We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tamarack is TERRIFIC”
Review of Tamarack Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We have stayed at the Tamarack on numerous occasions for business and just for fun. The managers, Sue and Eric are wonderful people. We really enjoy the setting on the property.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank citiesCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2009

This place is about 1.5 miles from Tahoe City. We had stayed in one of the cabins This place has lots of history and the people at the front desk make sure you know that. They give you this paper about it being in the family since 1927. If you are a history buff, then you would like this. The cabins are all knotty pine, so you feel real woodsy staying there. We were there in the Winter time, so we really did not get to take a long walk, but from what I can see it would be nice in the spring and summer. The ski slopes are about 10-15 minutes away, depending on the traffic. We could see the lake from the place and the walk is not far to get there. We definely would go back in the summer to see the property without the snow.
The rooms are real quiet and conformable and they have small kitchens to beable to cook in.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jujuSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

This is the best value you can get in the area. It's located less than a 5 minute drive from Tahoe City and approximately 15 minutes from Sqaw or Alpine. The cabins with queeen rooms are cozy but don't expect top quality accomodations. I've stayed in this place 2 winters and do recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Febrazuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Tamarack Lodge is located a mile or so east of Tahoe City, which is located on the North Shore of Lake Tahoe, California. As 2 couples, we were looking for a 'condo' with 2 bedrooms and decent kitchen facilities. The 2 bedroom/2 bath cabin fitted the bill perfectly and at around $150 a night for the 4 of us it represented good value. Each bedroom had its own bathroom which made it ideal for 2 couples. The cabin was clean and really cozy, but we had a fair few ants in the kitchen, not quite reaching invasion quantities but noticeable. For us it wasn't really a problem and we accepted that the cabin was located in the forest and this was their turf, also we weren't paying premium rates. There is a nice walk to the nearby lake front and Tahoe City is not too far, although after a days skiing we weren't up for walking there. Tahoe City is very small but really nice and worth giving up a few hours to spend a lazy afternoon by the lake shore. I can imagine that it is beautiful place for sailing in the summer. If you want to ski the resorts around the north shore then this is a great accommodation choice for those on a budget. Cook your own food, (a Safeway is in Tahoe City) and save a packet. I would definitely stay again providing the rates stay this good.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank moo_mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2007

We arived at ths property and it looked cozy from the outside. The first thing i noticed when i walked into the room was the dead spider crushed in the picture frame. Thoughout the night my wife and I noticed 4 other live spiders before we went to sleep (within an hours span.) There were spider webs in every corner of the room. The bathroom walls and floor were also very dirty. The tamarack lodge has webs in every corner. The only good thing about this place is the price and location. i paid $75 here.
The next morning i mentioned these problems to the older front desk lady and she said "You are in the mountains, these spiders are inevitable." We checked and went to the America's Best Value Inn. There were no insects or spiders here and it was VERY clean. This place is only 0.5 miles down the street from the Tamarack Lodge.
If you like spiders crawling into your bed, stay at the Tamarack Lodge. My wife was disgusted at this place. We slept here, and took showers and the America Best Value Inn. We paid $98 at America's Best Value Inn. Well worth the difference!!!!!!!!
Don't bring your wife here!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
2  Thank highhrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2006

The Lodge is past the city, if you are coming from the North :)
The cabin was precious, with a king size bed and two twin beds, two bathrooms, a kitchenette and a salon. The kitchen with many amenities.

The location is perfect, very very pretty. At night aparently bears come out to visit :)

I would recomend this location for everybody, it's price is very good for its value.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2006

Enjoyed my stay there. People were friendly and willing to make my ski trip arrangements. Would stay there again to get to the ski lifts on that side of town. Budget minded individuals only! Great for a couple.

Stayed: January 2006
2  Thank tamic579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
6.0 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
5.2 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,128 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
1.0 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Address: 2311 N. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tahoe City
Price Range: £53 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our 90th year, Tamarack Lodge offers 21 rooms and cabins at surprisingly affordable prices. On nearly four acres of land one mile east of Tahoe City, we are at the edge of Burton Creek State Park, and are near everything you want to see in North Tahoe. There is also plenty to do right here on our own property. Families and groups love it here, and we are pet friendly too. Our "Poker Rooms" and cabins are genuinely "Old Tahoe". The cabins have full kitchen and are great for a weekend or a week. Our King and Double Queen rooms are spacious and comfortable. All rooms have microwave ovens and refrigerators; many have kitchens. Bring your boat! We have plenty of parking and boat launching is just 60 seconds away. Bring your bike and boots too. Mountain and road trails leave from here. We're 15 minutes from downhill skiing, or head out the back door with your nordic skis or snowshoes. We have been family owned since 1927, and we are committed to treating you well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Tahoe City
Tamarack Motel Tahoe City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing