We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The essence of Tahoe”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The essence of Tahoe”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Old time Tahoe experience with a gourmet restaurant. Lovely grounds, landscaped and well maintained. Our room was tastefully and newly decorated. Access to the beach across the street, so convenient. Great place for families with fun activities for all ages, plus a lodge that pleased us as a couple. The wine bar, views of the lake and wonderfully prepared food in the on-site restaurant contributed to a romantic get-away. The staff were genuinely friendly and the property managers, Allen and Marta, were both welcoming and engaging.

Room Tip: Call and speak with staff about your situation. They will try to place you in a room to fit your pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColletteC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Front Office Manager at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Thank you so much for your flattering review! We love hearing from all of our guests and their candid comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and our brand new restaurant. Thank you for noticing our our laid back, rustic style. We wanted to keep the feel of North Lake Tahoe. You are so close to lake Tahoe come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    137
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
309
346
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Unassuming - captures the essence of Lake Tahoe. A real Gem. Conveniently located in the middle of north Lake. The restaurant food was delicious - a little pricey but on par with the rest of the area. Staff was informative, considerate, and overall very attentive to the guests. The kitchenette was small but very effective and all that one would need. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Thank You for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff loves to hear that our guests are happy with the service they provide. This is what keeps us with smiles on our faces and thoroughly enjoy our work. Yes, the studios with kitchenettes can be a little small, but great for small stays. Anytime you are visiting the Western side, Please come back and see us!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We didn't know what exactly to expect from this little collection of semi-cabins. But we were pleasantly surprised to find that they were not only clean and neat, but that the proprietors were helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable. We easily found plenty to do and see with their help.The same with their advice re local restaurants. The only down side was that the little breakfast spread was a tad awkwardly arranged. The outdoor chairs and tables were convenient and nice to have. Several people took advantage of the outdoor BBQ facilities. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clovis-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have never experienced anything like Cedar Glen Lodge, and its in-house restaurant, in our many years of globe-trotting. It uniquely combines rustic and budget lakeside charm, 1950s tidiness, and gastronomic excellence befitting a four star resort, all neatly packaged up on a parcel of land surrounded by the sprawling and contrastingly bland Tahoe Sands properties. Cedar Glen Lodge consists of two rows of cozy cabins capped by a block of suites, with a pool, horseshoe area, volleyball net, and fire pit nestled on the center lawn. The owners/managers have minutely attended to every detail, from the copper shades on the street lamps to the ultra-soft bedding. The lobby, wine bar, and restaurant have been recently and very tastefully redecorated. And the lodge's small restaurant, Rustic Lounge, offers exceptional quality cuisine at reasonable prices - we greatly enjoyed the seared scallops and truffled mac & cheese. The only downside to such a wonderful in-house restaurant is perhaps an inflated expectation with regard to the complimentary breakfast, which is not prepared in-house and is very basic (but not bad by any means). As an alternative to dining in the restaurant, guests can picnic on the patio or lawn tables in front of each lodging. And every evening, guests, sometimes even joined by the owners/managers, gather around the popular fire pit for s'mores and friendly chat. The warm and inviting nature of Cedar Glen Lodge is highlighted by its owners/managers, Martha and Alan, who sincerely want their guests to have a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife, two kids and I had a 1 bdrm cabin. It was nice, but what made the place so great was its character. The staff are sooo friendly. We had a a few really random little requests, and they bent over backwards to help. There is a firepit with self-serve smores for the kids where people gather around each evening. They've made the atmosphere such that everyone at the fire felt comfortable striking up conversations and relaxing. We had a great stay and will surely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The staff and the manager were absolutely wonderful and the location was perfect! The 'campfire' with s'mores in the evenings was so good and something we always will remember. If we ever go to Lake Tahoe again we would stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Line V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

everything was done with consideration; this is a very clean and well run business and the customer service could not have been better. the many positive reviews were why i made the reservation in the first place, and they were correct, i would recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing