We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“River bliss”

Truckee River Rafting Company
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“River bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

It was an awesome experience
You can go down the river at your own pace
The last stretch has a small rapid overall great experience

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Navanknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fun trip for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were a group of 12 on a vacation in Lake Tahoe area and finding activities for the whole group is a challenge when the ages were from 21 to 77. The Truckee river float trip is the perfect fit. We ended up with two rafts and everyone had a great time. Bring some snacks for your trip in a plastic cooler. Highly recommended activity and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank todd a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

a great day out for all ages, our youngest was 10 and oldest 80!
lovely places to stop and swim, fun rapids to ride,beautiful surroundings recommended to anyone visiting Tahoe

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CJL866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Averill Park, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We're a family of four who has done a lot of river trips over the years. While the Truckee River doesn't provide the high-level action of the American River, it's still a lot of fun to drift down on a four-person raft. Note: the river gets pretty crowded, so don't expect solitude; it's more of a party scene. Nevertheless, we didn't find the reverie annoying on the day we chose for our trip. Our float took far less than the five hours we were old at the desk, but we were paddling most of the way and didn't stop.

This is also a very good river for newcomers to learn paddling/steering basics.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Floydslips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fun for the Whole Family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We found a brochure at a Visitor's Center and just had to go! Truckee River is a gentle river that is perfect for first time kids (I have twin 5 year olds). They absolutely LOVED this! We saw trout and crawfish, observed birds of prey but the river was the highlight. The kids got to paddle some, and there are plenty of spots to pull over and let the kids wade or swim in very gentle currents. There was a few places with more rapid water but super easy and fun for the kids. We had a blast!

Tips: Bring along ziplock bags. You can store your car keys, phone and stuff in there or rent a locker for .50 cents. It can get a little cool so if you want to bring towels, do put them in some kind of bag too. The inside of the boat will become wet.

Have fun on the river!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank octwinmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Truckee River Rafting Company also viewed

Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Truckee River Rafting Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing