We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous kind service, spectacular sunrise and sets; the best yet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Hill
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Marvelous kind service, spectacular sunrise and sets; the best yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We spent our 43rd wedding anniversary at delightful Sunnyside. Joe what a charming chap, Matt, and Christie, a lovely hostess, made our two night stay absolutely delightful. We were treated like Royalty by the entire staff, and moon rises, sunrises, views of the lake and associated activities were beyond spectacular. The breakfast nook started our day followed by long walks along the adjoining trail. Views from our lake overlook room and wonderful dinners with accompanying caring service made this an anniversay we'll remember forever. Can hardly wait to get back to Sunnyside and if you go there, don't pass up their SS. Refresh at the bar. and say hi to Joe, Matt and Christie. Gus, Mike & Ginger

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konkerpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    76
    30
    12
    11
See reviews for
63
111
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

The service we experienced was poor and impersonal. The environment was noisy inside and out. Although the room was big enough and built to give some view of the lake, our room mostly looked out over the noisy parking lot. We heard delivery trucks daily and furniture being dragged along the wooden decks below and across from our room. The location is okay if you have a vehicle. There are 27 rooms and they have 3 parking lots, but only 4 or 5 spaces marked for the lodge. The restaurant and bar staff aloof, rude and unapologetic. Our diner was cold and vegetables partially cooked.
We liked leaving the best.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bc492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We were newcomers to Lake Tahoe and I am so glad that the Travel Review sites guided us to Sunnysid! Spectacular views from the deck / restaurant & from the breakfast nook. Tahoe bike / hike path is right outside front door. Kayak / jetski rental is in the adjacent parking lot. Food & drink at the restaurant were excellent- & can't beat the convenience! Bedding was super cozy. Location is convenient to Truckee bike trail & lots of hiking. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HikeBikePaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights in July and could not have been more pleased. Our very comfortable, attractive and immaculate room overlooked the lake, with incredible sunrises and sunsets. Our room was above the bar but we had none of the sound issues that some guests have mentioned. I guess if a little music until about 10 PM bothers you, this may not be the place, but then you should get a cabin in the woods.

Tahoe City is so much mellower than the horrible South Lake area, and Sunnyside is far enough from the stores and restaurants that you can feel relaxed among throngs.

We ate in the restaurant both nights, once on the bar side and once on the "fine dining" side. Our meals were fine, not the best ever but surely worth the price.

Room Tip: look over the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlyslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a very nice hotel with an amazing view, you are rigth in the lake. The employees are very kind and always trying to help. The rooms are very big, confortable and cleans. There is a very nice restaurant, a bar, etc....we really liked this hotel. Recommend 100%

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giulianau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

Sunnyside is a must when visit the North Shore of Lake Tahoe. The dining patio is right on the lake. There are two seating and menu areas. We usually go for the basic menu which includes burgers, salad, fish tacos. Love the fish tacos and the fried zucchini. If we are going out to dinner in the evening go for the dinner menu. The food on this menu is very good and upscale. The dinner menu changes weekly. A great wine list, if you see the manager, Ox, roaming around visiting with guest be sure to get his recommendations. While you're there rent a boat from the marina and really see Lake Tahoe. I have lived at Lake Tahoe for over 30 years and Sunnyside is one of my favs! Because we live here we have never stayed at the Lodge, but it is right on the lake.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameraandeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Understand, that this is a nice place but it is just not worth the price that they are charging for their Rooms/Mini-Suits. The location is fine, with easy access to Squaw and Hiking at Emerald Bay. We stayed for a long weekend and enjoyed the Kayaking and Hiking...The Dinner's at the restaurant were just fine with the Rib-eye steak being my favorite. Besides the price, the one real negative that I noticed was that there was an overwhelming smell of Deep Fried Food in the rooms as we arrived. Fortunately, this seemed to subside as our stay progressed.

Overall, the place was ok but next time, I 'm going to rent a private condo for the same or even less cost. ... Actually, a real bright thing to do would be to contact one of the local real-estate agencies for available cond or home rentals.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunningManDango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
5.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
1.2 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
2.6 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn
Cottage Inn
#1 of 5 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Property: Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Address: 1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside's spectacular location on the pristine West Shore makes it the place to be in Lake Tahoe. Panoramic views of the lake and mountains beyond abound from nearly every table and during the summer, guests can also enjoy alfresco dining on Lake Tahoe’s largest outdoor deck.The Lakeside Dining Room features new American cooking – fresh, vibrant presentations of American classics with a focus on premium seafood and steaks. The award winning wine list has been carefully selected to complement the menu and offers a wide variety of wines including some rare & limited offerings. Our Mountain Grill offers a more casual atmosphere and is seated on a walk-in basis only.Sunnyside is also a classic lakefront lodge with guest accommodations overlooking Lake Tahoe. The 23 mountain inspired lodge rooms are inviting places to sink into after the day's activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Restaurant Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing