We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedar Glen Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Tahoe Vistana Inn(Tahoe Vista)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort(Tahoe Vista)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge(Tahoe Vista)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferrari's Crown Resort(Kings Beach)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Firelite Lodge(Tahoe Vista)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tahoe Sands Resort(Tahoe Vista)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday House(Tahoe Vista)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveller rating
749
145
19
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
145
19
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrustic loungefire pitlake tahoecontinental breakfastputting greenacross the streethot tubwine barpicnic areabeach chairs and coolersyogurtping pongevery eveningother guestsstayed longerwonderful staybedroom cabin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
724 - 729 of 919 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

It was our second visit, and I'd like to repeat every word of my first evaluation of this hotel. Everything is fine and hotel is going to be even better because of renovation. It is an amazing place to stay at Tahoe.

Room Tip: Room with fully equipped kitchen is the way to save money.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at the Cedar Glen for 5 nights, as part of a 2-week trip to Tahoe. We usually stay in hotels or condos and before we arrived we were a little unsure about how basic a cabin might be - but we need not have worried - Cabin 6 was lovely and comfortable, and you could tell it had recently been refurbished. The TV and the sofa cushions looked new and the bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept on anywhere. It was handy to have the kitchen, as we cooked a couple of nights and it had everything we needed. We requested a kettle to make tea, and Alan immediately provided us with one. Alan was very helpful throughout our stay, offering useful tips and he even left us a little gift one evening, which was much appreciated!

The location on the lake is beautiful, and we were so glad we decided to stay here, rather than at Northstar village. We enjoyed skiing at Northstar, but the purpose-built village didn't seem to have much atmosphere and we much preferred staying in a 'real' place like Tahoe Vista. It's an easy walk to Spindleshanks restaurant for dinner, and we did that a couple of evenings (so we could enjoy a couple of glasses of wine and leave the car behind). There are some other restaurants nearby that are nice too.

There was one small thing we thought could be improved. While the stove kept the living room and bedroom nice and warm, the bathroom was pretty cold. There was a light/heater, but it wasn't very effective. It wouldn't stop us staying there again, but could be improved.

If we're in the Tahoe area again, we'd be more than happy to return to the Cedar Glen.

Room Tip: Cabin 6 was lovely!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We deeply appreciate and listen to your feedback. After reading your review, we brought a portable heater to keep the bathroom nicely warm for the next guests. We are very sorry you didn't say anything while you were here and had to be cold! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We chose the Cedar Glen Lodge after reading all of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. Cedar Glen exceeded our expectations, mostly due to Alan who was the best host you could hope for. The lodge is located on the prettiest side of Lake Tahoe mid-way between the two best ski areas, Northstar and Squaw Valley. Studios with kitchenettes (on the second/top floor of the main building) have been recently renovated, are very comfortable, and offer beautiful views of the lake.The lodge includes amenities such as a jacuzzi and sauna which are excellent for relaxation after a day of skiing. Or what about making campfire s'mores. Yes, Alan can arrange it! You can buy groceries at an excellent Safeway supermarket in Kings Beach or if you decide to dine out there are great restaurants in the area. However, what makes the Cedar Glen so unique is its management. During our 7 day stay we got to know Alan quite well. He is very knowledgeable about the Tahoe area and can give you excellent advice on things to do or places to visit. If you are thinking of staying in Tahoe, stay at Cedar Glen Lodge! We will return.

Room Tip: Studios with kitchenettes have been recently renovated and offer beautiful lake views.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harryandpoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

There are lots of places to stay around Lake Tahoe, but this one goes straight to the top of the list. It's not lakefront, but it is cosy and very quaint. Beds and soft furnishings are new, sheets are soft and our cabin was spotlessly clean. We enjoyed s'mores by the outdoor fire and a hot tub in the snow - both at the suggestion of the welcoming and helpful host. A great place for a weekend break!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalLawLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

After the incredible views on the drive to Cedar Glen Lodge, we were immediately greeted by Alan in a very friendly and professional manner. After checking in, Alan provided us with loads of useful information about the area, where we can go, what to expect, things to do and maps. Cabin 6, where we were staying, exceeded expectations. It was extremely clean, relaxing, comfortable, cosy and came with a fantastic bed. There was also a house keeper, Olga who cleaned the room every day. The room also featured an amazing jacuzzi. Martha was also a great host and extremely welcoming and friendly and would light a fire every night outside the cabins where we cooked marshmallows. The lodge is perfectly positioned on the best side of the lake as we discovered when we drove round the entire lake one day. Overall it was a really great experience and would not hesitate to recommend this place and want to return. We stayed between 3 Jan - 7 Jan.

Room Tip: I think the room we stayed, Cabin 6, is the only one with a Jacuzzi and it was wonderful.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfox12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews