We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tahoe City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chaney House
Ranked #2 of 5 Tahoe City B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Possibly the best location and property at Tahoe. Gorgeous home with a great host. Pier and beach. Words can't describe this home, Possibly the greatest stone home at the lake. The Hoast has lived there for over 40 years.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had not stayed in a B&B that had the rooms in the main house & thankfully Gary & Lori were there to help us through the stay. They make the stay wonderful. We stayed in Russels Suite & the only way up is on a spiral stairwell. Learned that while easy to go up & down, it is not as easy carrying your suitcase up the stairs. Lesson learned. Breakfast was good with a variety of dishes. The property is beautiful with a dock across the street on the Lake. We were the only ones at the dock during our stay. The location is a little off the beaten path, as it is 5 miles south of Tahoe City. This could be good or bad, depending on your plans during the stay. Gary grave us some great tips as we were sightseeing around the lake. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rkvbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

we have been to many b&b- also on our gowest roadtrip, and believe me when i say: the chaney house is excellent. Better is quite impossible. Gery and Lori are lovely, nice, helpfull and funny. And thei house feels just like home. We stayed 3 nights at the Russell's Suite and enjoyed every minute of it. In the evening there is wine and cheese and the guests sit together and talk. Gery knows everything about the region and has many things to tell. In the morning we had breakfast outside: Lori is a great cook. There is also a private pier where we watched the stars over lake tahoe.
If we ever go back to lake tahoe, then only to Chaney House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orianajade_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My family was visiting my brother in Clayton, CA and took a side trip to Lake Tahoe. I came upon Chaney House in my Fodor's Northern CA Guidebook. The Chaney House is better than the pictures reflect and surpassed all my expectations. The Chaney House is a quaint B&B full of charm both the home and the homeowners, Gary and Lori. I came into Tahoe with a full agenda but received the best advice from Gary....the best thing to do in Tahoe is relax which I did at the end of their private pier. Big fluffy towels provided. Every recommendation Gary made regarding restaurants, the Rubicon hiking trail and the Tahoe Gal were spot on. The breakfasts Lori made were amazing (sliced bananas in homemade Irish Cream!!) and the table setting and ambiance on the patio was five star. Back home in New Jersey I have established wine and cheese at 5 'o clock just like the Chaney's. My husband, myself and our 16 year old son stayed in the Master suite. More spacious than the pictures reflect. My son slept on the pull out couch. The Chaney House is a reason to go to Lake Tahoe. Wish we stayed longer.

Room Tip: The "highway" is directly across the Chaney House but I who am a very light sleeper had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derflinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Forge
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just a thank you to Gary for helping us out with our travel situation. You made a disappointing week less frustrating for us. We will be out to visit you sometime in the future. Thanks again for all your help and understanding.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulldogesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Love the Chaney house-everything about it. Old Tahoe, the private pier, proximity to good restaurants, the relaxing ambience that Gary and Laurie create. Have been before, just got back again, and will book in the near future. Enough said!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gibdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

What a treat to drive through stone pillars beneath towering pines overlooking the beauty of Lake Tahoe! The high wooden beams of the 1920s-era living room beckoned us with its warmth. Our room was the Master Suite - lots of space, quiet, private, upstairs, comfortable king-sized bed, charming furnishings, roomy closet and private bathroom. One joy was waking in the morning seeing sunlight highlighting the various colors of the pines. Our hosts, Lori and Gary, made us feel as welcome as welcome can be: scrumptious breakfasts, wine and nibbles at 5 p.m., and great dinner recommendations - Sunnyside, Beacon Bar and Grill, Wolfdales, River Grill, and River Ranch. What a week!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pqueneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe City
3.0 mi away
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge
5.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Tahoe City/Lake Tahoe
3.2 mi away
Cottage Inn
Cottage Inn
#1 of 5 in Tahoe City
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Crest Cottages
Cedar Crest Cottages
#1 of 3 in Homewood
38 reviews
5.6 mi away
Basecamp Tahoe City
Basecamp Tahoe City
#1 of 7 in Tahoe City
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaney House

Property: Chaney House
Address: 4725 W. Lake Blvd., Tahoe City, CA 96145
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe City
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tahoe City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing