We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the most welcoming and comfortable accommodation I have stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Probably the most welcoming and comfortable accommodation I have stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Where to begin......

A small group of us stayed at Cedar Glen from the 2nd March to the 7th March. From arrival we were well looked after. Due to a long flight from the UK and the 4 hour drive from San Fran, we arrived at our accommodation very late so were feeling tired and jet lagged. Martha, the owner, welcomed us with a big smile and checked us in quickly so we could rest. The rooms were heated for our arrival so were nice and coasy.
The Lodges are all authentic cabins that make a horse shoe around the complex. It also has a hottub, sauna and swimming pool (the pool is not for use in the winter months).
In the morning we went down to the reception for our Breakfast (note that they have a restaurant opening soon for this). You could grab a coffee / tea and a muffin / toast / pastry or cereal before begining your day exploring. If you are going there for skiing / snowboarding then Martha offers great prices on lift passes.
Cedar Glen is approx a 10 - 15 minute drive from Northstar (Which in my opinion is the better of the mountains), 45 minutes to Heaveny but allow longer as you will want to stop off for the scenery.
If you are looking to hire skis and boards then speak to Martha, she can let you know who is best to go to. This also applies for dinner and drinks and she is more than happy to arrange a taxi to take you there. Keep in mind though North Tahoe is quieter in comparison to South Tahoe. Exactly what we wanted!!
Martha is a rare diamond in the hospitality industry. She is more than accommodating in every single way possible.
Cedar Glen will always hold very dear to me as this is where my, now fiance, proposed to me.

We will one hundred percent be returning in the near future.

Sorry this is a bit of an essay but there you go.

Thanks Martha for a great stay x

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MintyLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    138
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
308
346
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of march for 5 nights - Martha, the owner is FANTASTIC! She is so accommodating & helpful, always concerned for her guests. I turned 40 whilst there & Martha even turned up with a bottle of champagne & chocolate that night. She was happy to help with ski hire, lift passes, taxi's, anything we asked. I would highly recommend staying here & when we go back to Lake Tahoe skiing we WILL stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terooozas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I enjoyed staying in Cabin #8 (kitchen, fireplace) to do a little work and a little skiing :-) The hospitality and friendliness of Martha and Alan is second to none. The bed was very comfortable, and the down comforter made for a cozy night's sleep. It felt a little like going back in time, to a bygone era when motels and cottages were the norm, before the advent of large hotel chains. (If you are looking for everything modern, you will be 75% pleased. If you are looking for most things modern, then you will be 100% satisfied.) Can't wait to see what their new office is going to be like -- best of luck with the continued construction :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonKernPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Martha makes you feel so at home! Everything is clean, comfortable and inviting. The hot tub is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay at Cedar Glen Lodge from February 27 to March 4, 2012 and highly recommend it. The Lodge has a marvelous location at Tahoe Vista – just across the road from the lake shore but with access, and very centrally placed for all seven major northern ski resorts. Safeway, RiteAid, and a gas station are just 1-2 miles east, with several restaurants even closer. My lakeview studio room (#33) has a beautiful view of the lake and the mountains opposite framed by tall straight trees. The room had everything I needed by way of a comfortable big bed, clean bathroom with hot water, TV, wi-fi - and more: a fridge and even a microwave - all for a very reasonable price. Parking is ample. The power stayed on and snow removal was timely when we had a big storm. Some rooms have already been renovated. When the well-designed new lodge building is completed shortly it will be a great center for an expanded breakfast and for social activities throughout the day and evening. The outdoor pool and hot tub will continue to be inviting, as is the firepit for s’mores on winter evenings. But the best thing about Cedar Glen Lodge is owner Martha Bryan. She was extremely hospitable, kind, and responsive – from a personal e-mail the moment I reserved, to allowing me to change my departure date repeatedly, to coming out late on a cold night to save me when I lost my room key, to providing advice on road conditions, restaurants, tourist attractions, and other activities. Everyone else has had similar good experiences. Thanks again, Martha!
Among restaurants, I enjoyed Spindleshanks and the Old Range Steakhouse locally and the River Grill in Tahoe City. Obexer General Store by Homewood ski has great sandwiches, while the best resort food was at Northstar (Zephyr Lodge) and Diamond Peak (burgers at Snowflake Lodge). Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms 30-33 have lake view and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidWBerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn,CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My sister and I wanted to take the kids up to the snow and found the best place ever to stay. We instantly fell in love with the view, how conveniently located Cedar Glen Lodge is to the sled park, to Diamond Peak, to the casino's, anywhere that you would want to go. The rooms were great, the most comfortable beds and pillows ever! We had such a great time roasting marshmellow's at the fire pit every night and the kids really enjoyed making their own s'mores that Martha provides to all the guests. We had one of the best family trips ever and can't wait to go back this summer. Martha is one of the nicest people ever and really made us feel welcome and comfortable. We are making Cedar Glen Lodge our new tradition and family spot. Thanks so much Martha for everything. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My fiance and I spent all too short three days at Cedar Glen Lodge. We decided on this place based on the trip advisor reviews. Certainly glad we did. We stayed in cabin 31 which has a nice view of the lake. The owners Martha and Allen really made the trip for us. They really make it a point to make sure you feel at home. We were not going to ski this time so we were a little clueless about what to do. They gave us some ideas of where to do some hiking and shopping. We also took advantage of the sauna and hot tub they have on site which was great for sore muscles. The campfire and smores at night were great, so was meeting other people staying there. Can't wait to make it back to this little slice of heaven.

Room Tip: Room 31 has got an awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.2 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
21.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing