We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Granlibakken Tahoe
Nearby Hotels
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pepper Tree Inn(Tahoe City)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Lodge(Tahoe City)(Great Value!)
US$131
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort at Squaw Creek(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
US$194
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
The Village At Squaw Valley(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
310
151
54
33
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
151
54
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranlibakken resortropes courseski hillthe main lodgetennis courtsfull kitchencedar housetreetop adventure parkfamily reuniongreat resortnational foresttree top adventurebreakfast was excellenthiking trailsgreat for familiesblintzeslift tickets
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is NOT a five star lodge. It IS a ski lodge that we happen to visit in August 2014 so we could visit Lake Tahoe. My wife and I (in our 50's) stayed here for just one night during a COLD (to us) summer evening when the weather was rainy and cold. Since there wasn't much to do on the lake, and it was raining during the day and evening, we just "hung out" in the room watching TV and enjoying just being together. The place is air conditioned, had decent water pressure, and Wi-Fi was good. Breakfast was quite a spread with plenty to eat and enjoy (buffet!). We had a "suite" which was simply two rooms together. The room in our area would have a number and then an A side and a B side. We had both. If we had just one side, the room was B side room was smaller while the A side had a nice kitchenette and more room. We slept on the B side and enjoyed eating and watching TV on the A side. Hot tub was welcoming and HUGE! Plenty of people there without being over-crowded. We enjoyed meeting fellow travelers at the pool and hot tub. I booked this place based on the reviews here and then almost second-guessed myself based on some negative reviews. I did not need to worry. We had a very pleasant stay, not very expensive and enjoyed the place. My only complaint was that the breakfast staff could have been more friendly. Don't misunderstand: they were NOT rude at all, but not overly friendly. Plenty of families and groups. I bet this place is hopping during the winter ski season! We enjoyed it although it was summer and definitely no snow! Great selection for breakfast, nice room amenities, and great area to visit. It is a bit out of town (not far), but not really close to walk back to town (with no sidewalks).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaPete583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We appreciate your review. Very glad that you and your wife enjoyed Granlibakken. Our outdoor hot tub and heated pool complex was the perfect activity to enjoy on a cold summer evening. We actually do not have air conditioning in the rooms, only heat. We do provide fans in every room though. Thank you for your feedback about our breakfast. We would love to help you and your wife plan your next trip to Lake Tahoe! Please contact us and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were here for a staff retreat and the meeting space was great. Know that the guest rooms do not have air conditioning but they do have ceiling fans. It is an older hotel with some updates - bedding was nice and updated, but the woodwork, furniture and bathrooms are older and could use updating. The included breakfast was ok and the included lunch was very basic make your own sandwiches. It can be noisy at night sleeping with the windows open as there seem to be quite a few parties going on.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cajayhawk2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We are always working with our homeowners to continue updating their rooms. We are glad you found your bed comfortable and liked our updated bedding! Thanks again and we hope you can come back to Granlibakken so we can show you more of our lovely resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Your experience at this property will all depend on what mindset you have going into your stay. When many people hear the word "resort" they think of a luxurious escape spot from the grind of everyday life.

While Granlibakken is an all inclusive retreat, it is simply not operating at the luxury level. The place seems popular with families and school groups such as mine, so if you're looking for five star quality, nearby Squaw Valley or the Ritz in Truckee will certainly be a better bet.

That being said, the property did an excellent job of accommodating my school group of 40+ people. The on-property ropes course and pool area served our needs very well and were a hit to say the least. Our meeting room was a little small and could use an update, but much nicer meeting rooms are available for larger, better funded groups.

The service was top quality, especially in the dining area, and the food was well received by hungry teenagers. Every staff member I met treated me with kindness and respect and immediate served my needs.

The rooms, while comfortable, are clearly in need of a refresh. Some of the members of my group had a suite, and while it was very spacious, I fear that the quality of the room simply did not match the advertised rate. If you're going that level, other options may get you better quality for similar rates.

I am certain that an update to the guest rooms and some facilities of this property could put in the league of nearby luxury-level competitors.

Overall: Decent property that is perfect for groups, though a little dated, and impressively on-point service, but certainly not luxury, so make sure you know what you're getting ahead of time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dante M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that your school group had a lovely time at the pool, ropes course, and in our secluded 74-acre valley. We appreciate your feedback on our rooms and as we are constantly working with the homeowners to update our rooms. Thank you for you compliments to our staff who works very hard to make every guest happy! We look forward to your return to Granlibakken!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our extended family of 60+ stayed here for three days and three nights, and it was wonderful! Attentive and very friendly staff; nice rooms and suites; excellent breakfast (served to all guests); tasty lunches and dinners served to our group and other organized groups. Box lunches available for people away from the grounds for the day. Nice pool, many tennis courts (mostly in use by a tennis camp when we were there). Fabulous and extensive tree-top adventure course ($50 for adults, $40 for kids). Short drive or easy walk to Tahoe City and nearby beaches. Most of our family reunions have been in the Midwest, but we all agreed we'll be coming back here in three years. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: People with mobility issues might want to choose rooms in the main lodge. There's a lot of up and down throughout the resort.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ljm1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your family reunion at Granlibakken. Thank you for noticing our attentive staff. Our staff is excited to see you again in the next couple of years and we look forward to helping plan your next big trip to Lake Tahoe at Granlibakken. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Trip Advisor readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

this resort has it all - from a high ropes course, lovely pool among the pines, in house dining, tennis, bikes for rent etc. you really cant go wrong. The rooms were spacious and nicely furnished. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: the executive suites are nicely appointed and on the high side of the resort a little away from the rest of the activity
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raeleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granlibakken L, General Manager at Granlibakken Tahoe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed all of our on property amenities like our outdoor heated pool and hot tub, bicycles, and Treetop Adventure Park. Thank you for your feedback about Granlibakken! We would love to help you plan your next trip and activities in Lake Tahoe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews