We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites”
Review of The Foxes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Foxes Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Sutter Creek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lompoc, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Foxes Inn is our favorite place to stay whenever we travel the Sierra Gold Country. We just spent a relaxing night being pampered and made to feel like family. Wendy handled our reservations and Renie welcomed us and made sure we had everything we needed. Our room was warm and ready for us to unpack and settle in. Breakfast at Foxes is always special and this trip was no exception. Already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
138
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Discovery Bay, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Foxes for my son's wedding. Actually, there were several of us who stayed there and found this B and B perfectly charming. The staff was more than hospitable and helpful. The rooms are all different and furnished with beautiful antiques, some with fireplaces. The rooms are impeccable with great attention to detail. We were served breakfast in our room that was delicious and beautifully presented. We rarely stay at B and B's except when we travel to Europe, but we are already planning a return trip to the Foxes and know what room we want to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were given a Gift Certificate fox The Foxes Inn for Christmas last year and took advantage of it last month. We spent two days at this lovely B&B and found it even more gratifying than we had some 20 years ago. Our room was very comfortably furnished and the bathroom immaculate. The breakfast, which we elected to have on the patio, was truly one of the finest we have had at any of the B&Bs we have stayed with.
Wendy, the Inn Keeper, is a charmer and right on top of any problem one would encounter. We had three minor problems (TV not working, bathroom sink slowly draining and night light not working). When we left for the day we told Wendy about them and , behold!, all had been rectified when we got back that afternoon.
Our only complaint is that the TV was situated in an armoire kitty corner at the foot of the bed. It made watching it difficult unless you were in bed. But, for us, it wasn't too big a problem as we seldom watch in bed. (Prefer to read).
Hope we can return soon. This is our place of choice in Sutter Creek. Thanks to all the staff for a great two days!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkalanNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Foxes Inn is a fabulous place to stay. The Inn is filled with charm and character. We were able to view several rooms before we made our choice and it was a tough decision. Some rooms have fireplaces, others have claw footed tubs as well as showers and they all have beautiful antique furniture. The whole property is well maintained and immaculate . We felt like we could have been in the English countryside. Cookies and coffee when you check in and a scrumptious breakfast in the morning. You can eat in your room or outside, weather permitting, which we did. The menu choices and the presentation were incredible. The staff was outstanding! They really made our stay special!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at The Foxes Inn recently on a Gift Certificate, and had to reschedule many times, and each time, Wendy was very gracious about postponing our visit. When we finally arrived, she was so happy to meet us, we were treated like family. We were offered fresh baked cookies and hot coffee and tea on arrival. We were given a card for one of the tasting rooms in downtown Sutter Creek, but by the time we headed out on our walk on Main St, everything was closed, so we noticed during the week, its pretty quiet after 3pm. We stayed in the Garden Room, and were very impressed with how beautiful the room was, overlooking the gorgeous gardens & patio. Wendy found us sitting at the patio table relaxing and turned the fountain on for us to enjoy.
The Foxes Inn is very nice, quaint, and beautiful and you are made to feel like family. The breakfast, which is served at a time chosen by yourself at check in, is absolutely amazing! We had chosen the oatmeal & muffins and the swiss eggs dish. We enjoyed visiting Sutter Creek, and would recommend anyone to go stay at Foxes Inn for a quiet break from fast paced lifestyles.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

What a wonderful place to spend a weekend! The staff was fantastic; they treated us like long lost friends. We ate our breakfast in the garden; great gourmet breakfast . Our room was clean and comfortable. Relax; relax with your choice of beverage while sitting on the porch. The cookies were were freshly baked after we completed our breakfast menu upon our arrival in the afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

After not staying at Foxes for numerous years I took a respite and did a solo stay in July, 2013. I was SO disappointed in the condition of my room, which was the Garden Room. It was dirty, dusty and had red slimy mold in the shower. I was horrified to find that the bathroom blinds did not fit the window correctly and at night when the light was on you could see straight into the bathroom, including a full shot of the toilet! I sent a letter, with proof of what I had found and email as well. To date, 5 weeks later, not one word from the Staff or Owner. Things certainly have changed at Foxes and NOT for the better!!! I WILL NOT be back. If I had heard back from anyone at Foxes I would have, at the very least, been willing to give it another try.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxesInnnewowners, Manager at The Foxes Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for your feeback regarding your stay. We value any comments and take our guests requests and suggestions very seriously. We appreciate your long term devotion to the Foxes Inn and would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again. I apologize you did not recieve a response to your initial concerns, unfortunately the PO Box that your letter was sent to is no longer owned by the Inn. The Inn has had the same PO Box for over 25 years, and we are currently in the process of replacing any literature that does not have the current information. I was not informed of your email until September 5th. I would have been pleased to assist you with any concerns during your stay, but nothing was mentioned to me, or my staff. We will be working on correcting the issues you have mentioned and hope you will reconsider a visit with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutter Creek
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
71 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Amador Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grey Gables Inn
Grey Gables Inn
#2 of 6 in Sutter Creek
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hanford House Inn
The Hanford House Inn
#3 of 6 in Sutter Creek
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foxes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foxes Inn

Property: The Foxes Inn
Address: 77 Main St, Sutter Creek, CA 95685-4175
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Amador County > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Foxes Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate boutique B&B specializing in fine service, the inn is surrounded by lovely, well manicured gardens. Seven guest rooms transition from the elegant to the cozy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Foxes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing