We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest, coziest lodge”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chico, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendliest, coziest lodge”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is our second stay at Cedar Glen, and we enjoyed it even more than the first time! The furniture and beds have been upgraded and new furniture at the pool. However, the best thing about this place are the owners whom are so accommodating...they go above and beyond to make sure your stay is special. They even provide the ingredients for s'mores to be roasted around the fire pit in the evenings...feels like camping, sitting around the fire with wonderful guests, but then retiring to a cozy room! We recommend this awesome lodge to all our friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cduchala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are so flattered by your compliments! We hope to see you next year for your third stay.

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    140
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
329
364
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Wonderful stay! Upgrades are to be admired. An elegant rustic styling. Only drawback for us is only one mirror in room, the bath room mirror. We stay at CGL as often as possible. No better value can be found on the lake. So many activities offered. The view from lodge deck is one feature we so enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaugner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It's always great to see you back! I promise as soon as we slow down a little, we will install a full size mirror inside the closet door, just for you!!! =) Enjoy the rest of the summer and hope to see you soon.

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hedland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed at Cedars glen for two nights and didn't want to leave. The staff are all very nice and helpful. The fire place cottage that we had was very cute and comfortable. If we come back to Lake Tahoe we would definitely stay here again. The beds are very comfy! The breakfast in the morning is good too! You can just help yourself. The grounds are well looked after and plenty of places to relax outside and look at the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zobey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to visit this beautiful part of the world. I hope you had a safe trip back home and hope to see back next year again!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Rented a two bedroom unit and was impressed with the size, decor, and quality of furnishings. The beds in the bedrooms were king size and very comfortable. My son slept on the pull out sofa and he said it was quite comfortable also. Bathroom and shower were very nice and the quality massage tub is a nice touch though trying to figure out how to operate it was a bit of a problem. Everything in our unit appeared to be brand new. Enjoyed our stay very much. Can't think of anything needed to improve upon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy we your expectations! When you visited, we had just finished the renovations and probably didn't have the instructions of the tub printed on the wall yet. Thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We are fortunate enough to travel a lot, but we have never had customer service like we received from Alan and Martha. Anything we needed from a paper bowl to make guacamole in to needing some site-seeing suggestions was answered with an enthusiastic yes! Or go here!

The rooms are really nice as well. We stayed in the single attached cabin 4. They are a little small, but because of the bathroom, walk-in closet, ample drawer space, and seperate eat-in nook, you feel like you have more than enough room. We brought in all of our own food also, so the fridge, microwave, and coffee pot were a great add! (The beds and pillows were a little hard for us, but I would just bring my own pillow next time, and it definitely wouldn't deter us from staying there again).

And use all the amenities! Hit tub, pool, putt-putt golf, but our favorite was walking across the street to the beach and the BBQ and fire pit area. We BBQed every night, which saved us enough money that we could do some of the fun activated like kayaking in Emerald Bay. And seriously, how better to experience Tahoe than BBQuing under the hot pink clouds of sunset.

So basically, stay here! But hopefully it's not booked the next time we go there since I have raved about it so much!

Room Tip: The little cabins are great for two people, but no more. The larger cabins are better for families...
See more room tips
Green Features: All Eco-friendly products, beautiful materials used throughout
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We have some feather pillows upon requests. We do not put them in the rooms because some people are allergic. So, we have these available upon request. If these work for you, please ask us, or you are more than welcome to bring your own. I am so glad that you like the little studio cabin and that you were able to manage your meals onsite! Thanks again for your wonderful feedback and hope to see you soon!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed three nights...
Service was five star!
received friendly maid service each day, and without needing to ask they figured out we needed additional coffee each morning!
The breakfast bar of fresh fruit and pastry was awesome!
We'll stay here next time we visit... no question!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyDrake4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I am so glad that our housekeeping service met your expectations. We have a wonderful staff! Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had booked a room at the Tahoe Sands which is next door and across the street from cedar glen. We were promised a room with two queens, but were given one with a Murphy bed and sofa. It was awful. We cancelled and went across to the cedar glen lodge. They had one room left and saved it for us until we finished canceling at the Tahoe Sands. The room was adorable and spacious and clean with two queen beds as promised. The staff was excellent and friendly. Loved our stay and highly recommend the resort. Martha was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommacomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are very happy that we were able to accommodate you and give you a comfortable room. Enjoy the rest of your summer and hope to see you back soon!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
433 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,837 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,004 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Glen Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing