We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the reservation put me off”
Review of Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottage Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Just the reservation put me off”
Reviewed 27 July 2006

Based on the great reviews herein and the Cottage Inn's website, I called to see what reservations were available in upcoming periods.

There is no on-line reservation facility. Which is ordinarily fine. However, the person I spoke with sounded rushed and impatient in their tone. Person was keen on explaining how popular the place was but not much else, and I felt that I was being a pest having them check multiple dates.

If they can't be warm to potential guests then for that kind of money, I am looking elsewhere. There's a reason people stay at B&B's rather than large hotels.....

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank twoworlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    29
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
140
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
529 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2006

After the family cabin in Tahoe was sold, my husband and I have been on a mission to find a place where we can relax and enjoy the beauty of Lake Tahoe. We found it at the Cottage Inn. We stayed in the Sail Inn located in the new Bear Lodge. The room was spacious and quiet, and within walking distance to the beach. And the breakfast was one of the best we have been served at a B & B. Susi and her staff are wonderful and we look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2006

We just came back from staying 4 nights at the Cottage Inn, and we had an excellent time there.
The service, the comfort of the cottage (we stayed in the Enchanted Cottage) and of the lodge, the ratio price/quality all made it a very enjoyable experience.
There are books (mostly fiction), magazines (mostly people or fashion), the daily newspaper to read in the lodge, and also mulled wine to drink by the fire... As well as video tapes to borrow for a night and play on your VCR.
It's authentic without being (too) cheezy.
The quality of the breakfast depended on who our hostess was, but overall very filling and tied us for almost a whole day of skiing.
Water, tea and coffee were available in the Lodge at all times, highly appreciated after a walk in the snow without much else to drink but... snow!
During the winter though, one minus -- the lack of heating in our bathroom (in the Enchanted cottage)... Very powerful hair dryer and complimentary soaps, shower gel and shampoo. All a nice touch that made the stay even nicer... as if our hosts really had gone out of their way to make us feel at home.
One last thing -- I don't know how the place would feel in the Summer as it is quite dark and doesn't let much light in. It didn't bother us as we were out skiing most of the day and didn't hang around in the room too much during daylight.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tijulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte Rio, Calif.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2005

We stayed here for four nights. Three in the "Romantic Hideaway" room, one in the "Cowboy Romance " room. The romantic hideaway, is great and the internet does not do justice to this place. It is fantastic. There was a huge jacuzi in the room made out of rock with a waterfall. You can step down into it, and sit on a built in bench. My Husband and I really enjoyed it. It is very roomy and I can't say enough about it. You also have a bathroom with a shower too. The canopy bed was great, and you have a tv with a video player. The fireplace is great too. The breakfast they serve, is a full breakfast in their dinning area in the lodge. Very delicious, some mornings you had french toast and sausage, other eggs and bacon, and potatoes. They served a very delicious fresh fruit parfait one morning too, with eggs and bacon and potatoes and toast. Nice sitting area with fireplace there too, and lots of books and video's to take to your room. They give you free wine, and the most delicious cookies every afternoon. The Cowboy room was fantastic. Very large and roomy. Big walk in shower with large tile. But, no jacuzi. We loved this room too, and it had a dvd and a video player with the tv and a refrigerator. We had a nice view of the woods and we could see the lake from this room. We can't wait to go back and try the other rooms. 4 star all the way. The owners and staff are great.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lovetraveling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2005

I stayed in the "Old Fishing Hole" room for two nights. Although the room was small, and the bathroom even smaller, it had a fireplace and comfy double bed, just right for me as I was travelling solo. The breakfast was gourmet and the grounds like a fairy tale setting. I hopped on my bike each morning, right onto the path that followed the lake shore. Also enjoyed dinner one night at Sunnyside - walking distance. A delightful stay!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2005

Every inch of The Cottage Inn is absolutely adorable. It is the little-cabin-in-woods you’ve dreamed of, and a wonderful spot from which to explore the Lake Tahoe area. If it’s all about the setting, then this is your place. Our experience was pleasant and memorable, even though the weather was unseasonable warm.
When we arrived at our cabin, “Home Suite Home”, it was stuffy and warm inside, so we opened the windows and turned on the ceiling fans. The fan above the bed made a ticking sound, which would have kept me up all night. I mentioned it to the girl at the front desk, and her attitude was adequate, but not personable. Yet, when we returned from dinner, the fan had been quieted. The night temperature dropped to somewhere in the forties, and with the windows open and a soft quilt on the comfortable although squeaky bed, we slept well. It was very peaceful and quiet until seven in the morning, when someone’s car alarm went off behind our cabin.
Our cabin had two small rooms, a bedroom and living room, separated by a massive stone, see-thru fireplace. I imagine this is a nice feature in the winter, but on a hot July day, it was rather useless and made the rooms feel a little cramped, or some might say, cozy. The style is very reminiscent of a 1940’s cabin, with tongue in grove paneling covering the walls and ceilings. We had hoped to do some writing on our laptops, but there was no desk. The bathroom was small but clean and efficient, with sufficient towels, although some were frayed. I took a soak in the Jacuzzi tub for two, which dominates half the living room, and there was plenty of hot water and the little fragrant oil packets were a nice touch.
My husband has to be connected to the Internet for his job, and was not happy with their wireless connection, which was difficult to access and only available in the lodge area. The front desk girl found printed instructions, but there was no one on staff able to provide technical support. After several frustrating hours, he was able to get his e-mail. If you are just going here for a vacation, this is probably irrelevant.
The grounds are well maintained and reflect the natural beauty of the forest, with towering pine trees, flowerbeds and window boxes in bloom. The cabins are clustered amid the pines and around a spacious lawn with Adirondack and twig chairs grouped here and there. A hammock between two boulders invites one to a nap, and there is a waterfall trickling into a small pond by the lodge deck; all in all, a very picturesque, woodland setting.
The décor inside and out is quaint mountain lodge and each unit so unique it is hard to decide which cabin to stay in. As I strolled the grounds I was impressed with the attention to detail. The newest unit has carved bears crawling up the porch and raiding through the window and another one had carved raccoons popping out the chimney.
Breakfast is served on the deck overlooking the grounds or inside the charming lodge, and both mornings we enjoyed a two-course breakfast in the outdoor setting. There was no choice, but the dishes were tasty and plentiful. Only one newspaper was available, and the guests were supposed to share it, but did not.
For exploring the area, the location was ideal. It was away from the traffic clogged, hectic atmosphere of Tahoe City, but we were able to easily drive the two miles to town when needed. We drove around the beautiful blue waters of Lake Tahoe, the Lake Of The Sky, which took about three hours due to the traffic, but the views of the lake and mountains were spectacular. We browsed the basket of menus provided in the lodge and found a great restaurant “The Old Range Steak House”, which I highly recommend to all steak lovers. My husband’s strip steak was the size of a pot roast, and the atmosphere was also in keeping with the old mountain lodge look that is so popular in this locale.
Although there are many other hotels and motels around, The Cottage Inn captures the ambience of Lake Tahoe perfectly.

Helpful?
2 Thank sticktogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 March 2005

Stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon in the brand new Dreamweaver suite.
Beautiful room, goegeous grounds, wonderful people, just a half block from the lake and one block from boat and jet ski rentals. Couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
0.2 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
5.2 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
8.6 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
2.5 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn

Property: Cottage Inn
Address: 1690 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottage Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage Inn,located 2 miles south of Tahoe City,is a cluster of charming cottages with an 'old Tahoe' feel but 'todays' amenities.All rooms have private shower bathrooms, gas fireplaces, TV/VCR/DVD, seating area, some with a 2 person bathtub for special occasions.A full breakfast is served every morning (included in stay) in the main lodge as well as cookies and snacks/wine in the evenings.Our guests have access to a private beach adjacent to our property,bike path southbound or northbound can be picked up behind the property.Secure bike storage onsite.Boat/kayak/paddle board rental nearby.Many restaurants easily to be reached within a few minutes.We are located close to major ski resorts like Homewood,Alpine Meadows and Squaw Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing