inn

Property: The Hanford House Inn
Address: 61 Hanford St, Sutter Creek, CA 95685-9503
Region: United States > California > Amador County > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hanford House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn features ten tastefully decorated air conditioned guest rooms, all with full private baths, robes, telephone, cable television, fireplaces, homemade breakfast and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Hanford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hanford House Hotel Sutter Creek
The Hanford House Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing