We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ropes course”

Tahoe Treetop Adventure Park
Ranked #1 of 10 Tours in Tahoe City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tahoe Treetop Adventure Parks currently have 3 locations in the Lake Tahoe area to serve you, Tahoe City, Squaw Valley, and Tahoe Vista. The Tahoe City and Tahoe Vista locations offer approx. 70 tree platforms, 50+ bridges, and 15+ zip lines with the Squaw Valley location offering approx. 20 platforms connected by 15 bridges, 6 zip lines and the 50' Alpine Tower climbing structure. Tahoe Treetop has courses for adults, kids 5+, and team building groups. Hours of unforgettable, super-fun activity for the whole family!
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Ropes course”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Did not participate, but enjoyed watching many people navigating an elaborate ropes course. Have a course for young children and beginners. Super organized and well done.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PattiShamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    61
    11
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nor cal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Zip Lining veteran loves this place”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I've done ropes courses all over the world but Treetop Adventure Park has been our favorite so far. The five courses on the Monkey course will challenge even the most fit adult and leave you sore and finding muscles you never knew you had. As others have mentioned the courses are both fun and challenging, so I will add my own two cents for this review: 1) if you think you will show up on the day of without reservations during the summer and think you can just walk-on, you're delusional. Maybe on a Wednesday you might be able to show up and get a spot but do yourself a favor and spend five minutes reserving spots before you go. I've reserved as little as three days in advance and had no problem scoring tickets for the times I wanted. On our last visit there were people getting the bad news that, because of their lack of planning ahead, there were no spots available for them. Peggy215 (who only gave Treetop 3 stars because she couldn't get a spot) complained about limited equipment as a factor in her not being able to walk on when she just decided to show up out of the blue. This is not the case. They can easily accommodate 25 people per 2.5 hour session. Succeeding sessions over lap the previous ones by about 45 minutes, there are about 8 sessions per day, plan ahead and you'll get a spot! 2) During the summer get early start times since it does get warm, you are up at altitude, and afternoon thunder and lightning and rain are a very real possibility. Also, by starting early (8:45am is the earliest) you will be less likely to have the sloth-like land-lubber adults who haven't exercised since the Clinton Era clogging up the courses. 3) Bring water and snacks for yourself and kids. You'll be going hard for two hours and you will work up a thirst-they do have water stations throughout the forest but I like to have my own supply. 4) if you're just watching from below bring some refreshments and maybe a book and maybe a comfy chair for yourself. There's no chic pretentious cafe's nearby for you to sit in air-conditioned comfort as you watch your friends and kids who are more fit than you swing through the trees.

In short, this place is awesome. Plan ahead, have some pre-existing aerobic capability in you already and you'll have a great time. My one little niggle? Offer a season pass for those who live close and want to go multiple times per year.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank outacali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great fun, great value”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This really was a great surprise - we have done lots of this sort of thing and the consensus in our adventurous group of adults and teenagers: this one is the best. Really worth the money, and if you know Tahoe, the place doesn't always deliver value. The courses are creative, REALLY safe and as challenging as you want them to be. Super nice people running it too - they are there to make it safe but they want everyone to have fun. I'm certain our teenagers would want to return if we're in the area - highly recommended. I wish these people all the best - this was a good addition to our Tahoe visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank smckd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun for kids & adults”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our group spent a fun and physically challenging afternoon there. The 12 years old kids had a blast in the Monkey courses. The advance level within the Monkey courses are quite challenging & demanding even they are in good shape and they work out a lot. They are tired and wiped out after 2 hours. These courses have so many varieties that are very interesting.
Our 6 years old & 9 years old kids joined the younger version-Flying Squirrels courses. There are some basic rope courses plus 3 zip-lines. They enjoyed zip-lining among the forest. However, the 9 years old got bored after 1 hour. She is looking forward to try the next level-Monkey courses(need to be taller).

In general, we feel safe playing there. And the staff are helpful and friendly.
Tips: 1) Wear your cycling gloves or other gloves, Your palms hurt after grabbing lots of ropes. 2) Use bathroom before you register, it's far away. 3) Read their website, there are lots of information.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank savorymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Looked like fun...”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Absolutely don't go there unless you have a reservation! We drove all the way out there from S. Lake Tahoe and it was booked solid for four days straight. They have limited equipment so they can't squeeze you in. Such a bummer.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Peggy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tahoe Treetop Adventure Park also viewed

Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Tahoe Treetop Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing