We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
redding
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“family gathering”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great place for a family gathering because its spread out with more than enough cottages,smaller units , for everyone's budget. The people are very friendly and helpful and obliging. Close to everything on the North Shore.

Room Tip: The cottages on the shoreline are very nice facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doggonRedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    45
    18
    6
    8
See reviews for
57
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central NJ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed in room #42, NOT on lake side. The bathroom, furnishings and kitchenette were updated, yet we felt as if we'd time traveled to 1959 - which is a good thing. Despite the room's twin plasma TV's, we were more inclined to hit the adirondak chairs on the front porch and meet the "neighbors". There's no bugs, no pests of any kind, and the lack of air conditioning didn't bother us one bit. Tip: keep windows open early morning to cool off your room, then shut your windows and curtains to keep that super-strong Tahoe sun out. The room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, including a full sized coffee maker, hair dryer, and dishwasher. Warning: construction is happening right outside the rear of the room, hence bedroom and bathroom windows look directly onto heavy machinery and their noise. The office offered us a small discount, but frankly I would have preferred a head's up when booking. Lakeside looks a heck of a lot nicer. Their porches face the beach while our's faced the parking lot. The heated pool was clean enough, but there's fairly loud and seemingly endless road noise . The beach is a dream - plenty of lounge chairs, a volleyball court, grass and shade with picnic tables and BBQ's. Kayak and other toys could be rented next door. Overall, a good value, clean place. Fun time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferAer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have been coming here for 20+ years and have a fantastic time every year! Your deck is just a few feet from the waters edge. A wonderful location for a family or a romantic weekend!
We always get a lakeside cottage with one bedroom and two couches in the great room. They are clean and comfortable and the view cannot be beat.
Great staff and nearby restaurants are not to be missed!

Room Tip: Ask for a lakefront Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishOne041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We walked in all friendly and excited to stay here for the second time, and the lady said: "Good news! We're giving you one night free", to which we thought, "Wow.. this is a great customer loyalty program" - only to find out it was because a construction project next door knocked out the gas line and there was no hot water. I guess it wasn't their fault - but that's where the civility ended. The ladies were surly and had a "take it or leave it" attitude. The next day, when my wife when to ask for an update, it was if she jabbed them with a cattle prod. I didn't see the exchange, but she said they were really rude and surly again. In fact, we noticed that where ever we went in North Shore (restaurants, the hotel, to rent a kayak on the water) that the "help" doesn't know about civility or courtesy. It's as if we're an inconvenience to them. But they have so much business, they don't need to "compete" at that level. That's too bad for the consumer.
Anyway, last time we stayed here - the lakeside of the highway is MUCH better, simply because of the proximity to the water and the views. The mountain side is crowded, cramped and noisy. For the area, it's a good value - somewhat cramped, but adequate with fully equipped kitchens, nice cabin-y decor, tiny bathroom and comfy double (not queen) bed. No AC, but a fan in the window that wouldn't otherwise stay up on its own, exhausted air and pulled cool evening air from the other windows - one of which didn't have a screen. Some of the units seemed to be privately owned, as the unit next to ours (#55) had a "For Sale" sign in the window.

Room Tip: Choose the Lake Side units, as the mountain side is like crowded, noisy (kids and people running aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UtahMaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, OR
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had a great time at the Franciscan Lake Lodge. Booked last minute over multiple phone calls (I was in a spot with terrible cell reception and the calls kept dropping). The lady behind the front desk was very patient and continued the conversation right where we left off every time I called back after a dropped call. (Honestly I think there was about 5-6 calls in all, not to mention choppy/static quality while we were connected.) We finally got it taken care of and checked in a few hours later. I was traveling with three friends, and we took one of the lakefront cabins. Two of us shared the queen bed and the other two took the pull-out couch beds. All of these were comfy and clean. The bathroom was small, but also clean. It was fantastic to wake up, brew a cup of coffee, and take a walk off the back porch onto the beach. Beautiful scenery around, lots of trees, plenty of sandy beach, and of course the lake (though it is COLD!) I would love to stay here again when visiting Lake Tahoe in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gryphonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We spent 3 nights and had a fabulous time. We stayed at a lakeside cabin for 2 nights and then needed to move to forest side for a night. Unit 157 (forest side) was cute and cozy and 118 (lakeside) was a little larger. The beach is so close, you just walk out the door of 118, turn right and head to the beach. Unit 118 was noisier because it is close to the road. 157 was quieter for traffic. There is construction going on right next door to the resort so early mornings was extremely noisy with tree chipping and construction equipment. We brought our own food and cooked breakfast in our rooms. Safeway is just a mile away and plenty of restaurants in King's Beach and Tahoe City. Our family rented many cabins for a family wedding and I can say all were pleased with their accomodations. Unit 9 has a lake view and 10 was lake front right on the beach. We have all talked about returning to the beautiful resort because we had such a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: Forest side at the back would likely be quieter but you can't beat the lake front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed in a lakefront, one-bedroom cabin which has a truly lovely setting on the beach. The view is breathtaking. There was a very nice outdoor deck to sip coffee and enjoy the lapping waters of Lake Tahoe, as well as beach chairs etc. The place is well-run, with a nice swimming pool for when the lake swimming is a tad too cold. Everyone was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: I stayed in a cabin facing the lake. I highly recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationjunkieny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
0.7 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#8 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
62 reviews
20.7 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#12 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#4 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Lakeside Lodge

Property: Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
Address: 6944 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Franciscan located in Tahoe Vista is your home away from home. With fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes in every room, resort-wide wireless access, comfortable accommodations, and access to our private beach and pier, make The Franciscan your destination for your next getaway. The Franciscan is located in the quiet town of Tahoe Vista, just a short drive to many of Tahoe's great attractions, including Sand Harbor, Thunderbird Mansion, Kings Beach, and some of Tahoe's premier ski resorts. We are also located across the street from the Tahoe Regional Park, which boasts miles of hiking or snowshoeing trails, a disc golf course, playgrounds, playing fields, and a sledding hill in the winter. Stay entertained at The Franciscan at our long, sandy beach, at the volleyball courts, or in the heated swimming pool. Unwind and have a relaxing evening at our barbecue area, with views of the lake. Boat buoys are also available to rent at an affordable rate for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Franciscan Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing