We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience at Lake Tahoe”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We chose Cedar Glen Lodge as we read all the wonderful reviews from tripadvisor back home in Singapore and we were not disappointed. The location of the place is fantastic with the lake just across the street. We came here for skiing and the North Star Ski Resort is just nearby. The cabins are lovely and well equipped. With a queen size bed in one room and a queen size sofa bed in the main cabin, our family of five (2 adults and 3 kids) fitted in nicely. After travelling for ten over days on the road and eating at diners and restaurants for every meal, we were just too pleased to be able to cook for our own. The cabin has a cooking stove and an oven and the owner of the place, Martha, has all the cutlery and utensils in each cabin, making it easy for travellers. There are even salt and pepper, and a welcome fruit basket which was really thoughtful and different from the other hotels which we stayed in. Just a little further down the road, there is a Saveways where we bought nuggets and pasta to cook in the cabin. In the night, Martha passed us a basket of chocolates and wafers for smogs over the fireplace. The breakfast spread was good, with lots of stuff such as yogurt and pastries which my kids love. Our friends took up fishing under Martha's recommendations and they came back with two trouts which we bbq right in front of our cabin. We loved our stay so much that we opt to give up our planned visit to Fitzegerald Marine Reserve and stayed another day at Cedar Glen Lodge. Will definitely stay at Cedar Glen Lodge again if we return to lake tahoe.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Cedar Glen for a midweek getaway. As it turned out our timing was great because we were the only ones there. The next week would have been a different story as it was "ski week" for a lot of people. Martha (host) was very friendly and accomodating. Our cabin was quiet, cozy and clean. It was just what we wanted for a quick Tahoe visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at Cedar Glen Lodge for our honeymoon over the new year. We have never had the pleasure of staying in such a friendly place. Alan and Martha were the perfect hosts who really care about your experience. They went over and above to make sure our stay was a good one. The lodges are cute and very comfortable, with everything you could need for a pleasant stay. The breakfasts are plentyful with so many different options.The lodge was on the prettier side of the lake and close to the local supermarket. We had a hire car and were able to travel to all ski areas comfortably, then back to relax in the lodge's outdoor jacuzzi and around the outdoor fire pit with marshmallows. A really really lovely welcoming place which we would love to return to one day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie_lampon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

It was our second visit, and I'd like to repeat every word of my first evaluation of this hotel. Everything is fine and hotel is going to be even better because of renovation. It is an amazing place to stay at Tahoe.

Room Tip: Room with fully equipped kitchen is the way to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konstantin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at the Cedar Glen for 5 nights, as part of a 2-week trip to Tahoe. We usually stay in hotels or condos and before we arrived we were a little unsure about how basic a cabin might be - but we need not have worried - Cabin 6 was lovely and comfortable, and you could tell it had recently been refurbished. The TV and the sofa cushions looked new and the bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept on anywhere. It was handy to have the kitchen, as we cooked a couple of nights and it had everything we needed. We requested a kettle to make tea, and Alan immediately provided us with one. Alan was very helpful throughout our stay, offering useful tips and he even left us a little gift one evening, which was much appreciated!

The location on the lake is beautiful, and we were so glad we decided to stay here, rather than at Northstar village. We enjoyed skiing at Northstar, but the purpose-built village didn't seem to have much atmosphere and we much preferred staying in a 'real' place like Tahoe Vista. It's an easy walk to Spindleshanks restaurant for dinner, and we did that a couple of evenings (so we could enjoy a couple of glasses of wine and leave the car behind). There are some other restaurants nearby that are nice too.

There was one small thing we thought could be improved. While the stove kept the living room and bedroom nice and warm, the bathroom was pretty cold. There was a light/heater, but it wasn't very effective. It wouldn't stop us staying there again, but could be improved.

If we're in the Tahoe area again, we'd be more than happy to return to the Cedar Glen.

Room Tip: Cabin 6 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We deeply appreciate and listen to your feedback. After reading your review, we brought a portable heater to keep the bathroom nicely warm for the next guests. We are very sorry you didn't say anything while you were here and had to be cold! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We chose the Cedar Glen Lodge after reading all of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. Cedar Glen exceeded our expectations, mostly due to Alan who was the best host you could hope for. The lodge is located on the prettiest side of Lake Tahoe mid-way between the two best ski areas, Northstar and Squaw Valley. Studios with kitchenettes (on the second/top floor of the main building) have been recently renovated, are very comfortable, and offer beautiful views of the lake.The lodge includes amenities such as a jacuzzi and sauna which are excellent for relaxation after a day of skiing. Or what about making campfire s'mores. Yes, Alan can arrange it! You can buy groceries at an excellent Safeway supermarket in Kings Beach or if you decide to dine out there are great restaurants in the area. However, what makes the Cedar Glen so unique is its management. During our 7 day stay we got to know Alan quite well. He is very knowledgeable about the Tahoe area and can give you excellent advice on things to do or places to visit. If you are thinking of staying in Tahoe, stay at Cedar Glen Lodge! We will return.

Room Tip: Studios with kitchenettes have been recently renovated and offer beautiful lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harryandpoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

There are lots of places to stay around Lake Tahoe, but this one goes straight to the top of the list. It's not lakefront, but it is cosy and very quaint. Beds and soft furnishings are new, sheets are soft and our cabin was spotlessly clean. We enjoyed s'mores by the outdoor fire and a hot tub in the snow - both at the suggestion of the welcoming and helpful host. A great place for a weekend break!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalLawLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
507 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#7 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
920 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
310 reviews
21 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: £137 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Glen Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where good taste meets serenity - Cedar Glen Lodge is an award-winning, Eco-friendly resort that offers a sophisticated and elegant rustic Tahoe charm nestled under a canopy of majestic pine trees. It offers an array of beautifully and tastefully appointed cottages and comfortable suites with high-end modern amenities . Some accommodations feature fireplaces, kitchens, AC, therapeutic BainUltra ThermoMasseur bathtubs, granite counter-tops, custom made furniture and breath-taking views! On-site wine bar, sandy beach right across the street, outdoor seasonal heated pool, hot-tub, sauna, picnic areas, BBQ's, nightly campfire with complimentary s'mores (weather permitting), volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station. Centrally located to all Lake Tahoe activities: kayaking, paddle boarding, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping, winter sports at world-class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing