We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Sledding”

Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area
Ranked #9 of 39 things to do in Tahoe City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The area's oldest ski resort is a perfect choice for families with children and beginners looking to learn in a low-pressure, intimate setting. With 1/2 off rates for people lodging at Granlibakken Tahoe and on-site rentals, the Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area is an affordable and convenient option for families and beginners. Our sled hill is also fun for all ages! With a complimentary saucer rental included in each day pass, and a warming hut serving authentic Mexican food at the base, the sled hill is the perfect place to spend a day!
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I would not consider this a ski area as it only has one hill. It is however a great place to sled especially with young kids.

1  Thank CaliforniaWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We have a small ski hill for beginner to intermediate skiers and a great sledding area for all ages. Granlibakken thanks you for your review and is looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2010

I have taken my 6 year old son sledding at Granlibakken for the last 2 years. It is a great family activity. The sledding hill is groomed which makes for a fast, smooth ride which is good for the children & those of us still young at heart. We have taken family friends to the resort as well and had so much fun that now it has become a tradition to get together to sled with the children on christmas eve.

There have always been staff members at the bottom of the hill to make sure the children do not get run over by the other sledders behind them. It is a small resort so the children do not get lost in crowds.

We took our office staff sledding for a christmas party this year and it was a big hit for a staff party. Those staff members with children were appreciative of including the entire family. My younger employees ( in their 20's) kept saying how "awesome" it was.

This is a great family activity for those with children, and we will continue to return for years to come.

1  Thank docmom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Granlibakken thanks you for your review. We are thrilled that your son and family has been enjoying our sled hill over the years. Granlibakken staff is always trying to make sledding as safe and fun as possible! We hope you will return soon, we just got some great snow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2007

The only place for my kids to sled safely! They also learned how to ski with super instructors in small classes. This place i too cool with a little log cabin that serves great kid friendly mexican food.

This place has to be the best kept snow play secret at Tahoe! A must if you have kids.

2  Thank busymomtctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Granlibakken is a great kept secret! We appreciate your kind words. Our Snack Bar has some of the best Mexican food in Tahoe. Granlibakken is happy to hear that your children had a great time learning with our amazing ski instructors. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014
Google Translation

Thank Tiago B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, General Manager at Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Granlibakken Ski and Sled Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing