We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to 5 stars.....”
Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great location. North Tahoe, a quick walk to the beach, easy drive to everything you need. Remember that like most places in the US the site is near a road.......

The team are really friendly and helpful, taking time to offer advice. The nightly fire pit is a real hit, great for adults to mix, and a seemingly unlimited supply of ingredients for smoors keeps the kids very happy. Pool great too.

So why not a full 5 stars? The Breakfast is very basic for what is an expensive location, really could have been a cooked buffet.

Other than that a super stay, many thanks!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are very glad that you loved our property and our beautiful North Lake Tahoe!

Please know that we go through great expense and efforts to provide a continental breakfast, which includes fresh fruits, pastries, yogurts and cereals as well as coffee and fresh juice. Please keep in mind that this is free of charge.

Thanks again for your great review and hope to see you back soon!

Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at Cedar Glen Lodge in late July for 6 nights. It's a good location, within walking distance to the beach. We chose room 26 on the 2nd floor of the back lodge and had a pretty good view of the lake. It's s VERY small room, accommodating just 2 people. Overall, our stay was pleasant, but I've stayed in other nice places on the north shore and this one is not all that distinct.

Positives:
Clean property, maintained well
Clean rooms
Bed was pretty comfortable
Kitchenettes allow for cooking on stovetop (mini-fridge, microwave, toaster too)
Nice pool/hot tub area (iced lemon water provided for refreshment)
Beach towels/chairs/ice chest provided
Relatively quiet property; good sound-proofing between units too
Friendly, helpful staff...especially maintenance staff
S'mores are a hit with the guests each night
Really cannot hear road noise from the back of the property
No smoking
Obviously remodeled; granite and nice cabinetry

Negatives:
No air conditioning (made for a few very uncomfortable nights in July)
Have to sleep with window open when it's hot, with fan in the window
Sleeping with the fan gave me a sore throat that lasted our entire stay...boo!
Fan is super loud (really cheap and CRAZY loud)
No exhaust fan in bathroom, makes the room hotter after showering
Ice machine located too far from rooms in the back of the property
Continental breakfast lacked protein options; consisted of pastries, bagels, fruit, and Yoplait yogurt. How about some hard boiled eggs and cheese?
Bathroom was extremely cramped, very little counter space
Cramped parking...we drive a big truck
Wifi was spotty

Overall, it's a nice place. I might consider staying again in the cooler months. We spends several weeks each year in Tahoe. After paddle boarding and kayaking around the entire north shore, there are definitely places along the lake I'd like to check out in the summer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank arude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are very glad that you found many positive things about our property.

Regarding the AC, please know that only a couple of 5 star hotels in North Lake Tahoe have AC. One must be willing to pay over $500 per night! Only our 3 latest renovated units have AC as well. However, the temperatures always drop in the evenings. There are just a few days out of the whole year when it is uncomfortably hot. Unfortunately, that's when you stayed with us. Please inquire about our AC units for your next trip.

There is no exhaust in the bathroom of the unit you occupied because there is a window, which is much more efficient than an exhaust.

Unfortunately, we only have one ice machine location. Most of our guest really appreciate having access to ice, as well as coolers.

Please know that we go through great expense and effort to provide a very nice continental breakfast, which is free of charge. We have a couple wonderful nearby locations for a protein based breakfast. In addition, 20 of our 31 rooms have kitchens or kitchenettes.

We have a wide variety of rooms. Unfortunately, you chose one of the smallest we have.

Indeed, our WiFi signal is quite spotty up on the mountains. This is why we provide a hard-wired computer, along with a printer in our lobby.

Thanks again for your feedback and please enjoy the rest of your summer!

Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

CGL has great personable service, cool lodging and is very clean. They have the whole package here. Our room had a view of the lake and was just perfect. The front desk is very patient and will answer all questions and give tips for secret hikes and best boat trips. Had a great time staying here.

Room Tip: room 33 has a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JohnnyBfromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy you liked our property. We love sharing with our guests all the beauty that Lake Tahoe has to offer.

Enjoy the rest of your summer and hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

They couldn't of been more accommodating, my husband is handicapped, and we were accommodated in ever way. the staff was very friendly. Thank you Cedar Glenn Lodge for a beautiful stay. We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for staying with us! We love helping our guests in every possible way we can.

Thanks again and hope to see you and your husband back soon.

Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The owners and staff really seemed to care about their customers satisfaction. They responded promptly and pleasantly and went out of their way to please us. The property was extremely well maintained with lovely landscaping and facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pamela J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We love taking care of our guests as well as our property. Hope to see you back soon and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice location and excellent service. The staff are extremely friendly and nice! We will come back again! Nice location and excellent service. The staff are extremely friendly and nice! We will come back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank claire y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! I am glad you are not too far away from our area and can't wait to see you all again.

Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

July 20 & 21. Normally this is a two night min. resort, but we lucked out with a last minute reservation of only one night, Sunday. The lodge is definitely dog friendly, however our 2 yr old grand-daughter elected to camp out in the cute little dog house that came with our room. We had two very well behaved labs with us, who slept on the floor. Everything was set up to make provide a comfortable stay for both the humans and dogs. Alan, the friendly owner? manager, went out of his way to get some milk for baby Delilah, and to be sure that our brief stay would be memorable. The breakfast provided in the lodge on Monday Morning was excellent, fresh fruit, juice, incredible pastries, coffee/tea' etc…The setting was lovely in the pines across the road from the lake shore. We were so busy exploring that we didn't take advantage of the heated pool/ Sauna and little putting coarse. It only made us want to come back. The restaurant was booked, but the manager provided us with a discount coupon for dinner at a different restaurant in town.
Nice touches in our room for 4 adults were wine opener, large wine glasses, a frig, Even the bath soap was fragrant and pleasant! I loved the gardens, flowers everywhere, a good place to learn about what grows well in the mountains. Our room was booked for Monday, but Alan/Host offered us the entire grounds and a place to change if we wanted to stay for the entire day. We headed for the beach instead, but the offer was much appreciated.

Room Tip: We had room 10 across from the pool, sauna, and mini-putting green. Just up the hill was a dog walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kathybezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I am so happy that we were able to accommodate you. Indeed, we have a two night minimum stay, but once in a while we end up with a single night within two longer stays. We only have 5 dedicated pet-friendly rooms, so I am really glad that we had one available for you and your family.

My goodness! Thank you so much for sharing those adorable pictures with us and our future travelers. I particularly love the one with Delilah in the dog house. Things like this, makes us love our guests even more...thank you!!! =)

Martha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
9.1 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,897 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
905 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#11 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
1,118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: £147 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Glen Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Glen Lodge: where good taste meets serenity. An award-winning, Eco-friendly resort, Cedar Glen Lodge offers a sophisticated rustic Tahoe charm nestled under a canopy of majestic pine trees. It offers an array of beautifully and tastefully appointed cottages and comfortable suites with high-end modern amenities . Some accommodations feature fireplaces, kitchens, AC, therapeutic BainUltra ThermoMasseur bathtubs, granite counter-tops, custom made furniture and breath-taking views! On-site wine bar, sandy beach right across the street, outdoor seasonal heated pool, hot-tub, sauna, picnic areas, BBQ's, nightly campfire with complimentary s'mores (weather permitting), volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station. Centrally located to all Lake Tahoe activities: kayaking, paddle boarding, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping, winter sports at world-class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing