We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars...wish I could have given a 5”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vacaville, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“4 stars...wish I could have given a 5”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Cedar Glen Lodge in late July for 6 nights. It's a good location, within walking distance to the beach. We chose room 26 on the 2nd floor of the back lodge and had a pretty good view of the lake. It's s VERY small room, accommodating just 2 people. Overall, our stay was pleasant, but I've stayed in other nice places on the north shore and this one is not all that distinct.

Positives:
Clean property, maintained well
Clean rooms
Bed was pretty comfortable
Kitchenettes allow for cooking on stovetop (mini-fridge, microwave, toaster too)
Nice pool/hot tub area (iced lemon water provided for refreshment)
Beach towels/chairs/ice chest provided
Relatively quiet property; good sound-proofing between units too
Friendly, helpful staff...especially maintenance staff
S'mores are a hit with the guests each night
Really cannot hear road noise from the back of the property
No smoking
Obviously remodeled; granite and nice cabinetry

Negatives:
No air conditioning (made for a few very uncomfortable nights in July)
Have to sleep with window open when it's hot, with fan in the window
Sleeping with the fan gave me a sore throat that lasted our entire stay...boo!
Fan is super loud (really cheap and CRAZY loud)
No exhaust fan in bathroom, makes the room hotter after showering
Ice machine located too far from rooms in the back of the property
Continental breakfast lacked protein options; consisted of pastries, bagels, fruit, and Yoplait yogurt. How about some hard boiled eggs and cheese?
Bathroom was extremely cramped, very little counter space
Cramped parking...we drive a big truck
Wifi was spotty

Overall, it's a nice place. I might consider staying again in the cooler months. We spends several weeks each year in Tahoe. After paddle boarding and kayaking around the entire north shore, there are definitely places along the lake I'd like to check out in the summer.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank arude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are very glad that you found many positive things about our property.

Regarding the AC, please know that only a couple of 5 star hotels in North Lake Tahoe have AC. One must be willing to pay over $500 per night! Only our 3 latest renovated units have AC as well. However, the temperatures always drop in the evenings. There are just a few days out of the whole year when it is uncomfortably hot. Unfortunately, that's when you stayed with us. Please inquire about our AC units for your next trip.

There is no exhaust in the bathroom of the unit you occupied because there is a window, which is much more efficient than an exhaust.

Unfortunately, we only have one ice machine location. Most of our guest really appreciate having access to ice, as well as coolers.

Please know that we go through great expense and effort to provide a very nice continental breakfast, which is free of charge. We have a couple wonderful nearby locations for a protein based breakfast. In addition, 20 of our 31 rooms have kitchens or kitchenettes.

We have a wide variety of rooms. Unfortunately, you chose one of the smallest we have.

Indeed, our WiFi signal is quite spotty up on the mountains. This is why we provide a hard-wired computer, along with a printer in our lobby.

Thanks again for your feedback and please enjoy the rest of your summer!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    140
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
329
364
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

CGL has great personable service, cool lodging and is very clean. They have the whole package here. Our room had a view of the lake and was just perfect. The front desk is very patient and will answer all questions and give tips for secret hikes and best boat trips. Had a great time staying here.

Room Tip: room 33 has a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyBfromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy you liked our property. We love sharing with our guests all the beauty that Lake Tahoe has to offer.

Enjoy the rest of your summer and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

They couldn't of been more accommodating, my husband is handicapped, and we were accommodated in ever way. the staff was very friendly. Thank you Cedar Glenn Lodge for a beautiful stay. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for staying with us! We love helping our guests in every possible way we can.

Thanks again and hope to see you and your husband back soon.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The owners and staff really seemed to care about their customers satisfaction. They responded promptly and pleasantly and went out of their way to please us. The property was extremely well maintained with lovely landscaping and facilities.

Green Features: Would like to see a recycling program if possible.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We love taking care of our guests as well as our property. Hope to see you back soon and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice location and excellent service. The staff are extremely friendly and nice! We will come back again! Nice location and excellent service. The staff are extremely friendly and nice! We will come back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us! I am glad you are not too far away from our area and can't wait to see you all again.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPaz, BCS
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

July 20 & 21. Normally this is a two night min. resort, but we lucked out with a last minute reservation of only one night, Sunday. The lodge is definitely dog friendly, however our 2 yr old grand-daughter elected to camp out in the cute little dog house that came with our room. We had two very well behaved labs with us, who slept on the floor. Everything was set up to make provide a comfortable stay for both the humans and dogs. Alan, the friendly owner? manager, went out of his way to get some milk for baby Delilah, and to be sure that our brief stay would be memorable. The breakfast provided in the lodge on Monday Morning was excellent, fresh fruit, juice, incredible pastries, coffee/tea' etc…The setting was lovely in the pines across the road from the lake shore. We were so busy exploring that we didn't take advantage of the heated pool/ Sauna and little putting coarse. It only made us want to come back. The restaurant was booked, but the manager provided us with a discount coupon for dinner at a different restaurant in town.
Nice touches in our room for 4 adults were wine opener, large wine glasses, a frig, Even the bath soap was fragrant and pleasant! I loved the gardens, flowers everywhere, a good place to learn about what grows well in the mountains. Our room was booked for Monday, but Alan/Host offered us the entire grounds and a place to change if we wanted to stay for the entire day. We headed for the beach instead, but the offer was much appreciated.

Room Tip: We had room 10 across from the pool, sauna, and mini-putting green. Just up the hill was a dog walk...
See more room tips
Green Features: I especially appreciated the Organic fruits and veggies provided for meals.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathybezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I am so happy that we were able to accommodate you. Indeed, we have a two night minimum stay, but once in a while we end up with a single night within two longer stays. We only have 5 dedicated pet-friendly rooms, so I am really glad that we had one available for you and your family.

My goodness! Thank you so much for sharing those adorable pictures with us and our future travelers. I particularly love the one with Delilah in the dog house. Things like this, makes us love our guests even more...thank you!!! =)

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Cedar Glen Lodge is fantastic! Very clean, close to all activities and provides a great complimentary continental breakfast (loved the fresh peaches!) and complimentary s'mores in the evening. Stayed with a group of 4 other families and the heated pool, ping pong table and lawn area with picnic tables were ideal for our group - we had the best fun! Loved the beach access across the street - water was so shallow and warm - perfect for families! Close to Safeway and numerous restaurants plus an ice cream shop is within walking distance just down the street. We will definitely come back again - this place is great!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmaj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
433 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,837 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,004 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Glen Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing