We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious Lakeside Stone Residence with Delightful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chaney House
Ranked #2 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spacious Lakeside Stone Residence with Delightful Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

What a treat to drive through stone pillars beneath towering pines overlooking the beauty of Lake Tahoe! The high wooden beams of the 1920s-era living room beckoned us with its warmth. Our room was the Master Suite - lots of space, quiet, private, upstairs, comfortable king-sized bed, charming furnishings, roomy closet and private bathroom. One joy was waking in the morning seeing sunlight highlighting the various colors of the pines. Our hosts, Lori and Gary, made us feel as welcome as welcome can be: scrumptious breakfasts, wine and nibbles at 5 p.m., and great dinner recommendations - Sunnyside, Beacon Bar and Grill, Wolfdales, River Grill, and River Ranch. What a week!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pqueneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Staying at The. Chaney House for four days was a real treat. The accomodations are wonderful and the breakfasts cooked by Laurie Chaney are absolutely gourmet quality. The house is picturesquely located on the shore of Lake Tahoe. I have traveled extensively and am very familiar with Tahoe including boating all over the lake. This is place for an old Tahoe hand or a first time visitor. Gary Chaney is well informed on the lake and can help you plan your day, He is both an expert boating but winter sports too. Would strongly recommend The Chaney House for anyone who wants a wonderful experience in one of the most beautiful places on earth.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cox1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I cannot say enough about the Cheney House. The owners are lovely people..very accomodating and genuine. The house and grounds are beautiful. Breakfast out on the porch or in the dining room each is not only tasty, the presentation is lovely. Early evening wine sipping with the owner in the family room is a wonderful way to meet the other guests as well as learn a lot about the area. Highly recommend this B&B if you're planning a trip to the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jeanine's Room. Lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were driving along and discovered this beautiful looking historic house and when we pulled in we were immediately welcomed by Gary & Lori they sat us down with a glass of wine most welcome after our long drive. The room was very clean and comfortable with all toiletries provided. We had access to the lounge room and also had the offer of blankets if we wished to stargaze out on the jetty on the lake. We went out for a lovely dinner at river grill on recommendation from Gary it was delicious. The rooms are lovely although not soundproof not that this was a problem to us but could be if there were noisy guests staying. We had a baked egg with spinach and a cheese sauce for breakfast also melon and Danish pastry. Very warm hospitable people would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBTHOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We recently stayed at the Chaney House and found Gary and Lori to be the warmest B&B hosts we have ever encountered. They make everyone feel welcome and Gary takes special care in making sure that guests are well set with their plans for the day (in our case hiking and dinner reservations). They are both very warm people and create a very friendly social atmosphere. The afternoon wine socials are a lot of fun. Lori's breakfast dishes are yummy and hearty. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The warmth of the host and hostess make this a standout B&B. More than a lodging, it is a welcoming mileu.

It is also well-situated for hiking, with many fine trails nearby.

You will not go wrong staying at the Chaney House!

Room Tip: The floors are a bit creaky. If you are a sensitive sleeper you might prefer an upper story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpandingHorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Gary and Lori are charming hosts. Lori's breakfasts were outstanding. The house is absolutely gorgeous, and rich in history. Whenever travels take us back to Tahoe, the Chaney House will be our home away from home.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
3.0 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
5.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
3.2 mi away
Cottage Inn
Cottage Inn
#1 of 5 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
5.6 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Crest Cottages
Cedar Crest Cottages
#1 of 3 in Homewood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaney House

Property: Chaney House
Address: 4725 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing