We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise.”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked this last minute and got more than we expected. Everything is very clean and well maintained. We got #7 cabin and the way it was decorated made us feel like we had stepped back in time. The bedding was the most comfortable I had ever slept in! We didn't even know the beach was available to us, with chairs and coolers for our use. The water is shallow and much warmer than other parts of the lake. I would recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a cozy, family friendly, true Tahoe feel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clmwcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We are not familiar at all with Lake Tahoe and chose this property based on reviews from Trip Advisor and it was on our way to Jackson Hole from San Francisco. We like to stay in properties where we don't have to get in the car once we are at our destination. We were eager to try the award winning restaurant and also lounge down by the lake and at the pool. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed the two nights we were at the property. The owner told me it wasn't appropriate for children anyway which took me back a bit. The property was immaculately kept and the rooms clean and new. There is no air conditioning and we had to keep the windows open at night and, without the fan going, there was significant noise from the road. We therefore chose the fan noise instead. It was also still hot in our rooms even with the windows open and fans going. We were there in July and so that is probably one of the few months that it is too warm at night without air conditioning. The other downside about keeping the windows open was that in the evening, several times, smokers sat near the fire pit area and the smell of cigarettes wafted into our units. We stayed in two units of a duplex but the front porch had only room for one chair and two small tables which was not useful for us and would have been exceedingly uncomfortable if we had not been renting both units. We had to cross a busy road to get to the lake and we were cautioned to only enter the lake at one specific place or the property manager across the road would fuss at us. The lake beach and water were nice. The pool area was clean and quiet. However, I probably wouldn't stay here again as we had to drive to Tahoe City in order to eat both lunch and dinner. We did have a small fridge and microwave in our rooms but not adequate to cook a meal. I would probably look for a property on the water (not across the road from the lake) which was within walking distance to restaurants. Tahoe City seemed like a better area in order to be able to go without the car for a few days.

Room Tip: Chose a cabin or room further away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank buttercup16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Please know it's most valuable to us and to futures travelers as well!

Our restaurant, The Rustic Lounge is closed Monday and Tuesday. As already mentioned in some previous reviews, please plan accordingly. Indeed, our very small and intimate restaurant doesn't offer kids' menu.

Thank you so much for mentioning the cleanliness of our property. We strive to provide the most possible clean environment.

Unfortunately, as far as I know, none of the properties in this area have air conditioner, other than the Ritz and Hyatt. Our property does offer AC in 3 units. Regardless of how hot it is, the temperature in Lake Tahoe drops dramatically in the evenings.

This is a non smoking property. I am most disappointed that you were bother by somebody smoking, and I deeply apologize for this. Frankly, I never see people smoking here. Once in a while, a guest might ask if there is an area where smoking is permitted. In this case, I usually tell them to go smoke at the bench located at our beach rinse off, which is far enough from any units.

Unfortunately, you booked the smallest studio that we have for four people. I have to agree with you that the porch there is rather small. However, with twenty different floor plans, there's plenty to chose from. I suppose you picked this unit based on your budget, which is $199 per night for 4 people.

Cedar Glen Lodge owns 20 feet of the western driveway of the property across the street. Crossing anywhere else would be considered trespassing somebody else's property, and frankly, there's no reason to do so.

Everything in Tahoe Vista is built along the one and only road that goes around the lake. Most things are conveniently located within a couple of miles, but indeed, other than an ice cream and a pizza place, not much is within walking distance. I do agree with you, Tahoe City is a more walking friendly area. However, there are some who prefer to come to Tahoe Vista because it is more quite and rural.

We would never expect for our guests to cook in our studios given that these only have a mini fridge and a microwave. So, yes, you are absolutely right, not suitable for cooking! Twenty of our 31 rooms offer fully stocked kitchens or kitchenettes, and in addition we have our BBQs and beautiful picnic areas.

Cedar Glen Lodge offers a wide variety of rooms ranging from $179-$389. Properly aligning budget with expectations are key to a successful vacation, not only with us, but abroad.

Thanks again for the honest review and best of luck in your future travels!

Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

From the minute we arrived we knew we'd love this place. We were greeted by the owner and given a run down on all there is to do in the area along with suggestions for activities... Very helpful! We stayed in cabin 7 and loved the rustic decor and kitchenette. All the staff couldn't have been friendlier and the location is great. Also liked that they provided beach chairs and coolers for the beach which is a short walk across the street. I'd definitely recommend staying here and hope to be able to return some day soon!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank RoadtripperColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have stayed at Cedar Glen 3 times and are already booked again for next year. The owner and staff are incredibly welcoming, friendly and all around fabulous. We stayed in a 1 bedroom cabin which is perfect for my family of 4. The kids love the pool, ping pong, putting green, big grassy area complete with swing and, of course, the nightly s'mores around the fire. We love how well stocked everything is, the easy access to the lake, gorgeous view and having a wonderful time as a family and with friends. We typically stay with at least two other families with kids and it works out perfectly. We swim and play all day, bbq together at night and just generally have an amazing time. I cant say enough about how wonderful Cedar Glen is!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8TracyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Cedar Glen Lodge was a really nice place to stay during the busiest weekend in North Tahoe! The property sits back a little from the highway and you would know there is a million other people around. Everything is tastefully remodeled and the grounds are lovely. We enjoyed a brisk walk on the beach just across the highway. Nice spread for the continental breakfast. We were able to grab a quick bite and a cup of coffee before beating the traffice out of town. You can tell the owners have put a lot of thought in providing a tasteful and cozy experience for their customers. Definitey treat yourself to a gourmet dinner at the Rustic Lounge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluestraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the studios with a lake view and loved it. Great location, nice pool and hot tub, and beach access. The kitchenette was well stocked and we prepared most of our meals in it. The staff were super helpful and we enjoyed the s'mores each night around the fire pit. We would definitely stay here, again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank viajerokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

As first timers to Lake Tahoe we didn't know what to expect, but what a delight Cedar Glen Lodge is - we loved it!

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the super friendly and helpful owners and staff. We were starving after a long drive and were quickly directed to local eateries. Our room was perfect - number 33, where you can lie in bed and see the lake. The standard of refurbishment is excellent.

We enjoyed the pool and hot tub, but loved our S'mores training course around the fire pit in the evening (us Brits needed help with marshmallow toasting technology).

The restaurant is superb. We ate there twice - once in the full restaurant and a second time we had salads and a drink at the bar. Both excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
488 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
912 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
305 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#13 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: £143 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Glen Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Glen Lodge: where good taste meets serenity. An award-winning, Eco-friendly resort, Cedar Glen Lodge offers a sophisticated rustic Tahoe charm nestled under a canopy of majestic pine trees. It offers an array of beautifully and tastefully appointed cottages and comfortable suites with high-end modern amenities . Some accommodations feature fireplaces, kitchens, AC, therapeutic BainUltra ThermoMasseur bathtubs, granite counter-tops, custom made furniture and breath-taking views! On-site wine bar, sandy beach right across the street, outdoor seasonal heated pool, hot-tub, sauna, picnic areas, BBQ's, nightly campfire with complimentary s'mores (weather permitting), volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station. Centrally located to all Lake Tahoe activities: kayaking, paddle boarding, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping, winter sports at world-class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing