We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with the family. The newly renovated rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The view cannot be compared. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and just the right size. The restaurant was great for dinners and with the amazing setting... Impossible to duplicate elsewhere. The boat rentals associated with the hotel were convenient and professionally operated (high Sierra water ski school). The whole family would love to return!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank vacationquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Came here for Sunday lunch and sat out on the deck. Good food, friendly service, great view. Husband had the fish tacos and enjoyed them. I had the veggie tacos and they were also good. Friend had the seafood salad and it ended up so large that she couldn't finish it - but had lots of fresh seafood. Would certainly come back. Parking can be a challenge, but there are spots on side streets.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank helsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel staff was unpleasant upon check in and throughout our stay except Don was pleasant and the gal on the night shift was fine. The place was dirty and tired and not what we expected. It was lovely to be on the lake but you really feel like you are staying above a bar. The restaurant was dirty and the waitstaff was sullen. And the food was sub par. We had to ask for toilet paper and soap when ours ran out. They were generally skimpy with towels and products. They cleaned our room when we were at breakfast which meant we had dirty towels to start the day. We had two nights of construction outside the hotel which did not allow us to sleep at all. We were given a 25% discount but it really should have been more. The continental breakfast did not have coffee at 7 and then when they did they had it in the hot water carafe so you didn't know there was any. They had no silver and the plates were dirty. The breakfast was not ready at 7:30 as stated and it was again subpar. We were really looking for a relaxing visit at Sunnyside and we found the people unfriendly and the place tired, worn, dirty and just plain sub par. We will never stay here again and do not recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for one night. Very disappointed. The silverware at the breakfast was dirty. Juice glasses and silverware with food stuck on. Not just one but several of them. Disgusting. Another patron brought to my attention that she had experienced the same assessment the day before. We found in our room dirty glasses that were supposed to be fresh for our use.
Second, no refrigerator our room. No A/C in rooms though it was needed. You cannot leave door open due to the loud noise of crowds from restaurant. Also no plastic bag in ice bucket, and the ice bucket was dirty.
Lastly, they should have at least have sheer curtains since you cannot keep the curtains open without everyone seeing into your room. In closing, the lodge is overpriced, unclean and uncomfortably hot.
Even though they let us have the room early and the view was beautiful the negatives far outweigh the positives. We will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VenturaSherryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Great location with a busy fun atmosphere. Got to get the Hula Pie. You can share one piece with the family. Drinks anew great as well..sit on the deck in the summer. Get there a little early...waits can be up to an hour!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PETER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here in July for a nearby wedding on the recommendation of the bride. The location was good, but otherwise the lodge was very disappointing. As others have commented, there is no air conditioning. We were in room 20, which is closest to the highway. The windows had to be open as it was too hot with them closed. Only one window opened, so there was no cross breeze. It was so loud with cars going by and people yelling outside our room--I got one of my worst night's sleep ever in a hotel. The decor is straight out of the 80's and the cost of the room was high ($295). The Wifi never worked during our two day stay. I guess you can get away with charging alot in Lake Tahoe in July, but I will look for other accommodations next time. On a good note, the food at the restaurant was good, although the service was pretty slow. I'd visit the restaurant again, but wouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The check-in and check-out process was quick and the staff was very friendly. The room was small, however very clean and comfortable, maybe the best hotel bed we've slept on. The kids that work at the restaurant could not have been more accommodating. We will be back.

J&M

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
5.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,933 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
1.2 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
279 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 1850 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range: £122 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunnyside's spectacular location on the pristine West Shore makes it the place to be in Lake Tahoe. Panoramic views of the lake and mountains beyond abound from nearly every table and during the summer, guests can also enjoy alfresco dining on Lake Tahoe’s largest outdoor deck.The Lakeside Dining Room features new American cooking – fresh, vibrant presentations of American classics with a focus on premium seafood and steaks. The award winning wine list has been carefully selected to complement the menu and offers a wide variety of wines including some rare & limited offerings. Our Mountain Grill offers a more casual atmosphere and is seated on a walk-in basis only.Sunnyside is also a classic lakefront lodge with guest accommodations overlooking Lake Tahoe. The 23 mountain inspired lodge rooms are inviting places to sink into after the day's activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Restaurant Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Hotel Tahoe City
Sunnyside Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing