We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Ironman Stay!!”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We found this jewel of a lodge for our trip to Lake Tahoe to race the Ironman...and they were fantastic!! The place is positioned right on the Ironman bike course 1.7 miles from the swim start/T-1 and mile-47 an mile-98 of the bike. Their rates were very reasonable and the place truly had a rustic feel without being "rustic-ly" run down. They have a kick-azz bar/restaurant that serves one of the best dinners in town. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but were amazed that almost all of the patrons eating there were not staying at the lodge....reservations were highly encouraged! The staff went WAY out of their way to accomodate our odd Ironman requests during the weekend. I even told them that I would send them a list of ideas to attract other Ironman athletes to their lodge for next year. They were awesome and we'll be back!
-very clean rooms
-great water pressure and endless hot water
-they had complimentary beach chairs and cooler
-great complimentary continental breakfast
-most rooms had full kitchens
-fire pit every night
-heated pool and huge hot tub!
If you're racing 2014 Ironman Lake Tahoe, then this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your awesome review! It was so nice to have you as our guests, and so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to hear about your ideas for next year's competition. Hope to see you next year!

-Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

My wife, daughter, and I spent a very pleasant weekend staying at the Cedar Glen Lodge in Tahoe Vista recently. It happened to be the weekend of the recent Lake Tahoe Iron Man competition, though we weren't aware of it when we planned our trip.

Somewhat Pricey: Shame on me for not trying harder to negotiate on price - we got $2 a night off the rack rate posted in the room. Other places in Tahoe Vista, especially the ones that don't advertise in Yelp or TripAdvisor, seem to be considerably less expensive. Well, as it turned out, the place was full for the Iron Man competition...

Very Pleasant: We stayed in #29, a two-room "mini-suite" on the 2nd floor of the building at the back and top of the property. It was extremely nicely appointed - granite countertops, solid wood cabinetry and furniture, solid core doors with frosted glass, superb Kohler sinks and bronze faucets, very nice mattress and linens, and with a full (but small) kitchen. Interior paint and finish was top-notch, though in a rustic style. Exterior finish is quite dated, and in the back (visible from the bedroom and bathroom windows) the soffit & fascia paint is peeling off in sheets. The facility has a pool, a jacuzzi, a sauna, and deeded access to the Lake Tahoe beach, across the street. Continental breakfast, included in the price, included lots of starches, fresh fruit, but no protein. The desk staff went out of their way to get authoritative information on travel in the area during the race - very helpful.

A Little Peculiar: The layout of #29 is weird - a breakfast table, chairs, and seating "ell" faces across the front window to the hide-a-bed sofa, over which the flat screen TV is mounted. In other words, you can't sit on the sofa and watch TV - you have to scrunch into the seating "ell" behind the breakfast table. In order to walk around the sofa extended into the hide-a-bed, we had to physically carry the breakfast table to the empty space between the bedroom door, the bathroom, and the dresser (it fit up against the wall, even with the chairs added). The bed in the bedroom is so large that there is no room left for dresser, closet, chair, or anything else. We also were inundated with "you must" and "you must not" lists and signs (no problem for us to comply - nothing we wouldn't or would have done ourselves) which left us feeling a little pushed around.

We'd certainly go back, but we'd try for a different room, and on a less contentious weekend, and push harder for a better price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NPHighview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Our guests’ feedback is most important to us! It sounds like you had an, all in all, good stay with us. I would like to address some of your concerns.
It is not our policy to negotiate our rates, so I am confused about your comment regarding getting $2 off the rack rate. Please know that Cedar Glen Lodge is the only newly renovated property and considered a “resort,” as per the North Lake Tahoe Resort Association. Being such is the reason for our pricing. However, we are always very happy to recommend budget properties in our area.
I can’t tell you enough how sorry we are that you felt “pushed around,” by our check-in policies. Please know that those policies are there to protect you and all our guests from incidentals. While the vast majority of people would think these policies are common sense (no smoking in the rooms, no pets in non pet rooms, do not feed the bears), we have found that it is best to have them in writing and to verbalize them as well. Our intention is that every one of our guests enjoys a stress free stay, in a safe, clean and respectful environment.

-Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

It's rare that an accommodation exceeds expectations based on their website or tripadvisor reviews. Cedar Glen Lodge does. We just came back from a six-week, cross-country trip and whenever anyone asks us what was the favorite park of our trip, we say Lake Tahoe and Cedar Glen Lodge. We had booked two nights, but enjoyed it so that we stayed for a third. We were traveling with our dog, so we had low expectations for the "dog" room anywhere we went. Even though our cabin was not renovated (about which Alan, one of the hosts, was apologetic,) it was roomy (though the bathroom is tight) and clean and thoughtfully appointed. We were right across from the pool and hot tub which was convenient and was never a noise problem. Martha, our other host, explained that the pool is always open unless some guests are disturbing other and to let her know if that happens. Alan lighted a campfire every night and brought out the s'mores supplies. We watched a family barbeque every evening and gather at the picnic tables. The breakfast was modest, but filling. We loved the fresh fruit. We preferred to stay on the quieter north end of the lake, but it was not a bad drive to the casinos or the more touristy activities around the lake. When we took the lake cruise, we put our dog in doggie daycare at Agate Bay Animal Hospital just down the road. The very best meals we had our whole trip was at The Rustic Lounge on the premises. The only reason we didn't eat here all three nights was because it was closed on Monday. Chef Ana Bryan prepared meals that rivaled what we had at Le Bernadine or any of the "celebrity" chef restaurants in Las Vegas. Among our favorite dishes were the shrimp and grits appetizer, the ahi tuna steak, the scallops and the pb&j cheesecake thanks to Pastry Chef David Meade. The beach is across the street but worth the extra steps. The sand is lovely, the water was warm thanks to it being so shallow fairly far out from the shore. There can't be too many more beaches like this around the lake. I think what made Cedar Glen Lodge the most appealing were Martha and Alan. They always seemed to be working to make our visit comfortable and pleasant. We plan to come back and stay in one of the beautifully renovated apartments with lake views at the top of the complex.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NattyBalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your flattering review! It is so nice to hear that you had a great stay with us. Glad to hear that even your extended furry family member enjoyed his vacation too. Thank you for your compliments on our chef's work. They take pride in knowing that you have had an awesome dining experience. Next time you are in the area, please come by for a visit!

-Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at CGL for 5 nights in late August. I was credited for finding this beautiful lodge. We were happy with the decision to stay on the north shore of the lake. The location is very centralized. You can easily reach Incline Village, Sand Harbor Beach park , Kings Beach, Tahoe City, Squaw Valley, and Truckee within a short drive.

The lodge has many amenities. We didn’t use them all. My husband enjoyed the pool, sauna and hot tub (he thought it would be even better if the temperature was a little bit higher) almost every night. The owners, Alan and Martha were both very friendly and helpful. They have the best complementary breakfast that we have seen. My favorite part were the fresh fruits and pastry selection. The staff frequently replenish the beverages and food.

We stayed in the two story building at the top of the slope. Walking back to the room each morning after breakfast became my favorite thing to do before heading out for the day. Personal touches in the room were appreciated, providing an original cabin-like feel in the woods. Sitting outside the room to enjoy the view of the lake or just read was so relaxing! We explored the trail that starts from behind the building just before leaving. That will warrant more time during the next trip.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at CGL. We still have much to explore in the Lake Tahoe area. After this experience we definitely will return to CGL our next trip.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a view to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your fantastic and detailed review! Your opinions are very important to us, and helps us stay on top of customer service! I am glad that you two had the chance to enjoy some of the activities that our property has to offer. The trail is quite nice in the mornings, and perfect to enjoy coffee. I took note of the hot tub. With dropping temperatures, we will definitely turn it up a bit. When you find yourselves in North Lake Tahoe, please come for a visit!

-Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the CGL while in town for a wedding. Unfortunately we only stayed 2 nights, but we are looking forward to going back and bringing our kids with us next time. The room was clean and spacious with fridge. The only downside was no A/C, however I think it's rare to need A/C in Tahoe. It just happened to be very warm the days we were there. We loved the firepit, proximity to beach, putting green and pool. We will definitely be back- hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your great review! Glad you were able to enjoy all the activities around our property on your stay here with us. You are correct, A/C in Lake Tahoe is a extremely rare fixture in both properties and homes. The shade from the surrounding trees provide cooler temperatures throughout the day that has accumulated during our nights. Looking forward to your return!

-Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Lovely accommodations-yummy breakfast brunch-excellent staff-enjoyed our stay. I loved all the knotty pine and the location was perfect to do our day trips. We would suggest doing a sailboat ride-absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattiLouSoHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your review! Sounds like you enjoyed the atmosphere that North Lake Tahoe has to offer our guests. Thank you for the compliments on our breakfast, we try to have a variety for every taste! Come back for a visit sometime!

-Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed a wonderful girls' weekend at Cedar Glen Lodge and would highly recommend it to anyone. Other than housekeeping coming by a bit late one day, we could not have asked for better accommodations or amenities. The cottage we stayed in looked newly updated and was charming, clean, very comfortable, and had everything we could want right down to the beach towels. We had a lovely partial view of the Lake, which could be enjoyed while relaxing at the tables right outside our room. We also had a great time making S'mores and getting to know some of the other guests around the fire pit in the evening. Our enthusiastic thanks to Martha and Alan for making the whole experience - from booking our cottage to helping us pick our hike route - an amazing one!

Room Tip: There are photos of the room types on the Accommodations section of their website to help you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your great review! Sounds like you girls had a terrific stay. Our fire pit is the guests favorite. Everyone loves to meet each other and enjoy company over a glass of wine and s'mores. Sorry to hear that housekeeping arrived a bit behind schedule, we try and make it as most convenient to our guests as possible. Hope that will not deter you from visiting us again in the future! Happy travels!

-Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,897 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: £145 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Glen Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing