We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedar Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Glen Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hurst, Texas
1 review
“Great Place, Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

North Lake Tahoe is very nice and old time resort type of feel!
Cedar Glen Lodge is beyond just a place to stay, the customer service is amazing and the attention to guest needs is awesome.
Allen is the best!
I did not give a Very Good, because it is not elderly friendly, the property is on a very steep hill and lots of stairs for all the cabins for folks with walkers and wheelchairs.

Room Tip: Get the two bedroom, living room, kitchen, 2 bath cabin!
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't notice any recycling bins, but I don't know what the process/service is for waste. We threw everything in the trash cans or the dumpster.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback!

Indeed, the nature of the terrain in this area is very hilly and our property is built on an 11% grade. Some other properties in the vicinity might be flatter and more appropriate for a person with mobility problems.

In April 2014, Cedar Glen Lodge was honored as one of the top 10 eco-friendly hotels in the US, by TripAdvisor, and in 2012, we received the "2012 Best In Basin Award," by the TRPA. This is given to best project of the year in recognition to the best planning, design and compatibility with the Lake Tahoe and Human Environment. In this area all the recycling is done downstream.

Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    138
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
308
346
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family recently spent three nights at the Cedar Glen Lodge for a family reunion. There were about 40 of us staying at this great place and everything was wonderful. It is a perfect location, right across the highway from the beach and the accomodations were great for our family of four. The grounds were beautiful, staff extremely friendly and helpful and rooms updated and spacious. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It certainly was such a pleasure having you all here and can't wait to see back next year.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This week we stayed for 4 nights with our family and really enjoyed our stay. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was tasty, our room #20 was large, clean, updated, and spacious (omg I love that spa tub! And the bed was very comfy - I want those soft sheets!), and the grounds were beautiful and fun. It's obvious the owners take great pride in the lodge. We would love to come back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlwcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! I am so glad you were able to enjoy the massage bath tub in your room and our very comfy sheets!

Can't wait to see you again next year. Enjoy the rest of your summer and thanks again!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

A beautiful lodge in a great location on Lake Tahoe. We had our family reunion here and it was the perfect place! Staff were extremely helpful. I looked forward to the delicious continental breakfast each morning. I would definitely recommend it!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rella1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We loved having you and all your family here. Can't wait to see you again next year!

Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Great location. North Tahoe, a quick walk to the beach, easy drive to everything you need. Remember that like most places in the US the site is near a road.......

The team are really friendly and helpful, taking time to offer advice. The nightly fire pit is a real hit, great for adults to mix, and a seemingly unlimited supply of ingredients for smoors keeps the kids very happy. Pool great too.

So why not a full 5 stars? The Breakfast is very basic for what is an expensive location, really could have been a cooked buffet.

Other than that a super stay, many thanks!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are very glad that you loved our property and our beautiful North Lake Tahoe!

Please know that we go through great expense and efforts to provide a continental breakfast, which includes fresh fruits, pastries, yogurts and cereals as well as coffee and fresh juice. Please keep in mind that this is free of charge.

Thanks again for your great review and hope to see you back soon!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Cedar Glen Lodge in late July for 6 nights. It's a good location, within walking distance to the beach. We chose room 26 on the 2nd floor of the back lodge and had a pretty good view of the lake. It's s VERY small room, accommodating just 2 people. Overall, our stay was pleasant, but I've stayed in other nice places on the north shore and this one is not all that distinct.

Positives:
Clean property, maintained well
Clean rooms
Bed was pretty comfortable
Kitchenettes allow for cooking on stovetop (mini-fridge, microwave, toaster too)
Nice pool/hot tub area (iced lemon water provided for refreshment)
Beach towels/chairs/ice chest provided
Relatively quiet property; good sound-proofing between units too
Friendly, helpful staff...especially maintenance staff
S'mores are a hit with the guests each night
Really cannot hear road noise from the back of the property
No smoking
Obviously remodeled; granite and nice cabinetry

Negatives:
No air conditioning (made for a few very uncomfortable nights in July)
Have to sleep with window open when it's hot, with fan in the window
Sleeping with the fan gave me a sore throat that lasted our entire stay...boo!
Fan is super loud (really cheap and CRAZY loud)
No exhaust fan in bathroom, makes the room hotter after showering
Ice machine located too far from rooms in the back of the property
Continental breakfast lacked protein options; consisted of pastries, bagels, fruit, and Yoplait yogurt. How about some hard boiled eggs and cheese?
Bathroom was extremely cramped, very little counter space
Cramped parking...we drive a big truck
Wifi was spotty

Overall, it's a nice place. I might consider staying again in the cooler months. We spends several weeks each year in Tahoe. After paddle boarding and kayaking around the entire north shore, there are definitely places along the lake I'd like to check out in the summer.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank arude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are very glad that you found many positive things about our property.

Regarding the AC, please know that only a couple of 5 star hotels in North Lake Tahoe have AC. One must be willing to pay over $500 per night! Only our 3 latest renovated units have AC as well. However, the temperatures always drop in the evenings. There are just a few days out of the whole year when it is uncomfortably hot. Unfortunately, that's when you stayed with us. Please inquire about our AC units for your next trip.

There is no exhaust in the bathroom of the unit you occupied because there is a window, which is much more efficient than an exhaust.

Unfortunately, we only have one ice machine location. Most of our guest really appreciate having access to ice, as well as coolers.

Please know that we go through great expense and effort to provide a very nice continental breakfast, which is free of charge. We have a couple wonderful nearby locations for a protein based breakfast. In addition, 20 of our 31 rooms have kitchens or kitchenettes.

We have a wide variety of rooms. Unfortunately, you chose one of the smallest we have.

Indeed, our WiFi signal is quite spotty up on the mountains. This is why we provide a hard-wired computer, along with a printer in our lobby.

Thanks again for your feedback and please enjoy the rest of your summer!

Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

CGL has great personable service, cool lodging and is very clean. They have the whole package here. Our room had a view of the lake and was just perfect. The front desk is very patient and will answer all questions and give tips for secret hikes and best boat trips. Had a great time staying here.

Room Tip: room 33 has a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyBfromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha B, Owner at Cedar Glen Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy you liked our property. We love sharing with our guests all the beauty that Lake Tahoe has to offer.

Enjoy the rest of your summer and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
21.4 mi away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.2 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
21.0 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Glen Lodge

Property: Cedar Glen Lodge
Address: 6589 North Lake Boulevard, PO Box 188, Tahoe Vista, CA 96148-0188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Green Hotel in Tahoe Vista
#1 Family Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe Cedar Glen Lodge is an Eco-Friendly newly renovated, Award Winning resort with a stylish rustic Tahoe-charm. It offers an array of cozy cottages, some with fireplaces, kitchens, AC, comfortable rooms or suites and breath-taking views! The resort features a wine bar, lake access, outdoor seasonal heated swimming pool, year-round hot-tub, sauna, fire-pit, picnic areas, barbecues, nightly campfire, volley ball, ping pong, putting green, Tesla and Universal EV Charging Station, and one acre of untouched natural land. Enjoy easy access to all Lake Tahoe activities: Boating, fishing, hiking, biking, river rafting, golf, casinos, shopping and during the winter months skiing, snowboarding at world class resorts, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cedar Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Glen Hotel Tahoe Vista
Knights Inn Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing