We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cottages by the lake”
Review of Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottage Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottages by the lake”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in the Dreamcatcher room as part of a road trip. The place is magical and I loved our room, really nicely furnished to a theme without feeling 'themed'. A really relaxing environment and the lake pebble beach is just through the private access gate with the neighbouring Sunnyside just a short stroll away for an evening meal. Tahoe centre is about a 10 min drive but there's bike and boat hire nearby plus a supermarket. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    29
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
140
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We chose Tahoe City for our family vacation (kids are 19 and 21) because we were looking for peace and quiet with natural beauty, and the Cottage Inn looked like an interesting place to stay. We made the right choice all the way around! We booked the Game Room for the kids (it has separate beds) and the adjoining Enchanted Cottage for ourselves. Lovely woodland setting, private beach access, cozy rooms, very nice bathrooms, all decorated with flair. But the really great part is the friendly, homey vibe--like an upscale bed-and-breakfast. Delicious cooked breakfasts, wine and snacks in the evening. Would certainly return! (Note--no kids under 12, which was fine by us!)

Room Tip: Look at the options on the website--or do what we did, and call and talk to the manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller201346637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The friendliness of the owners, the charming atmosphere, location, cleanliness, and access to a private park and beach on Lake Tahoe made for a wonderful stay! The opportunity to mingle with other guests at happy hour and during breakfast was a bonus, coupled with good food and wine. We already have recommended the Cottage Inn to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DG2014605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in June and wish it could have been longer. Lake Tahoe is stunning, and having beach access from our cottage was a wonderful advantage. Our cottage, Evergreen, was so cozy, yet had all the modern amenities we needed. Breakfasts were hearty and delicious. We looked forward to happy hour on the patio every evening at 5:00. This is just a lovely place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Happydaze32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This place was amazing and we were sad to leave. We stayed in the cottage inn cabin and it was so cute. The decor is amazing, there's a see through fire from the bedroom to the living space. The bathroom was amazing. The hotel is located a three minute drive to the Main Street of Tahoe. I would suggest to stay here over staying at kings beach, incline village etc which are a good 15 min drive from Tahoe and don't have much around them restaurant and shop wise. This b&b has private beach access with bbqs and kayak for use, along with a jetty. The owner of the b&b is so friendly, at five o'clock every day she would bring me and my husband cocktails under the trees and even drove us into town for dinner one night. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pengu_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Cottage Inn was our honeymoon destination and we were blessed to be able to stay 4 nights here. We did NOT want to leave! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the Inn Keeper (Angela) and she was wonderful and very welcoming and showed us around the breathtaking property. We stayed in the Romantic Hideaway and as we entered into our room we were in awe at how warm, quaint and romantic our cottage was. We felt like it was our very own Hobbit home! The entire Inn was just absolutely adorable! We spent wonderful evenings by the warm fire and soaked in the huge Japanese soaking tub. The bed was sooooo comfortable that we are going to get the exact bedding for our home. Angela went out of her way a few times to help us with our questions and even made a special pot of coffee for us late in the evening. Breakfast was served every morning and ever morning the food was delicious. This place is just so magical and beautiful that you will not be disappointed! We are definitely going back on our anniversary and we can't wait!!!! Thank you for making our honeymoon so very special and memorable!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambrulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We just returned from a 3 day weekend here & can't believe that, as many times as we have been to Tahoe, we finally made a point to stay here! Well, I can definately say we will be back! This place is really quaint, affordable & in great location in Sunnyside. The bike path & Sunnyside restaurant/patio were both walking distance away, and you get private beach access while staying here! That was a definate plus for us, especially since we had the beach & dock to ourselves the first night, for a nice romantic sunset glass of wine. You can book the grills in park ahead of time, so plan to bring picnic stuff & make use of the beach area! We stayed in the Rustic Retreat room, which had a fireplace, good shower, toiletries, hair dryer & yes, the room has a TV (small) with both VHS & DVD player. The office has DVDs you can use if you don't bring your own. And did I mention, they even provided flannel sleep shirts? LOL too cute! You can get wireless internet in the rooms now too, but the signal is weak. But who cares! Is that really why you go to Tahoe?? Breakfast is included each day & was pretty darn good: quiche one morning & egg stratta the next.. They bake fresh cookies each day & every evening serve wine & some appys. Ok, maybe nothing stellar there, but the staff was super friendly, and always willing to accomodate: they offered to let us use their grill utensils & basic herbs & spices if we wanted to grill at the beach, so we wouldn't have to buy our own and even let my husband sweet talk them into warming up some late night cookies, after we missed Happy Hour. He is such a weasel. ;) We loved the hammocks & chairs scattered around the grounds and overall, had a great stay. I feel the prices are reasonable for the location & a much better option than some of the other cheap hotels in Tahoe City, if you don't rent a house. The road noise can be bothersome if you like to sleep in, so look on the grounds map online when you book & pick a place further back if you want to. We will be back!

Room Tip: if road noise bothers you, look on the website at the grounds map to help you pick a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
0.2 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
5.2 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
847 reviews
2.5 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn

Property: Cottage Inn
Address: 1690 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottage Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn,located 2 miles south of Tahoe City,is a cluster of charming cottages with an 'old Tahoe' feel but 'todays' amenities.All rooms have private shower bathrooms, gas fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, seating area, some with a 2 person bathtub for special occasions.A full breakfast is served every morning (included in stay) in the main lodge as well as cookies and snacks/wine in the evenings.Our guests have access to a private beach adjacent to our property,bike path southbound or northbound can be picked up behind the property.Secure bike storage onsite.Boat/kayak/paddle board rental nearby.Many restaurants easily to be reached within a few minutes.We are located close to major ski resorts like Homewood,Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing