We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place in north shore Tahoe”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favorite place in north shore Tahoe”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Friendly atmosphere; clean, updated rooms. Love this place. Have stayed at other similar properties in the area and this is the best. Beach across the street is a nice spot with shallow mellow waters perfect for younger kids. Good central location to store, restaurants, miniature golf

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimlessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    137
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
312
346
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a find! We went with the reviews on Trip Advisor and LOVED this place. The rooms have been renovated and are a mix of a great bed and mountain decor. We stay in the lodge in the back since it was just 2 of us. From our second floor room we had a picturesque view of Lake Tahoe. (a bit smoky because of rim fire in Yosemite) Our room had a small table and 2 quality wine glasses and a wine opener. Safeway is just down the street so we ran out and grabbed a bottle of pinot and some cheese. It was lovely sitting on the deck outside our room. The lodge does have a wine bar which had a great variety of wines, but this was our chance to unwind. Dinner that night was at the Rustic Lounge at the resort which is the "talk" of Lake Tahoe, be sure to make reservations. The Cedar Glen Lodge consists mainly of a group of cabins much like most the resorts along the road. We were able to tour a small cabin and will stay in there next time, so cute! This is a great place for families - pool, putting green, volleyball, BBQ's, fire pit and chairs and cooler that you can use to sit on at the lake. All 5 stars are deserved! The owners and staff treat you like family and make sure all your needs are met.

Room Tip: The cabins are cute as can be and great for families. The back lodge seems more adult, with an amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing review and for all the lovely pictures! We are very glad that you had the opportunity to try our Rustic Lounge as well as the amenities we offer. We take a great deal of joy taking care of our wonderful guests and are very appreciative of your feed back.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed for 4 nights during August and absolutely loved the Cedar Glen. Wonderfully clean and welcoming. Lovely pool and garden with plenty of benches to sit at and enjoy the scenery along with a glass of wine! - fire pit & smores in the evening, which was lovely and a perfectly fine continental breakfast included. Just across the road from the beach and wonderful Lake Tahoe and the lodge provides beach chairs for guests use as well as beach towels and coolers. A lovely bar/lounge and the fantastic Rustic Lounge restaurant on site - all in all a fantastic place to base yourself for Lake Tahoe - cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliotj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thanks you so much for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. August is a lovely time to visit North Lake Tahoe. Wine by the fire pit is our guest’s favorite, so we are happy you had the chance to experience the ambiance. Be sure to come back and see us again the next time you return!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have reviewed the Cedar Glen before, but we just stayed there (for the 3rd? 4th?) time, and this time we had another wonderful experience. Many of the rooms are updated, so if you've stayed here in the past, you might have a nice little surprise (like we did) when you open the door to your room--we loved the updated look of the room and bathroom! As always, the complimentary breakfast was perfect in their beautiful lobby/lounge with a nice view of the lake. They have opened a restaurant on the property--the Rustic Lounge. You must try it. It was fantastic! And finally, the owners were as attentive and friendly as always. Martha even remembered we were celebrating our anniversary, and she surprised us with a wonderful bottle of champagne to celebrate. We enjoyed it at their picnic tables while admiring the view of the lake. I've said it before and will say it again--best place to stay in Tahoe!

Green Features: I appreciate that they try to be eco-friendly with linen laundering, etc. BUT--if you're not into that, you can indeed have things washed every day if you want, so it's the best of both worlds. I do like that they give you new beach/pool towels everyday.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
You are too kind, thank you for your awesome review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It is great that you had the chance to dine with us and experience our lovely chef’s work. We look forward to your next stay with us. It is always so nice you see your smiling faces.

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a wonderful spot - the highlight of our trip. The bedrooms had been revamped and the beds were wonderfully comfortable; bathrooms also remodelled and the lobby much bigger including a restaurant. The Pool and nightly bonfire (with s'mores) were still there as were the lovely owners who rescued our rucksack when we left tiny the fire overnight. Can't recommend the place too highly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttonwoodwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, and thank you for taking notice of all the hard work and renovations that we have made! Hope to see you again next year!

- Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

As soon as we saw the room, I marched down to the registration desk and asked to extend our reservation from two nights to three! Alan was quick to oblige.

Reasonably priced, newly renovated. Lots of nice little add-ons: don't miss the s'mores around the campfire every evening. Ask at the desk for their directions to a "secret hike," which became one of the highlights of our Tahoe experience.

We weren't able to try the dinner at the Rustic Lodge, but we heard rave reviews -- it will certainly be part of our next stay (maybe next year?)

Room Tip: Second floor of the lodge (units 26-33) probably have the best view of the lake. In #33, you can se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell3CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to stay an extra day with us. Hope you took wonderful pictures up at the fire lookout. Hopefully next year you will be able to stay with us again and dine with us!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My wife and I made a quick trip to Tahoe for our anniversary. It is not easy finding a new or renovated hotel in Tahoe these days. Most are either being renovated or are past their prime. Lucky for us we found the highly rated and previously renovated Cedar Glen! And what a great place. Modern with a rustic look, beautiful grounds and best of all--a campfire at night complete with all the ingredients for s'mores ready to roast. The fresh fruit at breakfast was also a great added touch in the morning ..... an example of the little extras the friendly staff provide. Perhaps the best surprise is a restaurant that rivals Soule Domain. But beware, reservations are a must for this small restaurant. We were lucky enough to get one of the small bar tables in the lobby that are available without reservations. Our view of Lake Tahoe was a bonus. We were in the very clean Romance Suite which had a big spa bathtub. North Lake Tahoe has a lot of great activities. We kayaked at Sand Harbor, rafted down the Truckee, lost money at the Hyatt in Incline Village and spent more money in all those shops in Truckee.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seniortravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Wow, Thank you for your awesome review! We are so glad that you got to experience all North Lake Tahoe has to offer. We are so flattered to hear your compliments about our property and restaurant. It sound like you really enjoyed your stay. Please come visit again!

-Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing