We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Beautiful views!!!”
Review of Chinquapin

Chinquapin
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chinquapin
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Nice, clean and quite, we enjoyed our stay for a week. You can not get a better location. A little expensive but worth it for all of the amenities the place offers. the front office people are not the best but we only had a few questions for them. We decided to just explore on our own in tow

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audi1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
There are newer reviews for Chinquapin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

We rented a three-bedroom three-floor unit. Gorgeous views! We used the unit for winter use only. Unit was pleasantly equipped and decently furnished, but not super-luxury as we had been told. FOR WINTER RENTERS, here are some caveats:
1) electric heat can cost a fortune. Get estimates on what it will cost to heat, we kept thermostat set to 65 and it was still pricier than you would care to think.
2). Cable TV, Internet all were additional and not cheap. House featured a 25" TV, a cheap feature for a unit that cost us what it did. Small televisions in one other bedroom was nice, but again, tiny, old televisions from 25 years ago.
3). Washing machine was old, small and often didn't work right. It was one of those upper and lower combo units from the 80s. It could not wash blankets, something we didn't appreciate. Management told us that owner would correct that problem (poor operation) in the summer.
4) Bed and furnishings were good, but linens were minimal. Mattresses were good, no issues here. One of the bedrooms had a nice spacious stall shower with tumbled marble walls, a nice touch.
5). Kitchen was well-equipped, but a cheap toaster made smoke when used and burned our hands after two slices were toasted. All appliances worked well. There were ample dishes and silverware for up to eight people. Pots and pans were good, better than usual, we might add.
6). We did not appreciate being charged $175 for cleaning fee. We left the unit in spotless condition, and there was no refund for us when we complained.
7). Parking for many units may require a long walk of 30-40 yards or more (stairs also!) a nuisance when carrying bundles, equipment or luggage. Other units offered protected parking underneath, a benefit whenever it may snow. Make note of this when considering what unit you think you're going to rent.

Chinquapin units were built in late 70s or early 80s, and are not energy efficient. They may boast a fireplace, but we found our fireplace to be only a little aesthetic. Parked in the corner, it was maybe an architectural after-thought, as Chinquapin was more or less probably developed as a summer retreat. We were disturbed by the fact that the moment the electric ($$$$$) heat is turned off, the unit got cold very quickly. Be cautious when selecting a unit as to how it's heated. For north lake resorts like Squaw or Alpine Meadows, Chinquapin is okay, in terms of distance. However, as we said in the header, it's the little things that detract from the overall value. For two weeks we kept the unit at 70 degrees, the electric bill was $700. That translates to almost $1500 for one month and it wasn't even that cold (December). Next year, we're going to be tougher negotiators.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Too bad that one of the best places on the lake is so poorly run. Our unit, # 78 was boiling hot. I complained to the front desk and they told me that all of the units are the same. This is not true. Some are much cooler than others. They gave me a fan which was a joke. At $2900 a week for 2 bedrooms, you wouD think the manager would be more accommodating. Oh and be prepared. No wi fi. Very out dated. They also advertise that they take Amex but when I presented my card, they told me they no longer take, that is was too expensive. Wish I knew thar before I booked. There are a lot of rules and the home owners do not seem friendly toward the renters. Maybe they should just turn it into a retirement community!

Room Tip: If younwant a decent unit you will have to huge $$$. even with that, you get crappy soap and lousy t...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vabene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Chinquapin has a beautiful setting and some of the condos are very comfortable, others just OK, but being at Tahoe with that great setting is super worthwhile. Chinquapin is off the highway and quiet and there is a mile of shoreline with little walking and biking paths along the lake and networked in the woods between units. The beach has sand but not into the lake, the pier is fun, if you're ok on the small rounded rocks you can swim in the lake anywhere, the pool is gorgeous surrounded by huge evergreen trees and for tennis players it is excellent.

Room Tip: ask to see inside photos because all the units are a little different inside
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoughtonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Alamo, CA
238
Reviewed 9 March 2004

We choose a one bedroom so we could enjoy a view of the lake. The problem was that we were on the bottom floor in room 161 and the upstairs occupant came running down the stairs about 30 minutes after we arrived to tell us to please keep it down. It was 7:30pm when we arrived and the children were excited to see snow on the deck and we were moving luggage and getting settled. After telling us that we were screaming, (she must never have heard us scream before because we certainly were not screaming) she informed us that she was a permanent resident and that she would be telling someone about her problem with us. Oh well. The construction is not very solid so even when the children walked around, you could feel vibrations on the floor. She made our first impression of the place very unfavorable.

The condo was nice and comfortable and the sofa bed was so comfy that we traded with the children on the second night. The kitchen had everything we needed and the entertainment center had a DVD & VCR.

For the price we paid, $550 total for 2 nights, it seems unreasonable that we had to put dishes in the dishwasher, towels in the laundry and take out our garbage. It would cost an additional $30/day if we wanted cleaning service. YIKES!

We enjoyed the place and will try a 2 bedroom next time. The 2 bedrooms look like they have mountain views and no upstairs or downstairs neighbors.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
4.7 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
6.6 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,875 reviews
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#4 of 7 in Tahoe City
74 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
898 reviews
2.5 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinquapin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinquapin

Address: 3600 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tahoe City
Price Range: £157 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chinquapin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Chinquapin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing