We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Franciscan Lakeside Lodge....fun and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Reviewed 23 June 2007

My family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Franiscan Lakeside Lodge. We were in cabin #25, which had one bedroom and a recently remodeled kitchen. Our daughters, aged 18 and 20 each had a daybed on which to sleep

After traveling from Ohio and driving nearly 4 hours from the SF area to get to Tahoe Vista, it was rewarding to see the beautiful views from our lakefront cottage.and from the adjacent pier. The lake is beautiful as well as the mountains in the distance, some capped with snow in June.

We loved being able to have a bowl of cereal for breakfast and a sandwich for lunch at our cottage. The Safeway grocery store was nearby. We had been in SF and Sonoma for 5 days prior to Lake Tahoe so were tired of eating out for every meal.

We found plenty to do in the area. There is a kayak rental place next door and that was a fun activitiy.We also went on a two hour horseback ride at the stables of Northstar. The staff at the stables were very accomodating to me because I was timid about riding and gave me a very gentle horse. They had to reassure me that the ride would not be along drop-off cliffs. I'm glad I went. The scenery was beautiful and the ride enjoyable.

We visited the local parks and ate dinner at restaurants in nearby Tahoe City. This was a wonderful getaway and a place where the 4 of us, all with very different interests, could have a good time. The lakefront cottages are beautiful,

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank OHTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2007

We stayed 3 nites in unit 20, a "small studio." It included a gas fireplace, stove, refrigerator, microwave, queen bed, lots of pillows, cable TV. It has been recently decorated and we enjoyed our stay.
There is a dock and beach with great views of the lake and snow capped mountains on the south end of the lake.
For a midwesterner it was great to lay in a beach chair and look at the stars after dark.
Fri-Sun nites = $412.50 incl tax

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biggerfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2007

The four of us (2 adults, 2 children) stayed at a one bedroom on the forest side, which considering the windy weather, was a great choice. Very well thought out decorating details, super soft sheets and quilts, lots of towels, a full kitchen setup, a full size coffee maker with coffee etc., and plenty of extra blankets and pillows for the day bed. We loved the bird feeders, the abundance of literature about the area in the office, and the heater in the bathroom. The office staff helped us find the closest snow so we could slide to our heart's content. The private beach at the lake had plenty of chairs, and in the summer, they have dinghys you can rent from their private pier.

Yes, as you probably read in other reviews. you have to do your own dishes, but you can always buy paper and plastic like we did and minimize your dishpan hands exposure. Safeway is just down the road.

Best of all, we received off season pricing, which is not commonplace at other Tahoe-area resorts. We paid $85. a night booking directly through the lodge. We will definitely visit again.
This place is also very popular with skiers.

Eat a burger at the Char Pit-best burger ever! And have your picture taken with the giant bear outside the office. My sons call him Fluffy.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rabrassard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2006

I have stayed at the Franciscan several times, and it is always a pleasure. The rooms are clean and charming, the lake view from my favorite room is incredible, and the staff is always friendly and helpful. Highly recommended, the place I tell all my friends to stay when going to Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank philbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2006

I really didn't like this place. The room we had was small and musty. The pots in the kitchen were rusty and old. The chairs were hard and uncomfortable. The bed seemed dirty. The carpet was cheap and looked grimy. I felt like I was staying in a trailer park. The lake was nice across the street but in order to get there you have to dodge traffic. I really would never stay here again and it was not a good experience. One of the ladies that worked there wasn't very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kd2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Boulder City,Nevada
13
Reviewed 22 May 2006

I have stayed at the Franciscan about 6 times - I have told many family members about the wonderful and friendly atmosphere. In addition I tell my friends who like the Tahoe area but do not want the congestion of South Shore - This excellent facility on the North Shore is just wonderful and close to Casino's if you like that!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1039
Reviewed 7 August 2005

We stayed on the forest side across the street from the lake. The weather was hot so it was great sitting on the shaded porch eating delicious pizza from the nearby pizza place. (Pizza delivery is available but we just walked over & picked it up.) We were there mid-week; it was not too much of a problem crossing the road. There is a 25 cent charge for ice. The ice machine is by the office on the lake side - which is quite inconvenient for those staying on the forest side. We solved the problem by buying a bag of ice at the nearby Safeway, then keeping some of the ice in the room's refrigerator, the rest in our ice chest. I liked the cabin-like decor a lot. Our kitchenette was very clean - I didn't mind what some have called "the dated decor" at all!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
0.7 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
310 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
5.5 mi away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#4 of 7 in Tahoe City
77 reviews
8 mi away
Granlibakken Tahoe
Granlibakken Tahoe
#2 of 7 in Tahoe City
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Lakeside Lodge

Address: 6944 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: £90 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Franciscan located in Tahoe Vista is your home away from home. With fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes in every room, resort-wide wireless access, comfortable accommodations, and access to our private beach and pier, it is the perfect destination for your next getaway. The Franciscan is located in the quiet town of Tahoe Vista, just a short drive to many of Tahoe's great attractions, including Sand Harbor, Thunderbird Mansion, Kings Beach, and some of Tahoe's premier ski resorts. We are also located across the street from the Tahoe Regional Park, which boasts miles of hiking or snowshoeing trails, a disc golf course, playgrounds, playing fields, and a sledding hill in the winter. Stay entertained at The Franciscan at our long, sandy beach, at the volleyball courts, or in the heated swimming pool. Unwind and have a relaxing evening at our barbecue area, with views of the lake. Boat buoys are also available to rent at an affordable rate for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Franciscan Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing