We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tahoe City Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp Tahoe City(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepper Tree Inn(Tahoe City)
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Lodge(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
US$142
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort at Squaw Creek(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
US$134
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The Village At Squaw Valley(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granlibakken Tahoe(Tahoe City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
19
13
17
11
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
13
17
11
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanwalking distancemicrowavelakesupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Old, in need of repairs (crumbling walkways) but clean. More road noise than preferred. Office attendants were often out of the office and had to be contacted with the "find handset" button on cordless phone base station. No free wifi, No fitted sheets, good location, less expensive than others, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethesnow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeCityInnManager, Front Desk at Tahoe City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

We are sorry about the walkway, we are working towards doing renovations soon, we are happy that you enjoyed the location of our inn and we would really like to have you as our guest again. Please come back and stay with us in one of our newly remodeled rooms at 15% off of your stay. Once again we are sorry about any inconveniences that you may have encountered.

-Christina
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Just stayed here with my teenage son and his friend. I was a little concerned because as Tahoe lodging goes, this one is really inexpensive: 2 queen beds for $105 a night. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the bathroom looked like it had been upgraded not long ago. The room had a microwave, refrigerator, and a high table with stools for dining. The flatscreen TV was brand spanking new and the ice machine was free, a real bonus in an area like Tahoe when many people have ice chests to fill. The free movies advertised were, in addition to a good selection of cable channels, on VHS (there's a player in each room. You check the tapes out at the front desk). Picky people might consider that rinky-dink, I prefer to think of it as retro. There's a free breakfast but for full on, several decent places are within easy walking distance. Another bonus is the motel is right next to the Safeway grocery store and CVS pharmacy. The only complaint we had is that one of the beds' casters didn't lock so well, so we wedged sneakers under it. I'm sure if we had complained, the staff would have dealt with it but we didn't bother. All in all, for a clean, comfortable place to lay your head after an active day on the lake or the ski slopes, the Tahoe City Inn fills the bill without breaking the budget.

Room Tip: This place fills up quick on the weekends. Reserve your room as early as possible.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Came here for a quick 2-night stay for a wedding in the area. We had a few minor issues the first day, but when we notified the manager (Paul) the following day, he fixed everything and was very nice about it. The room was very clean, the water was hot at all hours, and the beds were comfortable. They serve continental breakfast only on the weekends, so we didn't get breakfast on the Friday we were there, but we did get breakfast on the Saturday morning before we left. The walls are a bit thin and when people return to their rooms late at night, you can hear them. But we weren't bothered. All in all, good value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My family of four stayed for two night during a ski trip. Convenient to Safeway, restraunts, and ski resorts. It's clean, all the amenities (frig, microwave, coffee, table), wide screen TV, and comfortable. Updated room and bathroom. Only comment is they're trying to protect the hardwood floors from the bed legs and the beds slide away from the wall when trying to sit on the bed while watching TV. On-site staff not always available in the office.

I would return again if they had free internet.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwinFamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeCityInnManager, Front Desk at Tahoe City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

We really appreciate your review, we are very happy that you had a good stay at our inn. We most definitely encourage you to stay with us again we are happy to give you 15% off your stay next time you come to the area. We are currently working on getting free wifi so hopefully the next time you decide to come up you may enjoy that feature.

Thank you again for the feed back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Room and hotel were as clean as I expected for a place in tahoe city.
Great location for playing on the lake or rafting the truckee river
The service was ok. The complimentary breakfast was good.
The king room (#25) we stayed in had a good bed. The heart shaped shower/tub was enjoyable if not a little difficult to get in and out of.
Our BIG problem was the never ending noise that came from the parking lot behind the hotel. There was some sort of recycling crusher machine that people can (and did) access at all hours of the night, just when we would start to fall asleep the Crusher would start again and then again etc.
I might recommend this hotel if the rates were a little lower and the hotel tried to stop the midnight recycling madness.
By the way, because you can see (squint) the lake, apparently you have a room with a lake view.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahoeCityInnManager, General Manager at Tahoe City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Hello,
Maybe for your next visit to Tahoe City, you could stay in one of our completely remodeled rooms. We have gone above and beyond to make sure these rooms are just like home for our guest's. We even have brand new beds and installed noise reducing insulation in the walls to ensure you have a great night sleep to prepare for your day in Tahoe. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews