We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly staff, great for weddings”
Review of Hotel Sutter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sutter
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sutter Creek
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly staff, great for weddings”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had our wedding at a local vineyard. Coordinated with Hotel Sutter for guest lodging, rehearsal dinner, and shuttle. Staff was extremely professional. Helped us every step of the way. Went above and beyond. The rehearsal dinner was EXCELLENT. Made in house - everything was fresh and delicious. All of our guests were extremely satisfied with the hotel and loved the shuttle they provide to and from the wedding venue (as wine was obviously featured). We even had report that an excellent after-party was had by all at the downstairs bar that is open late. Would highly recommend them for any of your wedding needs.

Room Tip: If having a private bathroom is important- make sure your room comes with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, General Manager at Hotel Sutter, responded to this review, 27 March 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with Hotel Sutter, I appreciate knowing that the staff went above and beyond to leave lasting impressions. We look forward to your return visit.

Thank you,

Ryan Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
9
40
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Making our way down Hwy 49 on an "antique run" we fell in love with Sutter Creek. Antique shops and wine tasting, so we decided to stay and noticed the Sutter Hotel . We stopped in and checked on availability. The hotel presented an exceptional restaurant. We have had bad experiences with hotel restaurants but this one was a pleasant surprise. A great burger for lunch and salmon for dinner and the price was reasonable. The food was FRESH! and NOT the frozen tv dinner BS one can be blindsided with. The food was delicious. The room was large and The bed was comfortable and the bathroom while small was updated and clean and the style fit the hotel. We left with a smile on our face. We were greeted by a friendly young lady who allowed us to look at the room before we booked and we fell in love with the old hotel. very nice and thank you Sutter Hotel! we were there on friday 12-27-13. We are the type of couple that notice the big and small things and the Sutter Hotel left us with no complaints and satisfaction.

Room Tip: smile and relax you'll love this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowchasers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, General Manager at Hotel Sutter, responded to this review, 27 March 2015
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while in Sutter Creek. I am pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as your experience in our dining room. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff here and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Ryan Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is in historic downtown Sutter Creek. Now billed as the Hotel Sutter, it has was Bellotti's Inn since I was a small boy growing up there. My wife and I stayed there on a Saturday night during "Winefest" 2013. The room was small, but nicely remodeled. Several things just did not make for a pleasant stay. 1. We were awakened at 3:30 am by pigeons roosting on the tin roof outside the window. They were making loud scratching sounds on the tin and loud cooing noises throughout the night. Nice for bird watching, bad for sleep. 2. Separate hot & cold spigots on brand new bathroom sink. This gave us either scalding hot water or ice cold water, no comfortable balance. I would think the owners of a "fine lodging" establishment would not overlook such a basic comfort. 3. Puny TV below bed level. Impossible to watch a 14 inch TV mounted below bed level without getting a neck ache. 4. No guest robes. The website advertised "robes in each room". On the upside, the dining room did put out some nice food. Although very noisy, the food was top quality. My wife had a very flavorful and fresh seafood pasta dish with perfectly cooked tagliatelli, and I had a perfectly cooked fillet mignon with caramelized onions and a nice demi glace. I would recommend the restaurant, not so much the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan A, General Manager at Hotel Sutter, responded to this review, 27 March 2015
I apologize that your stay was not the experience you were expecting.I have addressed these issues with my staff. We will use this as a training tool to better service our guest. It is our desire to give you the best stay possible and as a team we will do better.

Thank you,

Ryan Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sutter Creek hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutter Creek
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
569 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Amador Inn
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grey Gables Inn
Grey Gables Inn
#2 of 6 in Sutter Creek
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Foxes Inn
The Foxes Inn
#1 of 6 in Sutter Creek
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sutter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sutter

Property: Hotel Sutter
Address: 53 Main St, Sutter Creek, CA 95685-4175 (Formerly The American Exchange Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Amador County > Sutter Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sutter Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sutter 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sutter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing