We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lake and a view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Strange place, where some cabins are across Highway.
The view from Lake Tahoe is beautiful and the hotel is clean and Lovely.
But the service leaves something to be desired.
It is close to some restaurants but if you want to walk, lack of sidewalks ride is somewhat risky.

Room Tip: The lakeside cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franciscanlodge, Manager at Franciscan Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We have both lakeside and hillside lodging. Luckily, people in Tahoe are very accustomed to pedestrians and we have never had an issue with the road in between our lakeside and hillside properties. We apologize that our services left something to be desired. We are glad that you enjoyed the cleanliness and our lovely rooms. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We enjoyed another great stay at the Franciscan Lakeside Lodge. This was our 7th visit. We love to get a lakeside cabin. The view of the lake is majestic and panoramic. The cabin was clean and comfortable. We highly recommend this resort. Great place to get recharged.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franciscanlodge, Manager at Franciscan Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

What a compliment that you have returned to see us at the Franciscan Lakeside Lodge 7 times! We appreciate your continued patronage. Thank you for your kind words about our clean and comfortable cabins. Lake Tahoe is the perfect spot to recharge and get away from the city. We cannot wait to have you back again. Please contact us to help you plan your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a nice location on the lakeshore, although some units are on the other side of the very busy highway. We had a unit with a separate lounge/kitchen and double bedroom. All nice and clean, very homely although it would be nice to have more daylight in there. Staff really don't go out of their way to be friendly or welcoming and the bed was in serious need of replacing, it seemed to rise in the middle so you felt like you had to cling on to avoid falling out! Nearest restaurants are in kings beach which you need to drive to really, we walked it but there is no sidewalk a lot of the way so we felt a bit unsafe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leah0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Right on the beach with a panoramic, unbeatable view of the lake! Rooms are decorated with a bear theme. Cute, but a little overdone. The attitudes of the women working the office really took away from our vacation experience. Mary was often standing right in front of the office door smoking (ewww) and was curt and gruff. Janette treated me with indifference, rolling her eyes, when I asked her for an extra pillow. Couldn't beat the location for the price though!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pookieinher50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed in unit 29 and 62. Unit 29 was lakefront though from a side angle but it was a clean and comfortable one bedroom unit. It fit all 6 adults and 1 child for the night as there is a queen in the bedroom, 2 twins in the living room and an additional queen sofa bed. My nephew is 4 and we were able to make up a bed for him on the big ottoman. The pier is a 10 second walk from the porch and is gorgeous day/night. Parking was close to the unit and there were lots of guest parking for our 2nd vehicle. There was also a propane BBQ really close by. Loved this unit and would stay again with a smaller group next time.

There was a slight hiccup with the office but it was an error on Groupons end not the Franciscan. Groupon only reported that we were staying 1 night when I had paid for 2. I showed them my conformation info and the Franciscan bent over backwards to accommodate us and the manager was very friendly and helpful. They even offered to move us to a bigger unit so that we'd be more comfortable or else to stay in the unit we were in.

Which is how we ended up in unit 62. If you are a family or big group I definitely recommend that unit. Parking is close by, the pool is right outside, there's a grill and swing set too. The unit is quite large. The table seats 8. There were 4 twins in the living room and a queen in both bedrooms. The fire place was great since we got snow that day. The kitchen had full size appliances with all the pots, utensils, plates, cutlery, etc that we needed. There were also games in the unit which we didn't have in unit 29.

We loved that Safeway was less than a 5min drive away and is 24hours! It was also fun reading and signing the guest book in both units.

I can understand why some reviews said the lady in the office was rude. However I was nice and friendly and she was helpful and friendly during my stay. Will definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I bought a groupon and stayed over Spring Break. The elderly woman in the front desk, was very rude, and not friendly at all. The rooms were not very clean, it seemed like the bedding wasn't washed. The blanket in the closet had a sticker attached to it, I doubt it was washed. Good thing I brought my own blanket. The bathroom was clean, but everything else seemed dingy and old. I would not recommend this place, I will not be returning.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The customer service was horrible!!! The office is closed on Sunday after 5pm and they didn't even tell us that they were closed. We drove 5 hrs to show up to a empty office and no room for us. They claimed they put a envelope on the door for us with a room key but they did not. The least they could have done was call us and let us know they would not be there and there was a key on the door but I guess they forgot.... We had no where to go and we had a hungry tired baby. Absolute horrible horrible customer service. When we called the next day Mary the receptionist was extremely rude and blamed us for not seeing the envelope, but we all knew there was no envelope or phone call ever made. The plain truth is she forgot to put the envelope on the door and she never called us. Makes me never want to return to Tahoe. Lazy employees with no pride in their work.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Poorpietri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
0.7 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
310 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
248 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
5.5 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#4 of 7 in Tahoe City
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Lakeside Lodge

Address: 6944 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: £89 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Franciscan located in Tahoe Vista is your home away from home. With fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes in every room, resort-wide wireless access, comfortable accommodations, and access to our private beach and pier, it is the perfect destination for your next getaway. The Franciscan is located in the quiet town of Tahoe Vista, just a short drive to many of Tahoe's great attractions, including Sand Harbor, Thunderbird Mansion, Kings Beach, and some of Tahoe's premier ski resorts. We are also located across the street from the Tahoe Regional Park, which boasts miles of hiking or snowshoeing trails, a disc golf course, playgrounds, playing fields, and a sledding hill in the winter. Stay entertained at The Franciscan at our long, sandy beach, at the volleyball courts, or in the heated swimming pool. Unwind and have a relaxing evening at our barbecue area, with views of the lake. Boat buoys are also available to rent at an affordable rate for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Franciscan Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing