We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Tamarack Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 18 November 2008

This is the best value you can get in the area. It's located less than a 5 minute drive from Tahoe City and approximately 15 minutes from Sqaw or Alpine. The cabins with queeen rooms are cozy but don't expect top quality accomodations. I've stayed in this place 2 winters and do recommend this place.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Febrazuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    22
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Tamarack Lodge is located a mile or so east of Tahoe City, which is located on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe, California. As 2 couples, we were looking for a 'condo' with 2 bedrooms and decent kitchen facilities. The 2 bedroom/2 bath cabin fitted the bill perfectly and at around $150 a night for the 4 of us it represented good value. Each bedroom had its own bathroom which made it ideal for 2 couples. The cabin was clean and really cozy, but we had a fair few ants in the kitchen, not quite reaching invasion quantities but noticeable. For us it wasn't really a problem and we accepted that the cabin was located in the forest and this was their turf, also we weren't paying premium rates. There is a nice walk to the nearby lake front and Tahoe City is not too far, although after a days skiing we weren't up for walking there. Tahoe City is very small but really nice and worth giving up a few hours to spend a lazy afternoon by the lake shore. I can imagine that it is beautiful place for sailing in the summer. If you want to ski the resorts around the north shore then this is a great accommodation choice for those on a budget. Cook your own food, (a Safeway is in Tahoe City) and save a packet. I would definitely stay again providing the rates stay this good.

  • Liked — Value, setting, staff.
  • Disliked — Ants.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moo_mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

We arived at ths property and it looked cozy from the outside. The first thing i noticed when i walked into the room was the dead spider crushed in the picture frame. Thoughout the night my wife and I noticed 4 other live spiders before we went to sleep (within an hours span.) There were spider webs in every corner of the room. The bathroom walls and floor were also very dirty. The tamarack lodge has webs in every corner. The only good thing about this place is the price and location. i paid $75 here.
The next morning i mentioned these problems to the older front desk lady and she said "You are in the mountains, these spiders are inevitable." We checked and went to the America's Best Value Inn. There were no insects or spiders here and it was VERY clean. This place is only 0.5 miles down the street from the Tamarack Lodge.
If you like spiders crawling into your bed, stay at the Tamarack Lodge. My wife was disgusted at this place. We slept here, and took showers and the America Best Value Inn. We paid $98 at America's Best Value Inn. Well worth the difference!!!!!!!!
Don't bring your wife here!!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highhrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2006

The Lodge is past the city, if you are coming from the North :)
The cabin was precious, with a king size bed and two twin beds, two bathrooms, a kitchenette and a salon. The kitchen with many amenities.

The location is perfect, very very pretty. At night aparently bears come out to visit :)

I would recomend this location for everybody, it's price is very good for its value.

  • Liked — Location, very very pretty
  • Disliked — Nothing! :)
  • Tips/Secrets — Great, great, great
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wailuku,HI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2006

Enjoyed my stay there. People were friendly and willing to make my ski trip arrangements. Would stay there again to get to the ski lifts on that side of town. Budget minded individuals only! Great for a couple.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank tamic579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2006

Tahoe City and Truckee are the most convenient locations for overnight lodging while skiing at Squaw or Alpine. The winter weekends at these locations tend to be very expensive ($130 and up for a 2*). However you can get a motel room at the Tamarack Lodge for around $70 to $80. It's located about a mile or two east of the main part of Tahoe City. You'll get a clean no-frills room with either 2 queen beds or 1 king bed, a TV, alarm clock, table/chairs, refrigerator, and that's about it. The heat works well. It's fairly quiet for a roadside motel since the motel is set back a good distance from the main road. We didn't hear much from the neighbors except for some whoopee one morning. There is a continental breakfast of pastries and coffee, tea, or hot cider. I do have a few nits to pick though. The gel dispenser in the shower was broken so we were left with one small bar of soap and no shampoo (although we had packed our own). The shower mechanism was somewhat awkward to control. The beds squeaked and were not very comfortable. My friend didn't care for the fluorescent lighting although I thought it was fine. The bottom line is that it's not a dump and it is an average 1* property. So if you want to save some money, stay here.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank giantsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2005

This is not a place for pampered individuals. However, the thrifty crowd will love it! It's definitely a modest accommodation. Also, it's definitely clean, well kept, comfortable and friendly...everything you really need! We will not hesitate to stay here again when we return to N Lake Tahoe for Jazz Festival or other activities!
Location: between Tahoe City and Carnelian Bay, 15 minutes drive to Incline Village.

Helpful?
11 Thank J232016Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
3.5 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
18.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
618 reviews
5.2 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,785 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Property: Tamarack Lodge
Address: 2311 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Tahoe City
Tamarack Motel Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing