We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful 2nd honeymoon!”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful 2nd honeymoon!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Lake Tahoe area has to be one of the most awe inspiring landscapes known to man. My wife and I visited two weeks ago and stayed here. They were very accommodating. Last year we visited during the Yosemite forest fires and had to leave due to all the smoke. Cedar Glen Lodge credited our stay and we got to spend 4 nights at the Tahoe Vista under the owners recommendation. We were not disappointed at all!

The location of this resort is in the northern part of the lake. Here we found it to be the most peaceful, quiet, and yet accessible to the more scenic parts of the lake. Just a 5 - 8 minute drive to the west is Carnelian Bay and about 15 - 20 minutes to the east is Sand Harbor (best rock formations on a beach I've ever seen)

If you do stay here and are interested in checking out the local nature hikes and view spots ask Alan. His recommendations were top notch! And don't forget to at least dine once at their restaurant 'The Rustic Lounge'. The food is fresh and original. My wife shared a dessert that had a cross between a kumquat and a plumb. Unreal.

Anyway, check this place out, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Get cabin #6 - romance suite or cabin #8 - fireplace suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    140
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
329
364
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just returned from a three night stay with my 20+ year old girls and a friend of theirs. Fabulous spot. I celebrated my birthday dinner at their restaurant - fantastic! We had access to the lake, a beautiful pool to swim in, hot tub and a view of the lake from our cabin's front porch. Even when the girls wanted to stay in one evening (after a long day outside), they dug up some board games for us to play! Martha and Alan were gracious hosts and you could tell they work very hard to meet all of their guests' needs. I would return in a heartbeat - actually, somehow we missed out on the s'mores. I'll be back because I would like to experience that!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chellene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in cabin 14 the first night and it was wonderful! 2 bedrooms, a kitchen living room with fire place. This cabin is close to everything right across from fire pit and the restaurant. The cabin seemed brand new. Everything was above are expectation, except the view thought we would see more of the lake. However everything else made up for it. Wish we would of known about this place sooner to book again but it gets booked quickly it seems on weekends. So if your thinking about staying book now you won't regret it! It's a nice cozy area and close to many areas of Lake Tahoe. Beach access is right across the street and it was a nice area! Just about a 10 minute drive to rafting which we loved don't miss out on floating the truckee if your coming! The second night we stayed in a smaller cabin since #14 was already booked. Oh and you park right next to your cabin which makes excellent packing and unpacking my kids loved the s'mores it was to crowded
The first night but second night they got to make them my only suggestion is adding another fire area! My kids are already asking to go back!!! We loved it!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tex8405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Cedar Glen Lodge is a terrific place to stay if visiting Lake Tahoe. My wife and I chilled out here for 3 nights and loved the facility. Alan and Martha go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. Alan is full of knowledge on the local area and provides lots of recommendations for trips/visit to suit your needs.
We stayed in Lodge #9, one that had not been renovated, but we knew that before booking confirmation. Its big enough for a couple but also has a pull out double sofa if required, and a small Dog kennel hut. Nice touch for dog owners. It has a Microwave and fridge and a small bathroom with shower. Show head is low (I am 6ft 1") and I have 2 bruises to prove, it but its ok and plenty of hot water. The internet is free but not the fastest and having to re-login regular is a pain. But if your on holiday, who needs internet!!!
The outdoor grounds make this place special. There is a Mini putting golf green, a Warm Pool, Hot Tub (very nice after a mountain walk) and large picnic area. In the evening the wood fire is lit outside and everyone gathers for s'mores which are complementary. Great place for meeting people and swapping stories over a glass of wine.
Breakfast which is included is good and relaxed between roughly 8-10am.
I had a personal issue and Alan and Martha went out of their way to help me out. I couldn't have asked for any more. Great team.
Highly recommend Cedar Glen Lodge for a visit.

Room Tip: Make a booking at their restaurant The Rustic Lounge for an evening meal. Simply outstanding food.
See more room tips
Green Features: CDG is well aware of it surroundings and make efforts to ensure it blend in with the outdoor lifestyle. usual stuff with Towel not change if hung up and Rubbish locked away in Steel Bin to keep bears away. Recyclable but disposable paper plate and cup at Breakfast save on washing water
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night and were very happy with our stay. The rooms were extremely clean and neat. We stayed in a one room cottage with a gas fireplace. It had a cute little table at the window over looking the property. Wine glasses were placed. Very cute. There are many seating areas, picnic tables and a BBQ pit right in the middle. We would definitely stay here again. The price was a good value too. We did not use the pool but did use the spa and sauna room. Both were nice but the spa a little small. I wouldn't have been comfortable in it with more people. The Rustic lounge was pricy but very, very good. The meat was cooked just right. They out out muffins, juice, yogurt, coffee and pastries in the morning. There is a Safeway nearby and the beach Access is across the street. Overall excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at Cedar Glen Lodge and enjoyed every minute of it. We were greeted and checked in by a very friendly and accommodating owner, Marha. She told us all about the lodge, their wonderful restaurant and amenities. We stayed in the lodge (not a cabin) and absolutely enjoyed the view of the snow capped mountains and the crystal blue lake. The room was spacious and well laid out and decorated beautifully. We used the pool and spa, played ping pong, badminton and putted on the putting green. The lodge has a great setting and layout, is immaculate and very well taken care off! The beach is just a short walk across the street and beach chairs and ice chests are also available.
We also enjoyed the continental breakfast especially the fresh fruit. We plan on making this our annual trip, it's a gem of place in Tahoe Vista.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband & I just spent 6 glorious days at the Cedar Glen Lodge! Wonderful restaurants nearby. The rooms and the grounds were pristine! The details in furnishing the rooms were wonderful. Really nice continental breakfasts with views of the lake across the street. Great view of the lake and property from our upstairs lodge room too. Nice porch area outside the lodge rooms. The pool/hot tub/sauna area was enclosed with plexiglass for protection but leaving the views. Nightly community fire in fire pit. Close to Tahoe City & Truckee/Donner. Staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again and will refer it to friends!

Room Tip: Our upstairs Lodge room had a marvelous view of the property and the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
431 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,835 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,001 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Glen Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing