We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put off by booking experience”
Review of Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottage Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2008

I really liked the looks and reviews of cottage inn and was hoping to book a cottage suite for 2 days in Thanksgiving. I was put off by the booking experience. We were 3 people trying to stay in one room. The lady who answered did not seem to really care to see if there were ways in which we could be accomodated. Apparently they will not allow 3 people to stay in one suite. I wish this was mentioned much more clearly in their web page (it is vaguely mentioned). I asked if it was just their policy or if it was something they were recommending us not to do for our convenience. She made some joke about how it was impossible for 3 people to sleep on a queen bed and how their suites will just not accommodate 3 people. I said we could adjust and perhaps bring our own portable bed for the extra person. She seemed to laugh at this. On the whole, we were really looking forward to staying here but were put off by the owners way of talking and their policies.

Stayed: November 2008
2  Thank revel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2008

The Cottage Inn is comfortable and friendly. The cottages are cozy and romantic, although most of the cottages have at least one common wall with an adjacent cottage so this could be an issue if you'd rather have the privacy of a stand-alone cabin. The Cottage Inn has an excellent location for many activities. For example, you can walk to the restaurant and bar at the Sunnyside Lodge. It is a short drive to Tahoe City, hiking, skiing, etc. The hostess was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was served in the common dining room as was reasonably good, but nothing special. The prices here are reasonable for what you get - very good location & comfort. My wife and I stayed in one of the cottages with the large tubs for two, which was a worthwhile splurge for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

We booked this hotel for the weekend and it was so cute and charming, I instantly fell in love with it. It is not your typical B&B as the cabins are part of duplexes, so there is much more privacy -- it feels like your own personal and cozy hideaway in the woods. They are done in an outdoor theme -- ours had a log bed and lots of "bear" items, and has a gas fireplace as the heat source, which made it feel very cozy. They also have a private beach that the guests have access to. And the staff was very friendly and even delivered a complimentary bottle of wine to us on the night of our wedding. The breakfast was very tasty and filling as well.

It far exceeded my expectations and I would definitely stay there again if I were in Tahoe.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lesliegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

Based on the great reviews herein and the Cottage Inn's website, I called to see what reservations were available in upcoming periods.

There is no on-line reservation facility. Which is ordinarily fine. However, the person I spoke with sounded rushed and impatient in their tone. Person was keen on explaining how popular the place was but not much else, and I felt that I was being a pest having them check multiple dates.

If they can't be warm to potential guests then for that kind of money, I am looking elsewhere. There's a reason people stay at B&B's rather than large hotels.....

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
5  Thank twoworlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2006

After the family cabin in Tahoe was sold, my husband and I have been on a mission to find a place where we can relax and enjoy the beauty of Lake Tahoe. We found it at the Cottage Inn. We stayed in the Sail Inn located in the new Bear Lodge. The room was spacious and quiet, and within walking distance to the beach. And the breakfast was one of the best we have been served at a B & B. Susi and her staff are wonderful and we look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2006

We just came back from staying 4 nights at the Cottage Inn, and we had an excellent time there.
The service, the comfort of the cottage (we stayed in the Enchanted Cottage) and of the lodge, the ratio price/quality all made it a very enjoyable experience.
There are books (mostly fiction), magazines (mostly people or fashion), the daily newspaper to read in the lodge, and also mulled wine to drink by the fire... As well as video tapes to borrow for a night and play on your VCR.
It's authentic without being (too) cheezy.
The quality of the breakfast depended on who our hostess was, but overall very filling and tied us for almost a whole day of skiing.
Water, tea and coffee were available in the Lodge at all times, highly appreciated after a walk in the snow without much else to drink but... snow!
During the winter though, one minus -- the lack of heating in our bathroom (in the Enchanted cottage)... Very powerful hair dryer and complimentary soaps, shower gel and shampoo. All a nice touch that made the stay even nicer... as if our hosts really had gone out of their way to make us feel at home.
One last thing -- I don't know how the place would feel in the Summer as it is quite dark and doesn't let much light in. It didn't bother us as we were out skiing most of the day and didn't hang around in the room too much during daylight.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tijulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2005

We stayed here for four nights. Three in the "Romantic Hideaway" room, one in the "Cowboy Romance " room. The romantic hideaway, is great and the internet does not do justice to this place. It is fantastic. There was a huge jacuzi in the room made out of rock with a waterfall. You can step down into it, and sit on a built in bench. My Husband and I really enjoyed it. It is very roomy and I can't say enough about it. You also have a bathroom with a shower too. The canopy bed was great, and you have a tv with a video player. The fireplace is great too. The breakfast they serve, is a full breakfast in their dinning area in the lodge. Very delicious, some mornings you had french toast and sausage, other eggs and bacon, and potatoes. They served a very delicious fresh fruit parfait one morning too, with eggs and bacon and potatoes and toast. Nice sitting area with fireplace there too, and lots of books and video's to take to your room. They give you free wine, and the most delicious cookies every afternoon. The Cowboy room was fantastic. Very large and roomy. Big walk in shower with large tile. But, no jacuzi. We loved this room too, and it had a dvd and a video player with the tv and a refrigerator. We had a nice view of the woods and we could see the lake from this room. We can't wait to go back and try the other rooms. 4 star all the way. The owners and staff are great.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lovetraveling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
5.2 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
2,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
5.7 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
1 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
547 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#4 of 7 in Tahoe City
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn

Address: 1690 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range: £128 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottage Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn,located 2 miles south of Tahoe City,is a cluster of charming cottages with an 'old Tahoe' feel but 'todays' amenities.All rooms have private shower bathrooms, gas fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, seating area, some with a 2 person bathtub for special occasions.A full breakfast is served every morning (included in stay) in the main lodge as well as cookies and snacks/wine in the evenings.Our guests have access to a private beach adjacent to our property,bike path southbound or northbound can be picked up behind the property.Secure bike storage onsite.Boat/kayak/paddle board rental nearby.Many restaurants easily to be reached within a few minutes.We are located close to major ski resorts like Homewood,Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing