We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Granlibakken Tahoe
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$96
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp Tahoe City(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunnyside Restaurant and Lodge(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Lodge(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
US$142
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort at Squaw Creek(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village At Squaw Valley(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepper Tree Inn(Tahoe City)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
305
151
53
33
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
151
53
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranlibakken resortropes courseski hillthe main lodgetennis courtsfull kitchencedar housetreetop adventure parkfamily reuniongreat resortnational foresttree top adventurebreakfast was excellenthiking trailsgreat for familiesblintzeslift tickets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Spent a couple nights here in the fall during the off season. It was peaceful and quiet and just what we needed. The suite was clean and had everything including a fireplace, nice rustic decor, and view of the full moon. We bought groceries and cooked in the kitchen for dinner, and made sandwiches for day hikes.

The staff was friendly, breakfast was delicious, and the lodge feel and setting made us feel at home. There were lots of things that made us want to go back, the ropes course and the pool for sure. Overall it was a great stay and we were very happy to find Granlibakken.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Granlibakken thanks you for your review. We are thrilled that you had such a lovely experience at Granlibakken. Our resort does give a very warm, welcoming vibe. We love that you checked out the Treetop Adventure Park and experienced our famous buffet breakfast! Next time stop by our Ski and Sled Hill and grab a meal at Cedar House Pub. Please let us know how we can help plan your next trip to Granlibakken!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

In the one BIG snow storm of this drought year, we celebrated the wedding of our daughter and new son-in-law. Because the weather had been so mild, they were counting on having their ceremony down at lake-side. Three hours before the ceremony, with snow and rain falling, they decided the venue needed to be changed to inside at Granlibakken. The staff quickly helped us to make this possible and beautiful. AhHa~~ :-) George, and his staff, worked very hard to set up the room in just the way that we wanted.
Their banquet was fabulous. The buffet dinner was superb - catering to the special needs of many diets! (ex: Robert, the head chef, invented crab cakes that were glutton and dairy free ... yet very yummy!)
All the staff was very accommodating... They all made us feel very welcomed and all were willing to assist our entire group with whatever was needed. The two wedding advisors, Brooke and Christie, were always on task and super helpful in every way we could imagine!
BOTTOM-LINE: Granlibakken was a very special place to have a wedding.
Our three days there were **MAGICAL** with LOVE abounding. WOW!!
Marty DeJ. (Mother of the Bride)

Room Tip: Room are VERY nice. Our suite was far larger than we expected! Before choosing a room, have the staff review all the different options of types of rooms. There are so many to choose from ... Also consider the different location in regards to the dining, ski hill, pool, etc.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

It's such a pleasure to be able to share our resort and your daughter and son-in-laws special day! We're happy to hear that the wedding went off without a hitch, despite the weather issues! Granlibakken would love the opportunity to help build your next memorable visit to the area, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan your next getaway. Many thanks again for being our guest and lending us such kind words! Congratulations to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here instead of staying in the Squaw ski resort valley lodges to save money. We simply needed a place to sleep while we were not skiing, so we didn't really take advantage of the other ammenities. Our room at the Granlibakken was in the main building and was quite sufficient. I called ahead of time to let the desk staff know that we would be arriving around midnight and they said the late arrival was not a problem and that if no one was at the desk when we arrived, we would be able to find our room keys on a nearby table in the lobby. It's a little concerning that someone else would be able to simply pick up our room keys, but it was a non-issue because the lobby desk was manned afterall and we were quickly checked in upon arrival. Decor was a bit outdated, but I was more than pleased with the cleanliness of the room. The hairdryer in the bathroom died one evening, but I called the front desk and a (brand new) replacement was brought to our room within just a few minutes. Customer service was great. I give this a 3 out of 5 rating simply because the price seemed a little high for average quality and lack of special touches, but cleanliness and proximity to the ski slopes at Squaw were great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We appreciate your review! Thanks so much for being a guest of our Granlibakken Resort and for taking the opportunity to reach out. It's such a pleasure to be able to share our site and services with you. We'd love to share much more of our amenities such as our Cedar House Pub and Treetop Adventure Park. We'd love to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The people who work here are the best. They really aim to please and I have only experienced great customer service. The food here too is wonderful, as well as the accommodations are too.
I highly recommend Granlibakken as the place to stay if you are in north Lake Tahoe!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lizspirit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Granlibakken is very pleased that you received amazing customer service. We always aim to exceed all of our customers expectations! Our executive chef recently won a food and wine pairing competition; he's an amazing chef. Next time, check out the Treetop Adventure Course if you can get away from the conference for a couple of hours. Please contact about your next trip to Lake Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Best place ever if you have small kids.
- Free breakfast makes life easy and hassle free
- sled/ski hill is perfect for the little ones
- The rope course is great for all ages

Just had a great dinner at the Cedar House (on site). Fine dining atmosphere, great food, and kid friendly!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zwebo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for your review. Granlibakken is the perfect place for families with young children! We are so happy you enjoyed our breakfast with such a wonderful variety of delicious food. Our Cedar House pub is very kid friendly, while still having a wonderful atmosphere for adults with live music and fireside dining. Please contact us to plan your next trip to Tahoe and Granlibakken!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews